DR16.2.6 Radeon VII playback artefacts w/ proxymode=off

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

DR16.2.6 Radeon VII playback artefacts w/ proxymode=off

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 4:12 pm

I just upgraded to the new 16.2.3, re-opening a project (fails since DR16.1 or so...)
I "normal" playback, everything is totally distorted.
When I se thte Playback->proxy mode to Half or Quarter resolution, playback works again.
When setting proxy mode back to "OFF", again playback is distorted.
Also deleting the render cache does not change the bahaviour.

BTW, when rendering, all renders fine to MP4 without any artefacts....

proxymode_off.PNG
proxymode_off.PNG (908.45 KiB) Viewed 2563 times


proxymode_half.PNG
proxymode_half.PNG (532.14 KiB) Viewed 2563 times
Last edited by Michael Kropfberger on Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:18 pm, edited 11 times in total.
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline
User avatar

Fabio Bovenzi

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:30 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 4:32 pm

Hi,
try to change the GPU Mode to Metal.
MacPro 12 Core (Late 2013) 2,7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5, 32Gb Ram
Dual D700 Gpu
Blackmagic E-Gpu RxVega56
LaCie Big6 36 TB
Ultra Studio 4K
Sony BVM X300 Grading Monitor
Mac Os Mojave 10.14.2
DaVinci Resolve 16.2
Control Panel-Tangent Elements
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 4:50 pm

what is "metal" ? I use a Radeon VII in "Auto" GPU mode.

BTW: I'm using BRAW from a bmpcc4k 6.2
It seems, it's a BRAW issue? other mp4 footage plays just fine!!!!
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline
User avatar

Fabio Bovenzi

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:30 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 5:29 pm

Sorry Metal is only for MacUser.

Try other options in GPU mode.
Preferences/Hardware Configuration.
MacPro 12 Core (Late 2013) 2,7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5, 32Gb Ram
Dual D700 Gpu
Blackmagic E-Gpu RxVega56
LaCie Big6 36 TB
Ultra Studio 4K
Sony BVM X300 Grading Monitor
Mac Os Mojave 10.14.2
DaVinci Resolve 16.2
Control Panel-Tangent Elements
Offline
User avatar

Roel Videler

  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:50 am
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 5:44 pm

Please include some system specs, I think this might be a lack of adequate gpu memory but there’s no way to tell with no info


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16
HP Z840, Mini Panel, Windows 10 Pro WS x64, 2x Intel E5-2696v4, 128GB, Mini Monitor 4K, GTX1080Ti
Mac Pro 6.1, Micro Panel, High Sierra, 12 Core, 64GB, PCIe Mini Monitor 4K, GTX1080Ti
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 6:27 pm

Roel Videler wrote:Please include some system specs, I think this might be a lack of adequate gpu memory but there’s no way to tell with no info


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
all my system specs are in my footer...
all braw projects worked fine yesterday on 16.1.1
now they fail playing consistently... but other footage like 4k h265 plays fine...

Gesendet von meinem X52X mit Tapatalk
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Online

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 1580
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 6:39 pm

I have some BRAW footage, plays fine in 16.1.2. Maybe it's a specific flavor of BRAW -- what's your resolution and compression ratio? Have you tried making a simple project with your footage, just import the footage, drop on a timeline, and look at it? (Just to make sure that it's not something about your project.)
_________________________________________________
DR Studio 16.2.7.010 Win10Pro 2004/19041.508 - i7-6700K@4GHz, 32GB RAM
RTX 2070 8GB, "Studio" driver 456.38
OS,Library: 1TB SSD - Project: 1TB SSD - Cache: 1TB NVMe
Offline

Mike1938

  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:44 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Stehly

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 7:27 pm

I never update Resolve until the user forums do not show any problems.
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1732
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 10:44 am

Hi, what are your performance mode settings in preferences? Can you try disable GPU decode for Blackmagic RAW and confirm it's okay.

Can you also try the Blackmagic RAW player with one of the clips and report back?

Try both 1.6.1, then try 1.5.2

1.6.1 Win:
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... 6b/Windows

1.5.2 Win:
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... 81/Windows
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 4:54 pm

thanks for all your feedback... here are some test results:

* create a new timeline in existing broken project:
- BRAW playback is still broken

* create a new project in 16.1.2
- BRAW playback is still broken

DR settings "use display GPU for compute"
- regardless if disabled/enabled --> BRAW playback is still broken

BRAW Player 1.5.2 (was already installed on my system): ALL PLAYS NICELY!

