VR180 Workflow

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

fredenchine

VR180 Workflow

PostThu Nov 21, 2019 11:31 pm

Hi,

I'm new to Davinci Resolve. I just finished reading all the training resources, and they're really great.

But about VR workflow in Davinci / Fusion, I can't find much information, neither from other websites.

So I have two questions :

- My camera (Z-Cam K1) exports H264 VR180 SBS (stereoscopic) with a res. of 5760x2880 (2x2880x2880). What is the best workflow / conversion to work inside Davinci ?

- What nodes do you need in your fusion pipeline to render from a 3D text or graphic to a SBS 3D VR ? (180 or 360)

Thanks in advance.

Fred.

Andrew Hazelden

Re: VR180 Workflow

PostFri Nov 22, 2019 2:25 pm

If you are interested in doing VR and haven't bought a copy of Resolve Studio yet, you might want to consider getting Fusion Standalone v16 which allows you to run Fusion Standalone v9-16 (and Fusion 3D system native compiled plugins), Fusion Render Node v9-16, and Resolve Studio v15-16 from the same license.

fredenchine wrote:- My camera (Z-Cam K1) exports H264 VR180 SBS (stereoscopic) with a res. of 5760x2880 (2x2880x2880). What is the best workflow / conversion to work inside Davinci ?

For Resolve native S3D color correction workflows you will find the Resolve stereo3D system prefers separate left and right eye video clips so you can use the Resolve Media Pool system to manage the stereo clips, and pass the footage through an Edit/Color/Deliver page workflow.

Is your goal to keep the footage in a side by side fisheye format for all of the post-production?

Or is your goal to convert the footage into a panoramic image projection converted format like:

• Side by Side Stereo packed into a cropped 180°x180° LatLong format with a blending mask on the edge of the frame
  • OverUnder Stereo 360°x180° LatLong format with black filling the unused frame area