How to name clips in Timeline so Python can reference them?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

RajneshD

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:08 am
  • Location: Seattle
  • Real Name: Rajnesh Domalpalli

How to name clips in Timeline so Python can reference them?

PostThu Jul 09, 2020 12:06 am

Hello,

I'd like to rename Text Clips in the Timeline with unique names, say, "Title", "Actress 1" etc.
I want to have Python 3 access these Clips and change the value of Title to, say, "King's Table" and Actress 1 to "Mina Lowe" as an example.

I don't see a way to change the name of a clip in the Timeline.
If you know of a better way to do this, do let me know.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards,
Rajnesh
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 1596
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: How to name clips in Timeline so Python can reference th

PostThu Jul 09, 2020 12:43 am

If you run GetName() on Text clips you will see each is called "Rich." The Text+ clips are called "Fusion Title."

The API does not support changing Text clip string content. You can do this programatically by changing text in Fusion Comps.

You can also change Text clip string content by writing directly to the database like I demonstrate about 5 minutes into this video:

www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline
User avatar

RajneshD

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:08 am
  • Location: Seattle
  • Real Name: Rajnesh Domalpalli

Re: How to name clips in Timeline so Python can reference th

PostThu Jul 09, 2020 1:07 am

Thank you, very much, Igor.
I will watch your video and follow.

Best,
Rajnesh
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2728
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: How to name clips in Timeline so Python can reference th

PostThu Jul 09, 2020 4:42 am

While I'm sure Igor means well when suggesting that the database is an option to get this done, we discourage the average user from accessing or modifying a Resolve database (including the disk database) using tools outside of Resolve.

First, the Resolve database structure is designed to prioritise operational aspects - like loading times and speed of live saves - over readability or user-accessibility.

Second, the structure of a Resolve database can differ from version to version, based on the new features being added. This is true even if the changes to the table structures are not always obvious.

This means there is a real risk of irretrievably corrupting your project information even if you are experienced in working with databases.
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 1596
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: How to name clips in Timeline so Python can reference th

PostThu Jul 09, 2020 4:55 am

Yes, I have ruined the PSQL database more than once by modifying it directly.
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], rshilts and 143 guests