Can't Open Davinci Resolve

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

gracelandwest

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 4:11 pm
  • Real Name: Randy Girdner

Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostWed May 20, 2020 4:47 pm

Greetings! I am tentatively posting on here in the desperate hopes that I am following the rules for posting. I have a brand new machine and have installed 16.2.2 on it. On startup, it always freezes. Every. Single. Time.

It cycles through the dialogue, then freezes on the "Ready" dialogue. Then nothing happens.

I have tried several methods:

Uninstall/Reinstall
Older Version of Resolve (15)
Clean install, deleting every trace of Davinci on my computer

It still does the same thing. I have looked through the forums here and haven't found anything to help me.

If anyone can help me figure this out, I would appreciate it.

Crash Log:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cEWrz9 ... sp=sharing
System Log:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1OhoEL ... Tzj2egxpfN
--16.2.2
--MacOS 10.15.4
--2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
--64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
--Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
--C: drive.
Offline

Ole Kristiansen

  • Posts: 231
  • Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:37 pm

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostWed May 20, 2020 5:36 pm

Hi

Maybe this is your problem:

--4 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
--Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
--C: drive.
Offline

gracelandwest

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 4:11 pm
  • Real Name: Randy Girdner

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostWed May 20, 2020 5:44 pm

Oh, that was a mistake on my part. That should read "64" not "4".
--16.2.2
--MacOS 10.15.4
--2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
--64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
--Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
--C: drive.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostWed May 20, 2020 6:01 pm

It's a 16,1 MBP with a Radeon Pro 5500M GPU, so it's not a resource issue.

Examining the logs...
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostWed May 20, 2020 6:20 pm

There's an odd thing in your config.dat file, that I can't replicate with a clean 16.2.2 install, and I'm wondering if it might be causing an issue.

In Finder, go to the /Users/randallp/Library/Preferences/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve folder.

/Users/randallp/Library is a hidden folder, so you won't see that path in Finder unless you modify Finder to show Hidden files/folders (Google for how to do that) or use the Finder Go menu: Go to Folder menu.

Once you are in the /Users/randallp/Library/Preferences/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve folder, you'll see a config.dat file. Make a Duplicate of that file.

Then open config.dat in TextEdit.

Not too far down from the top of the file, you'll see:

Site.1.FS.1.Type = IOFileSys
Site.1.FS.1.Root = HOMEDIR
Site.1.FS.1.DIO = 0
Site.1.FS.1.BrightClip = 0

Normally, the Site.1.FS.1.Root line should be pointing to a path. HOMEDIR might be a valid thing to be there, but I've never seen that before, and I can't repro that, so I'm suspicious.

Change HOMEDIR to /Users/randallp/Desktop

So the line should look like this:

Site.1.FS.1.Root = /Users/randallp/Desktop

Once you've made the change, in the TextEdit File menu, select Save, then exit TextEdit.

Launch Resolve and see what happens. If it still fails to launch, provide another Resolve log file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

gracelandwest

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 4:11 pm
  • Real Name: Randy Girdner

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostWed May 20, 2020 7:08 pm

Thanks, Dwaine.

When I went into the config.dat file, it didn't say HOMEDIR. It said:

Site.1.FS.1.Root = /Users/randallp/Desktop

So, it might not be that. I have attached the latest log file here:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=11v8gW ... LjK5vydmW-

The help is greatly appreciated!
--16.2.2
--MacOS 10.15.4
--2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
--64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
--Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
--C: drive.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostWed May 20, 2020 10:59 pm

Hmmm, OK.

Please try the 16.1.2 code, and let us know how that works. And send a log from that.

You can find that, along with all the Resolve code versions, here:

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... and-fusion
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

gracelandwest

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 4:11 pm
  • Real Name: Randy Girdner

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostThu May 21, 2020 7:24 am

Sadly, this did not work either. Logs are here:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1rea28 ... bn-TNJMnVr

Theoretically, I am giving you something fun to do. Or something incredibly frustrating.
--16.2.2
--MacOS 10.15.4
--2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
--64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
--Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
--C: drive.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostThu May 21, 2020 4:47 pm

More the latter than the former.

I want to go through the clean install process again. You mentioned you did that, but I want to make sure you follow all the proper steps. Apologies if you did exactly this before, but let's try it again:

In Finder, go to the DaVinci Resolve folder in the Mac Applications folder, and run Uninstall Resolve.

