Error + crashing when creating optimized media

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostSat Apr 04, 2020 7:52 am

Hi, I'm new to the forum.
I'm trying to switch from premiere to resolve 16. I love the software but I'm having trouble trusting it since I found a couple of very serious bugs.
The worst of them is that when I try to generate optimized media the software works for a while and the it gives me this error : " time out when waiting for frame *(number of frame) for recording, frame dropped ". After this happens it apparently keeps generating the medias but the cpu is not working and the time never ends.
Then if I click cancel Resolve crashes.
I've carefully watched videos on how to optimize Resolve and I've done the best to make it fast.
My media hd is an SSD and my computer is quite fast and updated.
The only time I succeeded is when I did it on one single clip. Doing it on multiple clips never works and the frame dropped is always different when I try multiple times.
Please help me because I really want to do the switch from Premiere.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7918
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostMon Apr 06, 2020 9:30 am

Please see the FAQs at the top of this DaVinci Forum for details we need to assist.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostWed Apr 08, 2020 6:23 pm

Hi,
Sorry I can't find anything in the faq about this problem. What do you mean?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 6875
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostThu Apr 09, 2020 3:15 am

It's not about the problem, but the information needed to find the problem:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostFri Apr 10, 2020 5:41 am

Ok, let's see if I can pull this off.

- I've attached the logs files
- Computer: My built: intel core i5 6600 - 16gb ram - ssd 1TB - AMD radeon rx5700
- OS: windows 10 pro (18363.720)
- Davinci resolve 16.2.0.055
Attachments
DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20200410-072637.zip
(86.61 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostFri Apr 10, 2020 5:48 am

I forgot to attach this two screenshots.
Attachments
davinci resolve error 2.jpg
davinci resolve error 2.jpg (21.83 KiB) Viewed 1245 times
davinci resolve error.jpg
davinci resolve error.jpg (156.67 KiB) Viewed 1245 times
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostWed Apr 15, 2020 6:00 am

If I optimize one clip at the time I have no errors, whereas the same clips, if optimized in batch give me an error and the error occurs at different random locations when I optimize the same batch.
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 974
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostWed Apr 15, 2020 6:23 am

Can I check what your cached files location is?

Can you run the Blackmagic RAW speed tests on your connected disks and check if caching your media to your fastest disk makes a difference?
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostThu Apr 16, 2020 4:47 am

Hi, yes, the cache and all medias are on a internal ssd that I only use for editing. It's a small 120GB unfortunately.When I got the messages the SSD was more then half empty. Do you think that might be the problem. Maybe I can try and move it to the system SSD.
I'm looking for the RAW test but googling it only takes me to a press review on Blackmagic's website or on a third party web site where I can download version 1.5. Where can I download it from Blackmagic website?
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostThu Apr 16, 2020 5:01 am

I've just moved the cache files location onto the system SSD, where I have a 100gb of space free, run a bunch of clips to generate optimized media and got the same error + software crash.
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 974
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostThu Apr 16, 2020 6:26 am

Can you link us to a sample clip that crashes during optimised media generation?

Thanks
Shrinivas
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostThu Apr 16, 2020 6:08 pm

I don't know which clip creates the crash since I select a bunch of them and after a while it crashes, always at a different point. I've tried processing 10 clips together and it gives me the error but it worked when I processed the same clips one by one.
All the clips I've used so far are shot with a canon eos 200d and they are mp4 (h264 / AAC) 1920X1080 @ 25fps.
I really love the software and I'm ready to resort to generate optimized medias one by one if I have to.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 6875
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostFri Apr 17, 2020 4:16 am

That shouldn't be necessary. Try to transcode them with the help of Media Management instead and use the clips like in an offline/online workflow.
If you still experience problems, check this thread: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=110146
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

deltatango

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:24 pm
  • Real Name: Dirk Taggesell

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostFri Apr 17, 2020 12:54 pm

criscass wrote:If I optimize one clip at the time I have no errors, whereas the same clips, if optimized in batch give me an error and the error occurs at different random locations when I optimize the same batch.


