Page 1 of 1

Dual monitor setup error.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:05 am
by dnoobeditor
Hi everyone.

I need some advice about what I'm doing wrong here.

I mainly use Resolve for video editing and have 2x Asus 144hz HD gaming monitors as my main monitor setup. Previously they were working great on my Geforce 980 ti GPU. I bought a 1080 ti and for some reason the same setup I was using before isn't working now. One monitor was connected via DVI the other by HDMI.

For some reason Resolve won't spread over to the second monitor even though the dual monitor option is active and turned on.

What should I do ? Shall I try to update my graphics driver or do a clean install with Resolve ?

I'm using Resolve 16 Studio.

Thanks.

Re: Dual monitor setup error.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:37 am
by Penelope C
I Have a similar problem and am coincidentally using an asus. I am using windows 10 and when I set up a second monitor and hook it in, I do not get the monitor options that are shown on youtube . True dual screen Johns videos leads you through the 16.1 connection ...workspace...full screen...... view live on 2.
May work for you though. Regards Penelope

Re: Dual monitor setup error.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 5:55 am
by dnoobeditor
Hi Penelope.

I mainly want to use dual monitors for editing and not full screen view. For some reason Resolve does see both monitors but won't spread Resolve to the second monitor, It's stuck on a single monitor.

I did a clean install of Nvidia drivers and Resolve 16.1.2.026 but still no luck.

I'm going to try and see if I can downgrade Resolve to 16 to see if it's a software based thing but it's really weird because it was all working when I had my gtx 980 ti before the 1080 ti.

Re: Dual monitor setup error.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:22 am
by dnoobeditor
#Update.

I installed Resolve 16.0.0.060 instead of 16.1.x versions and now both monitors work perfect. Till this problem is fixed in newer versions I'll be using ver 16.0.

Re: Dual monitor setup error.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:54 am
by Charles Bennett
No problem running two monitors here on 16.1.2. In your screenshot I see that you are using the Windows generic monitor driver. Try installing the Asus driver for those monitors and see what happens. This is what I see.

Re: Dual monitor setup error.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:51 pm
by Penelope C
Thanks for responses,
Still cannot get dual screen. Now using Alienware gamer (great graphics card) with benq 2700 extra monitor. Windows 10. Seem to still be limited by workspace options. Does not give me a "primary display" option. Am using Resolve Studio 16. Latest version
Thanks Penelope

Re: Dual monitor setup error.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:49 am
by Charles Bennett
I know this may be a silly question, but have you got Dual Screen turned on? What do you see in the Nvidia settings panel? This is how mine is set up.

Re: Dual monitor setup error.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 6:55 am
by Penelope C
Hi Charles,
On windows 10, I get the option to either duplicate the smaller screen or extend it using the windows icon on the keyboard and the letter p. Yes I do do this before entering resolve.
It works fine for duplicating the screen. When I implement the extend option, it gives me a break up of the screen that I am not familiar with.
So there is some extension but I am not sure how to control that extension to get say a full screen view of the timeline or the scopes on the colour page.
Have not found directions on youtube.
Looks like some serious train stuff happening there. Thanks for your effort in solving the problem.
Regards Penelope

Re: Dual monitor setup error.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 12:10 pm
by Charles Bennett
Penelope, I still cannot figure out your problem. This is what my color page looks like on two monitors. The trains are because I make heritage railway videos.