Destructive Timeline Editing

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

JayVal26

Destructive Timeline Editing

PostFri Mar 06, 2020 9:26 pm

Hi, I am a Vegas Pro user of 12 years who recently converted to DaVinci Resolve, and while the majority of DaVinci Resolve's quirks can be easily overcome, I find this problem to be consistently destructive to my timeline requiring me to constantly use the "Undo" command or not realizing I have accidentally deleted a clip until much later.

When adding clips/moving clips in Vegas Pro, If you dropped a clip on top of another clip or moved a clip over another clip in the timeline, the most recent clip would only change the opacity of the clip below, and wouldn't change it in any way. (Deleted/truncated). You could in fact slide the newer clip back and forth if you wanted without causing any alteration of the clips underneath it. This is also how Vegas did the cross-fade transition -- by overlapping two clips on the same track.

It's an intuitive and non-destructive way to handle timeline inserts.

Although I try to be careful, when editing in DaVinci Resolve, the clips are automatically overwritten when drug over, or when moved partially over an adjoining clip, so I find myself constantly deleting or partially deleting a clip/track when editing a large project.

Is there any way to have the timeline function non-destructively like Vegas Pro, in DaVinci Resolve 16?

shotbyshot

Re: Destructive Timeline Editing

PostTue Jun 22, 2021 7:08 pm

I'm also interested to know if there is a setting where we can drag clips freely around the timeline (Edit Page) without worrying about destroying other clips on the page.

Any suggestions?

Thank you.

Jim Simon

PostWed Jun 23, 2021 2:30 pm

JayVal26 wrote:It's an intuitive and non-destructive way to handle timeline inserts.
Bit it's not industry standard behavior.