How to see longer node label names?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

jmalmsten

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 12:07 pm
  • Real Name: Johan Malmsten

How to see longer node label names?

PostSun Mar 15, 2020 1:30 pm

Ok. This might seem like a strange request/question. But I'd really like to be able to see label names that are longer than... uhm... 2 characters at times.

It seems no matter what I do some labels I cannot name anything longer than 2 or 3 characters before it gets truncated with "..."

I tried zooming in and out but that seems irrelevant to my goal.

And it's so darned inconsistent. Sometimes I get a handful of characters in there. Other times, like in the attached example screenshot... I get 2 characters and I just have to remember that "gr..." is supposed to signify "grain" .


What am I doing wrong here since I frequently see people able to have complete multiple syllable words or even, such extravagance, multiple words (!) in their node labels and I can only get 2 characters at times?
Attachments
ResolveLabels.PNG
ResolveLabels.PNG (81.91 KiB) Viewed 457 times
Offline

jmalmsten

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 12:07 pm
  • Real Name: Johan Malmsten

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostTue Mar 17, 2020 5:12 pm

Bumping once since it's already on page 5 without any replies.

I mean. I can't be the only one who have label names so short that they essentially are useless?

I'll look back in a few days and maybe bump once more if nothing is said. Then I'll let it die I guess...
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 6139
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostTue Mar 17, 2020 5:13 pm

I'm not aware of any user settings here.

My own labels are usually pretty simple - WB, Cont, Sat, Luma, Mask, etc.
Offline

DigiKin

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 3:38 am
  • Real Name: Nick Roers

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostTue Mar 17, 2020 6:08 pm

I've been going through the color page PDF and they have much longer labels shown in full. For example it says to label a node "blur overlay" in the manual it shows everything. If I label it that I get "blur over..." but if I just type blur I get "bl..." so it doesn't really seem consistent. I usually keep labels short but in a complicated grade I could see it causing some confusion.
Resolve Studio 16(Current) | Windows 10 | Nvidia GTX 970 | i7-4770, 32GB RAM
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 6139
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 7:41 pm

That is odd.

You're using at least a 1080 monitor? Display Scaling is set to 100%?
Offline

Oyvind Stiauren

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:31 pm
  • Location: Mexico City

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 8:25 pm

I am seeing the same thing on my Linux installation (my screen resolution is 2560x1440).
To me it seems like it's a issue when zooming the node window to minimum. The label does not wrap, so when the size of the nodes are very small, there is no space for the text. Maybe there should be an option for wrapping the text?
--
Oyvind Stiauren, C.S.I.
Senior Colorist
Terminal, Mexico City
www.terminalmx.com
www.imdb.com/name/nm1008209/
Offline

DigiKin

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 3:38 am
  • Real Name: Nick Roers

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostWed Mar 18, 2020 10:13 pm

I'm using 1080p monitors, scaling 27inch monitors not sure about the original poster. I've seen a few posts about it from others. I'm on Windows 10 if that matters, not sure if mac users have seen similar behavior.
Resolve Studio 16(Current) | Windows 10 | Nvidia GTX 970 | i7-4770, 32GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6561
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 19, 2020 1:00 am

Just to prove it can be done on a 2550x1440 display, provided you zoom the node window...

Image

For the record, I generally recommend to users that they try ALL CAPS for node names, because to me they're easier to read at a distance. And I also work on the node structure so that I can magnify it for the specific desktop I'm using. And I'm a fan of a dual-monitor layout for Color.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 368
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 19, 2020 4:24 am

nodes.jpg
nodes.jpg (45.08 KiB) Viewed 379 times
Marc Wielage wrote:Just to prove it can be done on a 2550x1440 display, provided you zoom the node window...





and to prove it isn't working quite the way it used to for some of us :D

the SK.. is SKIN, and the BLA.. is BLACK - both are shorter then the BASE ADJUST on the first node.

zooming in makes no difference for me with the node names. Sometimes they show, sometimes a few letters, sometimes only the first letter....but no change regardless of the zoom on the node viewer.

Hasn't been a problem until somewhere around 16.1 (i think...)
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.2
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7548
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 19, 2020 5:16 am

did you guys tested if you zoom the node size up then down again if that refresh it?
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

vivoices

  • Posts: 250
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 9:15 am
  • Real Name: Udo Jansen

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 19, 2020 5:51 am

I have the same problem, but only since 16.2
Udo Jansen

Win 10 Pro 1909, Resolve Studio 16.2.0, Dual 6 core Xeon @ 3.5GHz (24 threads), 96 GB ECC RAM, Nvidia Quadro P4000 (8GB VRAM) 442.19 NSD, 13TB SSDs, Intensity Pro 4K | Nuendo, Wavelab, RX
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 368
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 19, 2020 9:19 am

waltervolpatto wrote:did you guys tested if you zoom the node size up then down again if that refresh it?