BRAW Player 1.6.1 (upgraded now): ALL ALSO PLAYS NICELY!

uninstalled braw 1.6.1, re-installed 1.5.2: also works
upgraded to braw 1.6.1 again: also works again

------------------

uninstalled davinci 16.1.2, re-installed older 16.1.1 --> PERFECTLY works again
upgraded again to 16.1.2 --> BROKEN AGAIN

then setting in preferences: "use GPU for BRAW decode"
...and this finally WORKS!

so, summarizing... 16.1.2 DR and also BRAW Player are working, but with the new 16.1.2 release, the Radeon VII openGL (AUTO) support for BRAW is somehow broken... huh...
Last edited by Michael Kropfberger on Wed Dec 18, 2019 5:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9364
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 5:03 pm

Michael Kropfberger wrote:the Radeon VII cuda support for BRAW is somehow broken


CUDA is actually exclusive to nVidia cards. AMD cards use OpenCL, which is not as mature.
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 5:04 pm

true, sorry. ... updated my above post, changing text from cuda to openGL (AUTO)
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 6:33 pm

so when I deactivate the GPU for BRAW, when is the GPU used anyway? do I have a worthless Radeon VII now?

Anyway, I wonder why even with GPU enabled, all RENDERS nicely, but only playback is broken...
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1732
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 7:24 pm

Michael Kropfberger wrote:then setting in preferences: "use GPU for BRAW decode"
...and this finally WORKS!

Just to confirm are you saying it now works when the GPU decode for BRAW is enabled, or disabled?
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 7:29 pm

CaptainHook wrote:
Michael Kropfberger wrote:then setting in preferences: "use GPU for BRAW decode"
...and this finally WORKS!

Just to confirm are you saying it now works when the GPU decode for BRAW is enabled, or disabled?
works only when disabled :(

Gesendet von meinem X52X mit Tapatalk
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Edgar Amalyan

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2019 11:44 pm
  • Real Name: Edgar Amalyan

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 11:58 pm

I just received my Radeon VII today. I don't have visually broken playback like you per se, but playback is slow. I recorded some 6k 3:1 braw, and even with a timeline resolution of 1920x1080, it is still choppy.

Radeon VII:
Image

980 ti: Image

I have an old 5820k which I will replace soon, but I don't think it affects the raw gpu decoding performance too much.
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1732
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostThu Dec 19, 2019 12:07 am

Can you do the following:

• Disable performance mode in Resolve (Preferences > User > Playback Settings - Disable performance mode)

• In the RAW tab for a clip check through each 'Decode Quality' setting. If I'm right I think just the half res decode option will have the issue, and the other resolutions will be okay.

If you can confirm this we will look into for an update. As a workaround for now you could leave performance mode disabled, set the project settings for Blackmagic RAW to be one of the other resolutions and edit that way, then in Render settings set to force highest quality debayer to make sure sure renders are full quality.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostThu Dec 19, 2019 1:23 pm

Hi Captain :)
I'll try out your suggestions, but first I will try the new Radeon Drivers... it just popped up on my screen...
currently using 19.9.2, but now we have 19.12.2 (or development 19.12.3) released on Dec, 18th
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 major playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostThu Dec 19, 2019 1:45 pm

ok, the Radeon driver upgrade didnt help...
now to your request... disabled performance mode.
and YES, you are right: only Half Res is broken, the rest shows nicely...

...waiting for the next update now :) :) :)


THANKS Captain for helping me here!
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1732
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostThu Dec 19, 2019 7:29 pm

Thanks for confirming, we will look into working around the AMD GPU driver issue.
Unfortunately most of us are on holiday after today until early Jan for Xmas/NY so it will be a few weeks.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline
User avatar

Roel Videler

  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:50 am
  • Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostSat Dec 21, 2019 10:21 pm

Michael Kropfberger wrote:
Roel Videler wrote:Please include some system specs, I think this might be a lack of adequate gpu memory but there’s no way to tell with no info


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
all my system specs are in my footer...
all braw projects worked fine yesterday on 16.1.1
now they fail playing consistently... but other footage like 4k h265 plays fine...

