Zoom into Source Viewer

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

DirectedByMarvin

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:45 pm
  • Real Name: Marvin Nuecklaus

Zoom into Source Viewer

PostThu Mar 26, 2020 10:17 pm

Hey everyone,
Simple question, and I feel stupid to even ask, but how can I zoom into the Source Viewer timeline where my in and out points are located? I got a 2h interview clip and which means when setting an in and out within a 10 sec time spam let's say, the in and out points look like 1 dot.
In Premiere I just actived the source viewer and hit + or - .

Hope there's a simple answer as it's so basic.
Thank you in advance!
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Milde

  • Posts: 241
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:27 am
  • Location: Augsburg, Germany

Re: Zoom into Source Viewer

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 12:59 pm

Hi,
this seems to be a good question. I didn't find a solution, either, but it seems to be a valid problem.
If you don't get any answer, try to put it as a feature request.
Tech:
Win 10 pro, Ryzen 5 1600x, 64 GB, SSDs for media
GTX 980 ti (442.50), Intensity Pro, DVR Studio 16.2, Desktop Video 11.4.1
Online

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 6138
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Zoom into Source Viewer

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 1:05 pm

Unfortunately, it's not possible.

viewforum.php?f=33
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 1150
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Zoom into Source Viewer

PostFri Mar 27, 2020 3:21 pm

You could give yourself some more space by only displaying either the Preview or Timeline windows. To switch between them use the Q key on the keyboard.
Attachments
Preview A.jpg
Preview A.jpg (509.63 KiB) Viewed 76 times
Preview B.jpg
Preview B.jpg (412.63 KiB) Viewed 76 times
Resolve 16.2.0055 (free)
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, Palit GTX1060/6GB (441.66 Studio), Win 10 Home-18362, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win 7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, 3 Screens
Offline
User avatar

MikeMeagher

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:21 pm
  • Location: Bellingham, WA. USA

Re: Zoom into Source Viewer

PostSat Mar 28, 2020 2:51 pm

The problem discussed here and lack of solution is yet another example of the many small annoying useability issues in the Edit tab.
I wish BMD would refine the edit tab instead of adding more features.
Mike Meagher Cinematographer
Win10 64 pro I7 6core X99 mboard 64 GB
M.2 sys drive. 2x SSDs in Raid0 for cache.
3x 7200 HHDs raid0 for video source storage
Two EVGA1080TI Vcards Driver 422.19 Studio
Decklink MiniM 14.1.1 4K BENQ WS271
Resolve 16.1studio
Offline

tadhgosullivan

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2019 6:30 pm
  • Real Name: Tadhg O'Sullivan

Re: Zoom into Source Viewer

PostSun Mar 29, 2020 1:44 pm

It might help a little to switch the source viewer to audio, but that doesn't really behave as you might hope either - a simple zoom/navigate function on the audio there is not possible either.
Your best bet would be to make a timeline for your entire interview and make your selects from there, whether by in and our points or blading and selecting - then copy/paste to your other timeline.
Attachments
Screenshot 2020-03-29 at 14.38.51.png
Screenshot 2020-03-29 at 14.38.51.png (65.62 KiB) Viewed 38 times

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dieter Scheel, Google Feedfetcher, Jim Simon, Miguel Ibáñez, MSN [Bot], TonyGamble, Uli Plank, UweJun, vivoices and 96 guests