Then go to the /Library/Preferences/Blackmagic Design folder and rename the DaVinci Resolve folder to DaVinci Resolve.old

Go to the /Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design folder and rename the DaVinci Resolve folder to DaVinci Resolve.old

Go to the /Users/randallp/Library/Preferences/Blackmagic Design folder and rename the DaVinci Resolve folder to DaVinci Resolve.old

Go to the /Users/randallp/Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design folder and rename the DaVinci Resolve folder to DaVinci Resolve.old

Now reinstall Resolve 16.2.2 and launch it.

You should see the onboarding video. Watch or skip that, and then go through the Quick Setup process.

Now is Resolve running? If not, please send another log.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

gracelandwest

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 4:11 pm
  • Real Name: Randy Girdner

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostFri May 22, 2020 2:07 pm

Hooray! It worked!

Thank you so much Dwaine. I have attached the logs here just in case you need them. This was similar to the last clean install, so I can only guess that I might have missed something in the process? Either way, thank you very much!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1c37WcT ... sp=sharing
--16.2.2
--MacOS 10.15.4
--2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
--64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
--Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
--C: drive.
Offline
User avatar

UserOS

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 9:45 pm
  • Real Name: Oleg Shtyk

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostFri May 22, 2020 3:59 pm

I have the same problem. Upon startup, freezes at this point.

Image

Windows 10 1909 x64
I7-7700K
DDR3 - 32Gb
GTX 1080 Ti
Thank in advance.
Oleg
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostFri May 22, 2020 6:08 pm

You've been here a while. You should know what we need.

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

This will place a Resolve log file named similar to this on your Windows desktop: DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181228_140434.zip (You may not see the .zip extension if your system is set to hide known extensions).


Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

gracelandwest

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 4:11 pm
  • Real Name: Randy Girdner

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostSat May 23, 2020 1:59 pm

Hi, again!

So, I sat down this afternoon to start working with the program. I loaded some footage and then it crashed on me. After that, the same problem started again, where it would freeze on the loading page, then crash. I haven't been able to open it since I did that.

Here are the logs:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1yQjUIW ... sp=sharing

If you have the time to look, I would appreciate it. I will, at some point, try another clean install again if I hear nothing back. Thanks again!
--16.2.2
--MacOS 10.15.4
--2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
--64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
--Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
--C: drive.
Offline

sandrofidelis

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 10:01 pm
  • Real Name: Sandro Fidelis

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostSun May 24, 2020 10:41 pm

Same problem here Dwaine Maggart, nothing worked (PC Formating, downgrade version)

Can you help me please? I really need this, my YouTube channel are waiting.

Logs here:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1EcXRg ... r9mMP-wSTp

Thank you!
Offline

csbcsb

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:52 pm
  • Real Name: stephen harmon

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostFri May 29, 2020 8:56 pm

And same problem here! Davinci Resolve 15, MBP 16", 2.3 i9, 5500M, 16GB RAM, high performance GPU IS selected. Resolve 15 gets stuck at "Loading Waveform Monitor" every time and won't open. Computer is fully capable of running this software. Phone tech support basically resulted in a shrug of the shoulders. Help?!?!
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostSat May 30, 2020 1:31 am

@Sandro: Your Resolve log was corrupt and incomplete. So that was not helpful to determine what might be happening. I see in the NFO you have uTorrent loading at startup. That's been known to interfere with Resolve in the past. So disable that in Task Manager - Startup tab, reboot and see what happens. If still no good, try to generate another Resolve log. It should create a .zip file.

@Stephen: why are you using Resolve 15? Try the current version. If that's still an issue, we need a Resolve log and a System Report .spx file. Generate the log by opening Finder and navigating to the /Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve folder and running CaptureLogs (assuming you are not using the Apple App Store version of Resolve).
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

csbcsb

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:52 pm
  • Real Name: stephen harmon

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostSat May 30, 2020 2:06 pm

I'm using (or trying to use) Resolve 15 because that is what came with my camera. It was never installed or activated until yesterday..
Offline

csbcsb

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:52 pm
  • Real Name: stephen harmon

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostSat May 30, 2020 2:11 pm

Am I able to install/use Resolve 16 for free or would I have to purchase it? I have no prior experience with this and have only had my Blackmagic camera for a few days.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7899
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Can't Open Davinci Resolve

PostMon Jun 01, 2020 1:49 am

Stephen, if your BMD camera has an activation key then you can install Resolve 16 Studio. If not, you an install the free version of Resolve 16. Upgrades have been free for the last +10 years.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Mees, Black Rooster Pictures, mahbeard, Marc Wielage, Mel Matsuoka, Thom Guida, Wayne Steven and 63 guests