Gesendet von meinem X52X mit Tapatalk


Sorry about that, might be a setting but I don’t see your footer in Tapatalk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16
HP Z840, Mini Panel, Windows 10 Pro WS x64, 2x Intel E5-2696v4, 128GB, Mini Monitor 4K, GTX1080Ti
Mac Pro 6.1, Micro Panel, High Sierra, 12 Core, 64GB, PCIe Mini Monitor 4K, GTX1080Ti
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostFri Dec 27, 2019 9:33 am

CaptainHook wrote:Thanks for confirming, we will look into working around the AMD GPU driver issue.
Unfortunately most of us are on holiday after today until early Jan for Xmas/NY so it will be a few weeks.

Thank you very much. I have the same issue with playback on the Radeon VII and looking forward to the update.
I took a video with my mobile and uploaded it, maybe this helps:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1hX-GH ... YWToFlTFki
Best regards
Albrecht
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostFri Jan 03, 2020 9:40 pm

There seems to be a solution for me:
If you revert your Radeon drivers back to 19.12.2 the artefacts should be gone. But there are again longer loading times, when you change Rooms, or when you load the project. :(

Hopefully there is a solution soon, i also contacted the AMD Support, up till now without proper success. I will keep you up to date.
Best regards
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostTue Jan 07, 2020 4:02 pm

no, I tried and failed with both, 19.9.2 and 19.12.3
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

alexmarchi86

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:48 am
  • Real Name: ALex Marchi

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostThu Jan 09, 2020 10:51 am

Hello, i have the same problem with a Radeon VII (driver 19.12.3).
Problems during playback, but only when ProxyMode>Half resolution is activated.
It started after the installation of Resolve 16.1.2.026

Is there any solution?
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1732
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostThu Jan 09, 2020 8:57 pm

Hi, most of us are just returning from holiday here. Until we are able to look at it you can work around it by selecting another resolution like full or 1/4 etc or roll back the version of Resolve. It will still be some time before we are able to work on the issue sorry. Thanks.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostFri Jan 10, 2020 7:07 am

I'm happy to wait for the next release cycle... it's just great to have such a competent dev team, reading user issues and tracking them... thanks!
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostSat Jan 25, 2020 5:34 pm

Hello :)
I have bad news from the AMD support, after countless system check protocols send to the customer support, the performance is still the same and the AMD supporter changed quite a few time before asking me to leave a report for future driver support and sending the problem back to blackmagic design:

"Danke, dass Sie den AMD-Kundendienst kontaktiert haben.
Das Support Team von BlackMagic Design ist aufmerksam geworden auf das Problem dank dem Forum Post und sind schon an einer Lösung dran. Da wir keinen Einblick in die Mechaniken von Davinci Resolve haben würden wir Sie gerne bitten, einen Beitrag an unsere Entwickler zu schicken. Diese erreichen Sie durch http://www.amd.com/report.

For non german speakers: The team of BMD realized the problem, like you showed in the forum post, we do not know anything about the Resolve mechanics, so BMD will fix it. Please report this issue for the AMD developers.

I wrote the report, but that also means no short term solution.
best regards
Albrecht
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostSun Feb 16, 2020 12:55 am

The subject seems to be solved for me with graphics drivers and the new davinci version
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.1.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=of

PostSun Feb 16, 2020 1:48 pm

can you be more specific? what driver version? and I still only see 16.1.2 DR version online...
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostFri Mar 06, 2020 3:25 pm

I just checked the new DR16.2
unfortunately no change.. I still have to disable the "use GPU for BRAW decode" to get no flicker :(
(or use Proxymode half or quarter)
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Wildthing

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:45 am
  • Real Name: Ben Wilding

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Mar 11, 2020 12:08 am

Likewise - problem still exists with the new update 16.2
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1364
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

Offline

Wildthing

  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:45 am
  • Real Name: Ben Wilding

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Mar 11, 2020 1:32 am

Even with updated Radeon drivers (currently on 20.2.2) - I still get the same error with 16.2 and proxy mode off
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Mar 11, 2020 9:42 am

also for me... didnt work..
I use the latest 2020-03 Win10 patch and the newest 20.2.2 Radeon drivers...
but "GPU BRAW decoding" shows the noise pattern :(
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1364
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Mar 11, 2020 1:56 pm

It shouldn't be necessary but it most of the time just works better https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/display-driver-uninstaller-download.html.