yep, up...down...up...down...u...till I was tired and needed a lie down :lol:

but yeah, Have tried resetting layout, restarted, tried new project vs old project, show thumbnails, don't show thumbnails. One node vs 20 nodes...

the weird thing is not every node label acts the same. and its not always the first that works and the rest don't. Weather a label shows fully or 2 letters or 1 letter seems to be completely random.

given the complete sh#$ storm our business is facing (and so so many others are as well) I'm kinda going "meh, I can live with the node labels having a moment"
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k|64GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 16.2
Offline
User avatar

Ugo Laurenti

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 4:37 pm
  • Location: Italy

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 19, 2020 11:24 am

Same here, also only after 16.2 update.

It's clearly a bug: right now I have five Nodes, but only the last one has a completely readable label, but if I zoom in and out sometimes also that one has issues, but only for a second, after then is readable again.
MacBook Pro (Mid 2014),2,5 GHz Intel i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3,NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2Gb. Resolve 16.0.0 High Sierra 10.13.6
PC Gigabyte z390, i9-9900k 3,6, 32Gb, Zotac 1080ti, Decklink MiniMonitor, Eizo CG2420 Windows10Pro, Resolve 16.1.2
Offline

DigiKin

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 3:38 am
  • Real Name: Nick Roers

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 19, 2020 7:19 pm

All caps, dual screen, zoomed in, zoomed out there isn't much consistency. I can type in LONG NODE NAME and get LONG NODE if I type LONG I just get LO... If I zoom all the way in I can get LONG NODE N... and LO... So zooming seems to help with longer names but not with shorter. I can also type "LONG..." and that comes out as typed.
Resolve Studio 16(Current) | Windows 10 | Nvidia GTX 970 | i7-4770, 32GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6561
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 19, 2020 10:27 pm

Nothing is abbreviated for me in the Node Labels, but I come up with creative node names that won't ever be cut off; none are longer than "VIGNETTE." This is on OSX 10.14.6 and Resolve 16.2.054.

I am running with a dual 27" GUI monitor setup, both identical Dells set to 2550x1440, and a standalone widescreen LG for Scopebox. I have the desktops specifically set to optimized preset sizes for Color, Editing, or Conform, as I need them.

I arrange my fixed node trees in such a way that they always stay in the exact same place and the nodes and labels are big enough that I can read them from six feet away (albeit with reading glasses). I haven't seen any change in behavior from the previous 10-12 versions of Resolve in regards to Node Labels.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7548
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 4:27 pm

Ok, I saw this today too.

The node structure was imported from an old project, nothing too fancy, but while I can clearly see the word [BASE], the word [LOG] was shortened to [L..].

very dicey...

(16.3.0.55)
W10.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6561
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 11:02 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:Ok, I saw this today too. The node structure was imported from an old project, nothing too fancy, but while I can clearly see the word [BASE], the word [LOG] was shortened to [L..].

Since I'm not seeing this on Mac OS, I'm guessing this is a Windows-specific problem that has to do with screen resolution.

What res are you using, Walter? What happens if you change magnification size of the Node window?
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7548
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 1:21 am

Marc Wielage wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:Ok, I saw this today too. The node structure was imported from an old project, nothing too fancy, but while I can clearly see the word [BASE], the word [LOG] was shortened to [L..].

Since I'm not seeing this on Mac OS, I'm guessing this is a Windows-specific problem that has to do with screen resolution.

What res are you using, Walter? What happens if you change magnification size of the Node window?


1920x1200, as in at work, single monitor.

changing scale to max/min does not change, reset the nodes does not matter, [cleanup the node] does not fix it...

WORKAROUND, a stupid one: if you add two dots [..] at the end of a label, that will be hidden and the label will be all visible...
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

Ugo Laurenti

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 4:37 pm
  • Location: Italy

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostSat Mar 28, 2020 10:33 pm

WORKAROUND, a stupid one: if you add two dots [..] at the end of a label, that will be hidden and the label will be all visible...


I found that sometimes I need to add three dots instead of two.
It's so stupid that seems genial...

:-)
MacBook Pro (Mid 2014),2,5 GHz Intel i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3,NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2Gb. Resolve 16.0.0 High Sierra 10.13.6
PC Gigabyte z390, i9-9900k 3,6, 32Gb, Zotac 1080ti, Decklink MiniMonitor, Eizo CG2420 Windows10Pro, Resolve 16.1.2
Offline

jmalmsten

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 12:07 pm
  • Real Name: Johan Malmsten

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostSat Mar 28, 2020 11:00 pm

Dang... I hadn't been getting notifications from replies so I haven't seen the discussions...

