Urgent - Can't load project... Please help!!!

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Urgent - Can't load project... Please help!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 5:20 pm

I have been having such a miserable experience with v16. I crash maybe 10 times in a day. I changed drivers, reinstalled the OS, reinstalled Davinci. No success at all and I have posted about it and called in several times to no avail.

Right now, I have been working on a project over the past couple of weeks and have to deliver this week. Suddenly, now the project will no longer open... Please help! I need to get this done and is very critical!

System NFO, logs and screenshot can be found here: https://wetransfer.com/downloads/f5d70a ... 937/32f99e
Attachments
Hanging.JPG
Hanging.JPG (431.11 KiB) Viewed 511 times
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.0.055 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... PLEASE HELP!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 5:32 pm

UPDATE: I was able to load the project if I delete all of my optimized media.

There is obviously something very wrong going on with optimized media. Can someone from Black Magic please respond. I need this feature to work for real. I have clients that depend on me and I have purchased the software so I can deliver. As it stands, I have another 12 hours of regenerating my optimized media. Why?? Please help!
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.0.055 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3358
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... PLEASE HELP!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 5:45 pm

Can't speak to what happened, but you're going the same route? And are counting on a different result?

Instead of optimized media, why don't you transcode the project using Media Manager?
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... PLEASE HELP!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 5:48 pm

John Paines wrote:Can't speak to what happened, but you're going the same route?!?

Instead of optimized media, why don't you transcode the project using Media Manager?


Because scrubbing proxies is a much much faster workflow for me. Transcoding helps of course, but there is nothing like scrubbing through 720p low quality proxies in order to find a frame. It works in Premiere!
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.0.055 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3358
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... PLEASE HELP!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 5:50 pm

What about transcodes with proxy playback? What's the original codec, btw?
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... PLEASE HELP!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 5:52 pm

John Paines wrote:What about transcodes with proxy playback? What's the camera format, btw?


Do you think that would be any different? I can try that on the next project I guess. I just wish this worked as intended. There must be many other people having this headache. Camera formats are 10 bit 4:2:2 h265 and 8 bit h264.
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.0.055 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3358
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... PLEASE HELP!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 5:57 pm

Of course it would be (and is) different, otherwise what would be the point of proxy playback?
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... PLEASE HELP!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 5:58 pm

John Paines wrote:Of course it would be (and is) different, otherwise what would be the point of proxy playback?


Oh I see what you are saying. I thought you meant transcoding the originals. The problem is that I have to us optimized media or I can't switch back and forth quickly....
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.0.055 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3358
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... PLEASE HELP!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 6:03 pm

No, that's not what I'm saying. Transcode the camera footage to an intermediate format, equal to or better than the original (in this case, probably DNxHR). These clips will be your new masters.

Then, if you still have playback lag, use proxy playback. And/or put the clips on a timeline with a lower resolution than the clips themselves. So if the material is 4K, use an HD or 720p timeline, for editing purposes (go back to 4K, before export, if you intend to deliver 4K).
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... PLEASE HELP!!!

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 10:01 pm

I like the idea, it’s just that I won’t be able to switch back and forth between 4k and the proxies quickly. Or is there a way to do that?
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.0.055 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7435
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... Please help!!!

PostMon Feb 24, 2020 1:27 am

What format did you make the optimized media?
which drive is it on?
is that drive listed in your preferences?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... Please help!!!

PostMon Feb 24, 2020 1:53 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:What format did you make the optimized media?
which drive is it on?
is that drive listed in your preferences?


I made the optimized media in Dnxhr sq quarter resolution on a fixed drive that I specifically went out and purchased just for the reason of making optimized media with Resolve. It’s a an ssd 2td internal. Thanks for the response, I appreciate the help and look forward to solving this problem!
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.0.055 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... Please help!!!

PostMon Feb 24, 2020 12:11 pm

Is there any other information you need to help solve this issue Peter?

Thanks in advance.
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.0.055 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb
Offline

Joshua Morin

  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: URGENT - Can't load project... Please help!!!

PostMon Feb 24, 2020 9:11 pm

Any chance we can get this issue solved please? Can someone from Blackmagic chime in or should I be calling in instead?
Windows 10 Pro
Resolve 16.2.0.055 Studio
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750 2.20GHz, 32.0 GB
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070M, 8Gb

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Kolakowski, David E King, Jason P, Marble51, Vi-Dan and 84 guests