I have the exact same problem. Using 16.2.0.055 under Windows10
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostFri Apr 24, 2020 3:22 am

I've just found out that if a clip is a bit bigger then usual then it crashes also with only one clip. Working without using optimized media is impossibile so I think I have to abandon Resolve. Unfortunately. :cry:
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 6875
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostFri Apr 24, 2020 3:36 am

Did you try transcoding for an offline/online workflow instead?
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostSat Apr 25, 2020 6:59 am

Did you try transcoding for an offline/online workflow instead?

No, I haven't. But it sounds over complicated.
Is there any tutorial on how to do it?
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostSun May 03, 2020 4:22 pm

I'll give a go to transcoding medias to proxys. I got insipred after watching this video:
Offline

Singularity

  • Posts: 146
  • Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:31 pm
  • Real Name: Ki Rin

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostSun May 03, 2020 4:45 pm

I've also had this issue when generating optimized media. In my case, it works for small batches (up to about 15 clips). But for 20+ clips it would always crash randomly. I had to just generate the media in small groups.
Resolve 16.2. Windows 10 Pro Insider Build. Ryzen 2700x. GTX 1060 6GB. 16GB 3200mhz DDR4 RAM. ASUS Crosshair x370.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 6875
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostSun May 03, 2020 10:39 pm

Christian, please don't follow all that guy says! The workflow is basically alright, but it's complete BS to transcode a GOP format to another GOP format for proxies. And it's not really complicated.

Use Cineform at half rez or DNxHD LQ instead (or ProRes LT an a Mac).
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostMon May 04, 2020 11:34 am

I've also had this issue when generating optimized media. In my case, it works for small batches (up to about 15 clips). But for 20+ clips it would always crash randomly. I had to just generate the media in small groups.

In my case the error is totally random, it could happen with one clip or with a small buch. It usually happen within 10 minutes of computational activity.

Christian, please don't follow all that guy says! The workflow is basically alright, but it's complete BS to transcode a GOP format to another GOP format for proxies. And it's not really complicated.

Use Cineform at half rez or DNxHD LQ instead (or ProRes LT an a Mac).

Well, I think I'll have to go another route then, since this morning I've tried transcoding some clips, as indicated by the youtube tutorial, and after a while I got the same message I get with optimized media generation (the frame such and such as been dropped) and then crash.
Also, the transcoding wasn't using my GPU (amd radeon 5700) but only the CPU. It crashed after about 20 minutes of work.
:cry:
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostMon May 04, 2020 11:40 am

Use Cineform at half rez or DNxHD LQ instead (or ProRes LT an a Mac).


What do you mean? :?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 6875
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostMon May 04, 2020 1:41 pm

The format for proxy media.
Resolve Studio 16.2 and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostMon May 04, 2020 6:49 pm

davinci.jpg
davinci.jpg (253.63 KiB) Viewed 988 times

I can't find DNxHD LQ.
Offline

Daniel Chabot

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 1:42 am
  • Real Name: Daniel Chabot

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostMon May 04, 2020 7:08 pm

Manual page 202:

"All optimized media is written to the same directory as the Cache files are written, which
defaults to the first scratch disk listed in the Preference dialog’s Media Storage panel. The
location of Cache and Optimized files is also selectable via the “Cache files location” setting in
the Master Settings panel of the Project Settings.
Seeing Which Clips Have Been Optimized
If you want to check to see which clips have been optimized, an Optimized Media column in the
list view of the Media Pool will be populated with the resolution of whatever optimized media
you’ve created (Original, Half, Quarter, and so on). Clips that have not been optimized appear
with “None"

Double check your Cashe location in the project settings to be sure it is going to the right folder.
Make sure the drive you want the Cashe to go to is FIRST in the Media Storage System Preferences. The drive that is listed first is used for Optimized Media storage as shown in the manual section above.
HPZ820 Dual Zeon, 64GB RAM, Windows 10, Resolve 16.2.1.017
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, NEXIS
Offline

