Fairlight for Music Prodution

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

tlegvold

Fairlight for Music Prodution

PostFri Aug 07, 2020 1:55 am

My background is in music mastering and audio production, although I've been learning Resolve for the last year or so. Primarily I use Sonic Studio for mastering and Nuendo for multichannel work, mixing, and some of the film/tv work we get in.

I just finished day 4 of BMD's week-long "Fairlight for Audio Post" course with Mary Plummer, a consummate professional and all around wonderful human being. I'm impressed by the system and looking forward to learning more.

Someone else on the course asked, and I wondered the same thing, if there's anyone using Fairlight for audio production, and they were referred to this fine forum. It would be good to hear some of the strengths, weaknesses, pitfalls and tips to get the most out of it.

I would expect that for someone making beats, using multiple software synths and such, or composing in the DAW, Fairlight might not be as an ideal choice as one of many competitors tailored specifically for music production. However for what I do, which is largely acoustic music in surround and immersive formats, where most of the adjustments are subtle, transparent, and involve some EQ, level or reverb and require multi-channel busses, I think Fairlight could be an interesting proposition and improve my workflow. I've seen some YouTube clips of a studio in Spain that uses Fairlight extensively for music production, primarily recording and mixing live players.

I've started this thread as a place to collect and share tips, techniques, caveats and ideas for using Fairlight for audio and music production.

Who's first? 8-)
Desktop: 2019 Mac Pro 16 Core CPU 192GB RAM | AMD Radeon W5700X 16GB | OS X Monterey 12.7
Fairlight Audio Accelerator CC-2 | Audio Interface SX-36 | Audio Editor (FAE) | Studio Console