I can add to it that my own main screen is a UHD Wacom Cintiq. So 16 inch 3840x2160. Scaled 200% so I can see and read text. And no. Zooming the node tree only makes the font bigger, it doesn't reveal more characters.

It's nice to see I'm not the only one with this problem at least :)
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6561
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostMon Mar 30, 2020 12:15 am

waltervolpatto wrote:WORKAROUND, a stupid one: if you add two dots [..] at the end of a label, that will be hidden and the label will be all visible...

That is a very interesting workaround.

I am seeing a screen refresh issue with 16.2.0.054 where once in awhile, half the node tree disappears. Flipping to Edit Page and back always restores it, but it is an annoyance. I get this maybe 3-4 times per 10-hour day.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Luchian

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 6:43 pm
  • Real Name: Luchian Comsa

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostMon Mar 30, 2020 5:57 am

I made some tests, my monitor is 4k and in Windows i have 150% Scalling (recomended) if i set Scalling to 100% eveything it's fine, the problem is only with 150% scalling from windows

I found a solution right click on Resolve.exe (from C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve) go on Proprieties -> Compatibility -> Change high DPI settings -> set Override high DPI scalling behavion to System (Enhanced) , after that start Davinci Resolve
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7548
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostMon Mar 30, 2020 6:15 am

Luchian wrote:I made some tests, my monitor is 4k and in Windows i have 150% Scalling (recomended) if i set Scalling to 100% eveything it's fine, the problem is only with 150% scalling from windows

I found a solution right click on Resolve.exe (from C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve) go on Proprieties -> Compatibility -> Change high DPI settings -> set Override high DPI scalling behavion to System (Enhanced) , after that start Davinci Resolve


that fixed my project that had back labels.... but my monitor is only 1920x1200
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

jmalmsten

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 12:07 pm
  • Real Name: Johan Malmsten

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostMon Mar 30, 2020 5:33 pm

ok. Some more testing with my setup according to latest posts.

Again. Monitor is a 16 inch 3840x2160 Wacom Cintiq. I usually run it with 200% in windows to keep stuff readable.

I tried turning windows scaling for the monitor to 100%. Problem with the node labels remained. The text got tiny but it's still strangely truncated.

I messed around with trying different combinations of Windows Scaling and compability settings on the resolve.exe. Restarting Resolve each time No real progress. So I reverted to setting it to Override High DPI Scaling behaviour. Scaling performed by System (I tried System - Enhanced - too. But no progress there either) and returning windows scaling to 200% for readability's sake.

So after abandoning the scaling approach (for now) I decided to try out the other workaround.

See this picture:

ResolvColor-MoarNodes.PNG
ResolvColor-MoarNodes.PNG (100.47 KiB) Viewed 118 times


To the right I have a couple of paralell nodes. Both named "skin". But for the upper one I added a dot "." at the end. Which seem to give me the full word for some reason. The vanilla skin below just says "s...". So a period dot seem to do something to get longer labels.

to the left there are two serial nodes. One I just typed "skinskinskinskinskinskin" over and over with no dot at the end just to see how far it could give me the letters.

After that I just typed numbers and it seems I can get to 15 numbers without truncating starting.

With the repeated skins-node it seems to be able to show 17 characters before truncating.

so... uhm... while it is repeatable on my system. I see no real reason why it behaves this erratically based, as it seems, on only how many characters a word may have and if it has a period dot at the end or not.

Testing it further I got this:

ResolvColor-MoarNodes2.PNG
ResolvColor-MoarNodes2.PNG (31.14 KiB) Viewed 118 times


The above node has the label name "skin skin...." (four dots). It doesn't get truncated.

The lower node has the label name "skin skin..." (three dots). it gets truncated.


So it seems like the dots messes with the truncating rules and forces it to show more characters than it wants to. And just one word "skin" with no dots becomes "s..." as seen above.


---

ok. Reality check here. Is this a deal breaker? Maybe not. Probably not at all. It's more in the "nice to have" than "need to have" for most of us who experience the problem. Especially since we can somewhat trick it with dots when needed. But if there is some time available when not working actively on big stuff bugs that stop people from working completely. I guess someone can look into this, please? :)
Offline

Luchian

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 6:43 pm
  • Real Name: Luchian Comsa

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostMon Mar 30, 2020 5:51 pm

You are a lucky guy, check on mine how i see on 150% windows scalling. No numbers, no name :)
Attachments
DR_numbers.jpg
DR_numbers.jpg (87.38 KiB) Viewed 116 times
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7548
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: How to see longer node label names?

PostTue Mar 31, 2020 3:24 pm

Luchian wrote:You are a lucky guy, check on mine how i see on 150% windows scalling. No numbers, no name :)

LOL your node tree just got CoViD19!!
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.055
nvidia: 441.66 studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot], oilar123 and 102 guests