Cannot open or import BRAW files

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

chrisandersondp

Cannot open or import BRAW files

PostTue Apr 14, 2020 4:29 pm

I've been using Resolve for several years, but this is my first time working with BRAW. We edited the footage in Premiere Pro with no problems, and created a XML for me to color in Resolve. The project imports the timeline just fine, but I am unable to add any of the BRAW clips to the project. When I use the import media function, the clips appear in the file explorer, but when I try to add them, nothing happens. I don't get an error message either, the clips just don't import. I also tried opening the clips with the Blackmagic RAW Player, and they won't open there either. That does give me an error message, saying "Failed to create BlackmagicRAW codec", and when I click 'ok' the player closes.

To make sure it wasn't a problem with my files or project, I tried all of this with the sample BRAW clips available from Blackmagic's website in a new Resolve project, and the same issues occurred.

I took a screenshot of the error message from the player and created the diagnostics log through Resolve, and both are in this google drive folder: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

My hardware/software info should be in my signature, but if you need any more information, just let me know.
DaVinci Resolve (free) Version 16.2.0.055
Windows 10 Home version 1909
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
GPU: Radeon RX 580 (8GB VRAM)
RAM: 8GB G.Skill Sniper
Storage: Samsung 840 Pro SSD (240GB)
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX

Dmitry Kitsov BMD

Blackmagic Design

Re: Cannot open or import BRAW files

PostTue Apr 14, 2020 9:03 pm

Hello, Chris,
try this:
Navigate to Resolve▸Preferences…▸System▸Decode Options and disable the use of GPU for Blackmagic Raw Decode.
Save, then restart.