Daniel Chabot

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 1:42 am
  • Real Name: Daniel Chabot

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostMon May 04, 2020 7:26 pm

HPZ820 Dual Zeon, 64GB RAM, Windows 10, Resolve 16.2.1.017
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, NEXIS
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostTue May 05, 2020 5:36 am

I've tried every single format for optimized media and I constantly get this:

davinci 2.jpg
davinci 2.jpg (28.86 KiB) Viewed 967 times


+

Davinci is using only my CPU for the transcoding, the GPU, properly set in the preferences is not used.
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostWed May 06, 2020 6:13 pm

Today I've tried disabling My GPU and again different proxy formats.
Nothing, it still crashes, always at different frames.
My hardware works well with everything else, including other video editors.
I'm so disappointed, I love resolve interface but I have to give up now, I'm wasting to much time on this.
So sad :cry:
Offline

Daniel Chabot

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 1:42 am
  • Real Name: Daniel Chabot

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostWed May 06, 2020 7:47 pm

To better manage this kind of issue I have begun exporting a DPX sequence which outputs a series of stills. So if it does fail at some point you still have the files up to that point and can focus on troubleshooting that area of your project that has failed and continue to output the series of stills having solved your issue all the way to the end of your program.

I then add the DPX sequence to a new timeline with an exported WAV audio stereo track to match the DPX sequence.

Once I have a completed sequence having solved the render issues, I then make the final output from the DPX/WAV sequence and it outputs in seconds and minutes versus having to redo thew entire output if their is some weird failure or glitch.

This is also useful if you have a change to a short segment of the sequence. You can select that portion of the timeline for render and just over wright the DPX files which will replace themselves in your DPX/WAV sequence. And then shazam you can quickly output that to whatever file format your heart desires. I have found this to be a very time saving workflow.

It's not new, Hollywood as far I I know has been doing this for years.
HPZ820 Dual Zeon, 64GB RAM, Windows 10, Resolve 16.2.1.017
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, NEXIS
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostThu May 07, 2020 3:51 am

Thank you for your help but this is getting way too complicated.
DPX sequences now?
I'd rather use some other software then.
Offline

Daniel Chabot

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 1:42 am
  • Real Name: Daniel Chabot

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostFri May 08, 2020 2:33 pm

I like to use the tools that give me the most creative freedom and support the workflow I need for the media I am capturing.
I have developed a saying over the years:
Avid hates me
Premiere burns me
Resolve and FCPX work for me

Resolve has moved me from FCPX, which I thought would never happen.
I use resolve because it supports the BRaw and ProRes footage that I am capturing. And it gives me a great tool set and the easiest way to connect to and manage media. Media access with Resolve is simple, direct, and browsing and re-linking to media is very easy. It's also Windows and Mac compatible so I can use it at the office on the company mandated Windows systems, and for my small business where I prefer to use a Mac.

It's not perfect, but none of them are. I like the pricing structure too. I use the studio version that came free with my Pocket CC 4K, and at the office the URSA Mini Pro 4.6K.
HPZ820 Dual Zeon, 64GB RAM, Windows 10, Resolve 16.2.1.017
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, NEXIS
Offline

criscass

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 7:39 am
  • Real Name: cristian cassetta

Re: Error + crashing when creating optimized media

PostSun May 10, 2020 8:18 am

I don't have those professional cameras, I use a canon dslr.
The camera produces mp4/h264 clips.
Resolve constantly crashes when producing proxies for those files (other software dont's, like premiere, CL powerdirector and filmora).
This is the bottom line. I've tried solving this crashes in many ways but it didn't work out.
If optimized media crashes will be fixed in the future I will certainly give resolve another chance, since the software in neat in many other ways.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andre1964, Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Mads Johansen, mfarley and 50 guests