Moving to a different PC without export

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

supertanno

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:50 pm
  • Real Name: Tanno van de Kamp

Moving to a different PC without export

PostMon Sep 14, 2020 11:53 pm

I was recently on a retreat with my parents and due to my PC not being there, I edited a video on my father's PC and saved everything to my external hard drive. I took the hard drive back home and was unable to locate the project file. After some digging, I found out I was supposed to separately export it as a project file.

My father's PC is quite a distance away, so I can't easily go there, hook the hard drive up to his PC, and export anyway. Is there any way I can continue my project on my own PC, without having done this exporting step?
Offline
User avatar

gtempleman

  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 3:07 pm
  • Real Name: Gary Templeman

Re: Moving to a different PC without export

PostTue Sep 15, 2020 5:30 am

There are any number of remote access programs. I log on to my office computer using Chrome Remote Desktop. Then export the project file and email it to yourself. You may need to hand hold by phone to get it setup on his end.
Microsoft Windows 10 Home x64
Version 2004 build 19041.508
Lenovo Legion Y545
32GB RAM
GTX 1660Ti
Driver version 442.92
Resolve (Studio) 16.2.6.005 release version
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9416
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: Moving to a different PC without export

PostTue Sep 15, 2020 5:20 pm

The project file is stored in the database on your dad's machine. You'll have to get access to that somehow.
Offline

robin0112358

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 12:13 pm
  • Location: Ireland
  • Real Name: Robin Parmar

Re: Moving to a different PC without export

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 5:16 pm

Here's how you copy from source to target computer.

On the source machine, select the project in question, right-click for the context menu, then choose "Export Project Archive". Not any other similar options! You will get a dialogue with these export options: "Optimized Media" and "Render Cache". Uncheck them both.

The result is a folder with DRA extension (meaning "DaVinci Resolve Archives". This contains:
* your project with DRP extension (DaVinci Resolve Project)
* a "Media Files" folder with all your clips, etc.

Copy this folder to your target computer. In Resolve, right-click in the project area and select "Restore Project Archive." Choose the DRA folder. Your project will be loaded.

No, you cannot do this without access to both computers.
Robin Parmar
robinparmar.com | theatreofnoise.com | stolenmirror.com
Offline

JF Robichaud

  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:41 pm

Re: Moving to a different PC without export

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 6:59 pm

robin0112358 wrote:Here's how you copy from source to target computer.

On the source machine, select the project in question, right-click for the context menu, then choose "Export Project Archive".


No need for an archive here. OP already has all the media on his hard drive. The only thing missing is the project. The simplest solution is for his father to start up Resolve and export a DRP file from the Project window (or for OP to do it through a remote connection).
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 2245
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Moving to a different PC without export

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 10:15 pm

i'm with JF...
keep it simple
get on the phone, talk Dad through booting up Resolve and exporting a DRP
simpler than getting remote access set up by a newbie
not to mention that once you have remote access set up you'll be getting calls to remote in and fix what ever's broken now on his machine
don't ask me how i know this.....
Offline

robin0112358

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 12:13 pm
  • Location: Ireland
  • Real Name: Robin Parmar

Re: Moving to a different PC without export

PostMon Sep 21, 2020 9:17 pm

JF Robichaud wrote:No need for an archive here. OP already has all the media on his hard drive. The only thing missing is the project.


You are correct!

I am so used to telligng people to use the Archive option, just to be sure all the content is gathered. In this case that's not necessary.

However, when the project is loaded on the new computer, there will be an additional step to locate all the media that has suddenly gone red. It's easy to do, but the OP should be ready for this necessity.
Robin Parmar
robinparmar.com | theatreofnoise.com | stolenmirror.com

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], pperquin, Trevor Asquerthian and 65 guests