It's the same when you un-install software, use something like https://www.bcuninstaller.com/
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostFri Mar 13, 2020 8:43 pm

Hello
I used an AMD Driver bevor November last year which worked quite fine for me.
Make sure to hit the factory reset while installing :)
Best regards
Albrecht
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 2:55 pm

So i tried different stuff DDU old and new AMD driver with the newest Resolve version and i am back to artefacts.
Does anyone of you found a proper solution for this problem?

@Blackmagic, did you find a solution or can you trigger this issue as well?
Best regards
Albrecht
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 3:02 pm

unfortunately I can only confirm, that I also still have the artifacts...
waiting for a new Davinci Resolve version solving the issue.....
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Mar 24, 2020 4:13 pm

I also upgraded to the new AMD Driver and still having artefacts.
Hopefully BM Support puts an eye to this soon.
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1732
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Mar 25, 2020 11:49 am

Hi, unfortunately it will still be some time before we are able to look at this and address it. We are aware though and will do what we can as soon as possible.

For now please avoid half res decode if you have this issue. Thanks.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostSat Apr 04, 2020 9:55 pm

CaptainHook wrote:Hi, unfortunately it will still be some time before we are able to look at this and address it. We are aware though and will do what we can as soon as possible.

For now please avoid half res decode if you have this issue. Thanks.

Thank you for your message
The artefacts are around in all proxy modes now.
Working with braw is not really possible at the moment :(
best regards
Albrecht
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostSun Apr 05, 2020 9:15 am

I did just disable Braw gpu decoding... Now all proxy modes work...
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1732
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostSun Apr 05, 2020 10:47 am

Albiback wrote:Thank you for your message
The artefacts are around in all proxy modes now.
Working with braw is not really possible at the moment :(
best regards
Albrecht

Is that from a new AMD driver update? Did it make it worse?
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostMon Apr 06, 2020 7:25 am

Yes thanks for your answer, this is since the new Davinci Resolve Version.
i tried several AMD Drivers, also using DDU to uninstall older drivers.
The braw player is also not working.
I hope this can be fixed.
Best regards
Albrecht
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostMon Apr 06, 2020 8:00 am

Hi Albert,

for me, BRAW player works, and the 3 proxy modes also work as long as I disable BRAW decode via GPU in davinci 16.2
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostMon Apr 06, 2020 8:53 pm

well, in another thread, I just found a working solution:
https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=108251&p=610285#p610285


(first, I switched back on the GPU-support for BRAW decoding, then)

"Go to…
Resolve ▸ Preferences…User ▸ Playback Settings
Change the Performance Mode form Automatic to Manual and disable the Optimized Decode Quality, then Save."

Thanks Dmitry!

It also does work, but render times are the same, output is also fine... dunno what is the difference between switching off "GPU-supprot for BRAW decoding" vs. disabling "optimized decode quality"...
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

CaptainHook

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1732
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:50 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Hook

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostMon Apr 06, 2020 11:37 pm

I already described doing the same thing in this very thread to narrow down the issue:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=104442&p=610928#p578428
It disables the automatic lower resolution decode (performance mode) and means you have to manually set it on the clip or project settings.
**Any post by me prior to Aug 2014 was before i started working for Blackmagic**
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostTue Apr 07, 2020 7:50 am

sorry Captain, yes... true :)
anyway, I still don't get the overall (real) impact of the two methods... :)
and I hope, there will be a fix soon...

greets & thanks,
Mike
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Offline

Michael Kropfberger

  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:27 pm

Re: DR16.2 Radeon VII playback artefacts when proxymode=off

PostWed Apr 22, 2020 1:58 pm

tried with 16.2.1 ... well yes, it wasnt mentioned to be fixed, and unfortunately it still isnt fixed :(
I anyway tried it :)
Intel i7-8700K 3.70Ghz @ 6 cores, 64GB RAM, 1TB M2 SSD (system), 2TB EVO860 SSD (media), 1TB EVO850 SSD (cache), RADEON VII 16GB, Win 10x64 latest
Next

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bill145, ethanreece, Gary Hango, michalronsko, Peter Chamberlain, RedRider14, Rico Schmitt, SoapDrop, TheBloke, tlasater and 98 guests