APIs for getting Resolve information externally?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Chris Hocking

  • Posts: 662
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:23 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

APIs for getting Resolve information externally?

PostThu Apr 23, 2020 1:04 am

Hi DaVinci Resolve Team,

I make free and open source Mac application called CommandPost that allows you to seriously speed up your creative editing process through powerful and customisable automation tools. Think Apple’s Automator, with a little bit of BetterTouchTool and Keyboard Maestro thrown in, but specifically designed for creative professionals.

CommandPost has over 3300 active monthly users and over 1464 users in our Facebook Group.

Over the last few years, most of the focus has been on Final Cut Pro X - however, I'm now finally exploring adding deep support for DaVinci Resolve.

One of the features we have is a Spotlight-like feature called the "Search Console" which allows you to trigger, for example, any menu item from Final Cut Pro's menubar. To do this, we read FCPX's `.nib` files, so that we can programatically work all the menu items (without FCPX running) in all the languages it supports.

We also use the Accessibility API built directly into macOS to control Final Cut Pro. This allows us to offer awesome features like being able to individually trigger effects, titles, generators and transitions. This allows us to add these items to the "Search Console" - essentially ripping off Andrew Kramer's amazing FX Console

To offer similar functionality in Resolve, I have some questions:

1) Is there anyway to programatically determine what language Resolve's UI is set to?

2) Is there any programatic way we can get a list of all the Resolve menu bar items (i.e. File, Edit, Trim, etc) in every language it supports?

3) Is there a way to programatically get a list of all the "Effect Library" items (i.e. Video Transitions, Audio Transitions, Titles, Generators, Effects). If so... is there a way to "trigger" them via the Python/Lua API?

4) Kyno's developers recently announced that DaVinci Resolve 16.2.1 allows them to do a "Send to > DaVinci Resolve" feature - which sounds really cool. What API/method are they using to allow this to happen?

Any help or guidance you can provide would be very much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Best Regards, Chris!
Offline
User avatar

Chris Hocking

  • Posts: 662
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:23 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: APIs for getting Resolve information externally?

PostThu Apr 23, 2020 3:35 am

Regarding 4 - as discussed here, Kyno is using FCP7 XML to get the data from Kyno to Resolve.
Offline
User avatar

antoine

  • Posts: 379
  • Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:20 am
  • Real Name: Antoine Dornstetter

Re: APIs for getting Resolve information externally?

PostThu Apr 23, 2020 8:37 am

I'm interested in this as well ! Might be more well suited in the Software Developers subforum viewforum.php?f=12

What exact task do you want to automate ?
BRAW Studio for Adobe CC (Premiere Pro, After Effects, Media Encoder)
Offline
User avatar

Chris Hocking

  • Posts: 662
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:23 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: APIs for getting Resolve information externally?

PostThu Apr 23, 2020 8:54 am

antoine wrote:I'm interested in this as well ! Might be more well suited in the Software Developers subforum viewforum.php?f=12


Yeah, I thought about that, but there's no much discussion about Resolve in there, so figured this was more likely to get a response. Moderators can move if they see fit.

antoine wrote:What exact task do you want to automate ?


The reason I want to access all the menubar items is so that I can use them as "actions" in CommandPost. These actions can be triggered by shortcut keys, or via control surfaces (such as Tangent panels, Loupedeck CT, Loupedeck+, the MacBook Pro Touch Bar, Stream Deck's, MIDI devices, etc.). Ideally I want this to work across all the languages that Resolve supports.

The reason I want to programatically get a list of all the "Effect Library" items is so I can make something similar to Video Copilot's FX Console (or CommandPost's Search Console) - as explained in the original post.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], hhdima, Ivanturas and 104 guests