Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

kiloalexander

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 4:54 am
  • Real Name: Kilo Alexander

Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostFri Jun 19, 2020 6:29 am

Anyone else having this issue? it was working fine for me yesterday. today i go to edit a video and it will not get past the "loading fairlight page" when opening. i've uninstalled and installed again, turned off my firewall, excluded it from my anti virus softwear on windows 10. updated my nvidia gtx 1080 graphics card. everything. nothing's working. someone please help.







Microsoft Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview
Version 10.0.20150 Build 20150
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz, 4008 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
Nvidia GTX 1080
Attachments
DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20200618_220229.zip
(94 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8253
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostFri Jun 19, 2020 7:18 am

Resolve 16.2.3?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

kiloalexander

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 4:54 am
  • Real Name: Kilo Alexander

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostFri Jun 19, 2020 7:52 am

yes. i even tried all the 16's and jumped to 15 as well and i'm still getting the hang up at the loading page
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 8483
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostFri Jun 19, 2020 1:50 pm

Offline

rmangual69

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 10:04 pm
  • Real Name: Ricardo R Mangual

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostFri Jun 19, 2020 10:08 pm

This happen to me yesterday and the culprit is the update to the new windows insider build on the fast ring. I updated only one of my PCs to this build and now my Davinci Resolve gets stuck on the Fairlight loading. My other PC is fine. I guess we gonna have to wait for a fix.
Offline

dcazrael

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:08 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Sachdev

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostSat Jun 20, 2020 3:47 pm

Hello,

I noticed you also run the Windows build 20150.

I had exactly the same issue. Because you were the only one with the same build and it happening at the same time, I tried to revert to 19645.

This completely resolved the issue.
20150 does something really odd with the firewall settings and makes resolve act up.
Offline

rmangual69

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 10:04 pm
  • Real Name: Ricardo R Mangual

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostSun Jun 21, 2020 3:02 am

I'm having the same issue. It happened after i installed the latest windows insider build. Before that, never had an issue. Now it gets stuck on the Fairlight loading screen. I see you are also running the same version of windows that i have. I hope this guys can figure out whats causing the problem.
Offline

kiloalexander

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 4:54 am
  • Real Name: Kilo Alexander

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostTue Jun 23, 2020 9:13 pm

Thank you all for replying! i honestly thought i was going crazy trying all the other tips and tricks and not seeing one ounce of movement in the right direction. guess we gotta wait for windows to push out a new update and fix the issue.
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostWed Jun 24, 2020 6:34 am

It stops working after the waveform Monitor sign for me as well.
@Peter Chamberlain
Yes the new DV Resolve 16.2.3
I added the link to the log File.
https://we.tl/t-J9lrcmO7et
Best regards
Albrecht
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 8253
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 5:19 am

Thanks for logs.. devs are reviewing
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Lordmau5

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2019 8:04 pm
  • Real Name: Dustin Hecken

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostMon Jul 06, 2020 9:14 am

I thought I'd chime in saying that I too had this issue on the Windows Insider builds.

However, the most recent build, 20161.1000 (Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.16201.0.0) has fixed this issue and I can now get past the Fairlight loading page.

I wonder - could it be that Resolve is trying to load something on the website? (e.g. newest version to check for an update)

Because I had a similar issue with, believe it or not, VRChat telling me that I don't have a working internet connection (whereas I clearly had) and that was also fixed with this newest Insider build.
The logs for that basically said it was trying to load an API endpoint on their servers and failed, so I thought it might be similar.

Maybe this newest Insider build fixes it for the other users, too :D
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostMon Jul 20, 2020 10:00 pm

Hello
Even with Windows 2004 Things does not seem to change.
The studio version is not loading past the starting screen.
Are there any news from the dev team?
Best regards
Albrecht
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6500
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostTue Jul 21, 2020 12:38 am

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

This will place a Resolve log file named similar to this on your Windows desktop: DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181228_140434.zip (You may not see the .zip extension if your system is set to hide known extensions).


Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostSat Jul 25, 2020 8:08 pm

Hello
I uploaded this already.
https://we.tl/t-67iyXLSTvM

Best regards
Albrecht
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6500
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostMon Jul 27, 2020 5:49 pm

Your current issue appears to be a corrupted PostgreSQL database: skatefilmmalaga

There are a couple of options:

You can edit the dblist.conf file to make a different database the default, so that Resolve will load. And then use the Optimize menu in the Project Manager Database area, to attempt a repair of the database.

Or, you can run pgAdmin III from the Windows PostgreSQL 9.5 Windows menu, and connect to the database and do Maintenance on the database, which would be a Vacuum with the default settings, and then a Reindex. These 2 things are what the Resolve Optimize command does.

The first option may be easier if you don't know how to use pgAmin III.

The dblist.conf file is here on your system:

C:\Users\odl\AppData\Roaming\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Preferences

Make a backup copy of dblist.conf, then open dblist.conf in a text editor, like Notepad.

You'll see this:

Local Database:C\Users\odl\AppData\Roaming\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Support\Resolve Disk Database::::DISK
skatefilmmalaga127.0.0.1:127.0.0.1:postgres*:DaVinci:skatefilmmalaga:QPSQL
test127.0.0.1:127.0.0.1:postgres:DaVinci:test:QPSQL

The db with the * is the default db that Resolve attempts to load at startup.

I would recommend making the Disk db the default, in case there is an issue with both of your PostgreSQL dbs.

To do that, remove the * from the end of postgres and put it here:

Local Database:C\Users\odl\AppData\Roaming\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Support\Resolve Disk Database:*:::DISK

Note that the * goes after the first of the 4 colons.

Save the changes and launch Resolve. If it all went well, Resolve should launch with the Disk db loaded.

In the Resolve Project Manager page, with the Database area selected, right click the skatefilmmalaga db and select Optimize. Make sure you right click, and not left click. If you left click, it will select that db and likely hang.

If, after editing the dblist.conf file, Resolve still won't launch, send another Resolve log file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Daber159

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 5:00 pm
  • Real Name: David Bertman

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostThu Jul 30, 2020 1:49 pm

I've had the same bug when trying to launch Resolve (16.2.3.015) it would hang on the "loading fairlight" part of the splash screen.

First time I did a clean re-install of everything and found that my database (with obvioulsy all my projects) was gone. I have a constant time machine backup so I finally figured out how to bring back the database.

But all loaded properly so I assumed whatever bug there was was fixed in the re-install. Till it happened again. This time I decided to try to re-install just the applications folder from my time machine. It worked.

It just happened again today and I did the same fix.

Im not sure what is getting corrupted, but when I leave Resolve at night (I dont quit, often I tell it to start its render queue as I go off to bed). The next day I come back to the computer and Resolve still on and restart the Mac to give it a nice clean cache. Thats when I discover the issue. So at some point between leaving the computer at night and re-staring the next morning something is getting corrupted in Resolve. (And again, its NOT in any of the preferences or library folder - its in its own folder in the applications, as thats all I need to re-install for the system to work).

Any engineers/programers know what might be happening? I know the Mac does its own internal maintenance at night automatically. Is something messing with Resolve?

Let's Resolve this issue once and for all (OMG. Sorry. I did not just say that!)
Offline

Albiback

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 pm
  • Real Name: Albrecht Bloße

Re: Resolve not loading past the Fairlight page when opening

PostSat Aug 01, 2020 6:23 pm

Hello Dwaine,
thanks a lot.
That solved it.
Best regards
Albrecht

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davo_me, Geert Geerits, Howard Roll, josephzammit, Krishna Pada, Peter Cave and 101 guests