What is the largest media file size that Resolve can handle?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

TonyLewis

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:10 pm
  • Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
  • Real Name: Tony Lewis

What is the largest media file size that Resolve can handle?

PostTue Sep 15, 2020 12:30 am

I have generated a 500+ GB AVI file using my Intensity Pro PCI capture card. I have never worked with a file of that size, and am wondering if Resolve Studio 16.2.6 has an upper limit on the maximum size of a media file that it can import. Or conversely, is the upper limit a function of installed RAM, or other factors?

I would *assume* that Resolve Studio can handle whatever you can throw at it, but after 20 minutes of loading time, it still has not completed the upload, so I am trying to figure out if the program (or my PC) can't handle it, or if it just takes a very long time to load a 500+ GB media file.
I7 @3.6mhz, 32G RAM, W7100 GPU, Intensity Pro 4K capture and display card
Resolve Studio, Fusion Studio, After Effects
Windows 10 Pro x64
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 9416
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostTue Sep 15, 2020 5:37 pm

Upload means to transfer from a local computer to a remote computer over a network, such as the Internet.

You upload to YouTube.

You import into Resolve.

And depending on the factors, it could well take that long to import such a large file.
Offline

jayfro

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 2:37 am
  • Real Name: Jason Frausto

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostTue Sep 15, 2020 6:58 pm

TonyLewis wrote:I have generated a 500+ GB AVI file using my Intensity Pro PCI capture card. I have never worked with a file of that size, and am wondering if Resolve Studio 16.2.6 has an upper limit on the maximum size of a media file that it can import. Or conversely, is the upper limit a function of installed RAM, or other factors?

I would *assume* that Resolve Studio can handle whatever you can throw at it, but after 20 minutes of loading time, it still has not completed the upload, so I am trying to figure out if the program (or my PC) can't handle it, or if it just takes a very long time to load a 500+ GB media file.



I'm not sure what the largest size is but I'm working with long multicam clips in resolve (one is HD prores 1080 that's 90 minutes long, and the other is AVCHD 1080 90 minutes long and Resolve is struggling to edit quickly with these two files in multicam. Popped the same files in Premiere and Final Cut Pro X for comparison, Premiere seems to have no problem and Final Cut was terrible. I even generated optimized media in Resolve and Premiere is still better on the timeline.

I love Resolve, but one of the areas it needs help in is working with larger files sizes with long recordings.
PC Specs
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.6 (Latest)
2020 16 inch Macbook Pro
2.3ghz 8 core processor, 5600m 8gb graphics card, and 64gb of RAM
Resolve 16.2.7
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 842
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostTue Sep 15, 2020 8:38 pm

TonyLewis wrote:I have generated a 500+ GB AVI file using my Intensity Pro PCI capture card. I have never worked with a file of that size, and am wondering if Resolve Studio 16.2.6 has an upper limit on the maximum size of a media file that it can import. Or conversely, is the upper limit a function of installed RAM, or other factors?
I would *assume* that Resolve Studio can handle whatever you can throw at it, but after 20 minutes of loading time, it still has not completed the upload, so I am trying to figure out if the program (or my PC) can't handle it, or if it just takes a very long time to load a 500+ GB media file.


Resolve is more gpu than cpu. I think that your gpu is outdated and the possible cause of your woes.

Ricardo Marty
Resolve 16, Abelton, Focusrite,
Inspiron 5675 1800x 8/16 core, Radeon RX580/8,16 GB ram, 512 sd, 500 Samsung Pro ssd.
Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processort, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6gb, 16gb ram, 512 nvme sd.
Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600.
Offline

danielpanev

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 11:59 am
  • Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
  • Real Name: Daniel Panev

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostTue Sep 15, 2020 8:55 pm

Once by accident I've left my BMPCC4K running on Q0 at 60fps and it has created something like 450 Gb BRAW file. I haven't noticed any difference in Resolve Studio later on compared to MUCH smaller files.
Offline

producerguy

  • Posts: 121
  • Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 1:20 am
  • Real Name: Robert Lane

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostTue Sep 15, 2020 10:08 pm

There's an important factor nobody is addressing here:

AVCHD and AVI type files or not "editing" files, they're a camera codec or container. The difference between the two is one is generated by the camera and is designed for data-efficiency in that particular hardware setup or, in the case of AVI files, for low-computer-power playback on a computer. Neither of them are designed to be "cut" or edited.

