Locating Used Media in Project

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dcolacino

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 10:17 pm
  • Real Name: Don Colacino

Locating Used Media in Project

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 10:56 pm

Resolve has a column in the media list that reports if, or how many times media is used within a project. Is there a way to determine *where* that media is used?

This is a feature I've used extensively in Premiere when someone handed me a horribly disorganized file with unnecessarily duplicated, or poorly named clips. In Premiere when you click on the "Used" column it expands into a hyperlinked list of timeline names that, when clicked, will take you directly to the clip in that timeline. I haven't been able to find anything quite like that in Resolve. Is there a feature like that?
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3690
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Locating Used Media in Project

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 11:11 pm

Right-click a clip in the media pool, and you'll see an option for "usage" towards the bottom, if the clip appears in the currently active timeline. That will show the instances, but only in that one active timeline.

There is no project wide reveal, unfortunately. You can also search for any given clip name in the Edit Index, again by active timeline, but that's not what you want.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6750
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Locating Used Media in Project

PostTue Jun 30, 2020 11:30 pm

John Paines wrote:Right-click a clip in the media pool, and you'll see an option for "usage" towards the bottom, if the clip appears in the currently active timeline. That will show the instances, but only in that one active timeline.

As far as I know, Usage does check all timelines in the entire project but only that particular clip bin that's selected. From the 16.2 manual (p. 286):

In List view, the Usage column does not automatically update to show how many times a particular clip has been used. However, you can manually update this metadata by right-clicking within the Media Pool and choosing Update Usage Data from the contextual menu that appears. Afterwards, each clip will display how many times it’s been used in this column. Clips that have not been used yet display an x.

I'm very careful in splitting out media into specific bins, and I double- and triple-check it before I manually delete it. Since all the timelines in my projects share common bins, I see all the Used media in the project and it works pretty well using the method described above. I just go through a bin at a time, delete what I don't need, and that simplifies dealing with however much media is left.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3690
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Locating Used Media in Project

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 12:18 am

Marc, this is a different "usage". There's the media pool column, which shows the number of uses, to which I think you're referring(?) But if you right-click the actual clip, there's another 'usage' option, which shows the times (in current timeline) for each use, and will navigate to any of them, if you select.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 6750
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Locating Used Media in Project

PostWed Jul 01, 2020 2:09 am

John Paines wrote:Marc, this is a different "usage". There's the media pool column, which shows the number of uses, to which I think you're referring(?) But if you right-click the actual clip, there's another 'usage' option, which shows the times (in current timeline) for each use, and will navigate to any of them, if you select.

I only use the Media Pool usage. To me, that's the whole point: you're trying to de-clutter the project and rid it of any material you don't need. The thread topic does say "Locating Used Media in Project," and that's what this function is for.

Resolve does not duplicate media unless you tell it to do so. For a lot of reasons, when I use Media Management within Resolve, I generally don't trim it partly because I know there are overlaps and there will be cases where the same file might be used 10 times in the project. If I only copy that whole file once, I know it'll be there on the source drive. It also gives us some flexibility in the event shots need to be moved around a bit during final color. I haven't had a project require more than 5-6TB of source files, even when not trimmed, so it works for us and the storage we have. At the very, very end of the project when it's delivered, we'll consider that an "absolute lock" and will archive a trimmed copy with a new XML.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hazchem44, pperquin, studiokanpro, TYKHAN and 81 guests