The only reason editing software packages can import and talk to non-editing type files is because of pressure that came from the consumer marketplace, not professional editors.

There's a long technical explanation of the differences between camera and editing files, but the short version is that you need to *convert* any non-editing type of file INTO something that is, such as ProRes, M-JPEG, Uncompressed (huge files being replaced by RAW workflows), JPEG2000, Animation etc.

These days the two most commonly used EDIT formats are either ProRes or DNxHD (Avid).

If you try to make any NLE (editor) work a massive single file that's long-GOP based, like AVCHD or AVI it will choke on it - because the software has to re-encode the file WHILE you're editing. You're making Resolve - or anything else work 3-4 times harder than it should and hoard every available resource in the GPU, CPU and RAM to do it.

Convert your files to ProRes or DNxHD and watch how much easier things get.
Offline

herein2020

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 7:14 pm
  • Real Name: Stanley James

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 12:03 am

producerguy wrote:There's an important factor nobody is addressing here:

AVCHD and AVI type files or not "editing" files, they're a camera codec or container. The difference between the two is one is generated by the camera and is designed for data-efficiency in that particular hardware setup or, in the case of AVI files, for low-computer-power playback on a computer. Neither of them are designed to be "cut" or edited.

The only reason editing software packages can import and talk to non-editing type files is because of pressure that came from the consumer marketplace, not professional editors.

There's a long technical explanation of the differences between camera and editing files, but the short version is that you need to *convert* any non-editing type of file INTO something that is, such as ProRes, M-JPEG, Uncompressed (huge files being replaced by RAW workflows), JPEG2000, Animation etc.

These days the two most commonly used EDIT formats are either ProRes or DNxHD (Avid).

If you try to make any NLE (editor) work a massive single file that's long-GOP based, like AVCHD or AVI it will choke on it - because the software has to re-encode the file WHILE you're editing. You're making Resolve - or anything else work 3-4 times harder than it should and hoard every available resource in the GPU, CPU and RAM to do it.

Convert your files to ProRes or DNxHD and watch how much easier things get.


I get what you are saying (and a little off topic) and I agree with you but I don't get why after generating optimized media Resolve still stutters over simple editing even on my system. Generating optimized media should do exactly what you described yet I have problems all the time in DR even after generating optimized media (DNxHR HQ). I am sure it works fine with native RAW files but I always feel like it doesn't work as well with anything else even after generating optimized media.
Software: Windows 10 2004, DR 16.2.5.015 Studio
Hardware: HP Z4, Core i9 14 Cores@3.10GHz, 64GB of RAM, RTX 2080TI, NVME OS Drive, NVME RAID Array, SSD Cache Drive, 100TB Archive Storage
Typical Media: 4K@60FPS 8 Bit Long GOP, 4K 30FPS 8 bit Long GOP
Offline

producerguy

  • Posts: 121
  • Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 1:20 am
  • Real Name: Robert Lane

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 4:43 am

Keep in mind "optimized media" is simply the "cache" files Resolve creates to help playback non-editing type files or, if you don't have enough system resources to playback all the streams you have in your timeline.

It will never playback as smoothly as real, transcoded footage for the same aforementioned reasons: Everytime you make ANY change, Resolve has to then re-render new optimized files. So you're still making the software work harder than it should.

Refer to my previous post and convert your files into edit files and keep your NLE from doing unnecessary heavy-lifting.
Offline

JF Robichaud

  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:41 pm

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 1:44 pm

producerguy wrote:Keep in mind "optimized media" is simply the "cache" files Resolve creates to help playback non-editing type files or, if you don't have enough system resources to playback all the streams you have in your timeline.

It will never playback as smoothly as real, transcoded footage for the same aforementioned reasons: Everytime you make ANY change, Resolve has to then re-render new optimized files. So you're still making the software work harder than it should.

Refer to my previous post and convert your files into edit files and keep your NLE from doing unnecessary heavy-lifting.


Optimized media is "real, transcoded footage". If you choose to generate optimized media for your media pool, it will transcode full Prores or DNxHR clips from these (based on your project settings). Optimized Media does not get re-rendered when you make changes to your timeline. You are confusing Optimized Media with Render Cache.
Offline

robin0112358

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 12:13 pm
  • Location: Ireland
  • Real Name: Robin Parmar

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 4:46 pm

JF Robichaud wrote:Optimized media is "real, transcoded footage". If you choose to generate optimized media for your media pool, it will transcode full Prores or DNxHR clips from these (based on your project settings). Optimized Media does not get re-rendered when you make changes to your timeline. You are confusing Optimized Media with Render Cache.

Exactly.

herein2020 wrote:I don't get why after generating optimized media Resolve still stutters over simple editing even on my system. Generating optimized media should do exactly what you described yet I have problems all the time in DR even after generating optimized media (DNxHR HQ).


Are you also specifying a smaller size? I generally use Quarter resolution. This makes a huge difference to the optimised media.

If DNxHR HQ is too heavy, try SQ. You really need to experiment to find out what works best for your computer.

EDIT: Wait. Your computer is a power-house compared to mine. You should be having no trouble at all. Bizarre!

Others reading this might benefit from the document DaVinci Resolve Performance Tuning, which can be downloaded from my blog. I also have a tutorial video on performance tuning.
Robin Parmar
robinparmar.com | theatreofnoise.com | stolenmirror.com
Offline
User avatar

TonyLewis

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:10 pm
  • Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
  • Real Name: Tony Lewis

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 6:32 pm

Just to clarify, this is an uncompressed 10 bit YUV file that was generated by an old Intensity Pro PCI card; the input was 720p @ 60 fps for over an hour. Needless to say I am revising my work flow to avoid generation of such large files. Even 5 minutes of capture at this resolution and frame rate generates over 10G of uncompressed files, BUT Resolve Studio on my PC has no problem uploading and transcoding a 10G file into a much much smaller MOV file format.

And can anyone recommend a good "standalone" program to transcode large uncompressed files into a format more suitable for editing?

BTW: unfortunately, the Intensity Pro and 4K cards apparently will lose synchronization between video and audio the longer the capture time is, so by default I will have to break up the capture process into small time durations.

So to revise my original question: can Resolve upload, edit and transcode media files that have file sizes in excess of the RAM available to Resolve on the PC (or Mac)? I do not believe that it can do that, unless it has some sophisticated mechanism to switch back and forth between data in RAM and data on the hard drive (much like the old days of SWAP files).
I7 @3.6mhz, 32G RAM, W7100 GPU, Intensity Pro 4K capture and display card
Resolve Studio, Fusion Studio, After Effects
Windows 10 Pro x64
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1134
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostWed Sep 16, 2020 8:13 pm

Resolve does not load full files into ram, this would fill ram up very fast on even the simplest timelines. Decoders give single frames on request.
I do stuff.
Offline
User avatar

TonyLewis

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:10 pm
  • Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
  • Real Name: Tony Lewis

Re: What is the largest media file size that Resolve can han

PostThu Sep 17, 2020 12:19 am

That is interesting, you are apparently correct. I generated a 35 GB file, which loaded, edited, and transcoded just fine on my 32 GB machine.
I7 @3.6mhz, 32G RAM, W7100 GPU, Intensity Pro 4K capture and display card
Resolve Studio, Fusion Studio, After Effects
Windows 10 Pro x64

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: An_Angry_Donkey_, Baidu [Spider], bebertii, bobzer, cobra427, Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 68 guests