Page 1 of 1

Will AMD and Tesla GPUs co-exist in a Linux editing rig?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 6:38 am
by Pixelslayer
I have a Fedora 32 workstation with an AMD Vega 56 GPU. Despite several attempts to get DaVinci Resolve to play nice with the Vega, I can't get Resolve to start. Instead of beating my head against a brick wall, would it be possible to drop in a Nvidia GPU for strictly compute/NVENC/Cuda purposes? I've seen some old Teslas on eBay selling for dirt cheap, so that seems like it would be a good alternative to buying a new RTX 3080.

Am I barking up the wrong tree? Would these two wildly different GPUs be able to operate in the same system?

Re: Will AMD and Tesla GPUs co-exist in a Linux editing rig?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2020 1:32 pm
by kobayashi
Hi,
I've read on reddit of a linux user that was able to get a similar solution to work, using optimus (optirun)
I'm pretty sure it was an Nvidia desktop-class card though, not a Tesla.
While if you have time and patience might be a fun project, I think it will not be worth the hassle.
Also, some things that comes to mind to consider:
You'll need a custom cooling solution, Teslas comes with no fan and relies on chassis airflow
Pcie lanes number on the motherboard
Power consumption
maybe other things...

Users are reporting here Resolve working (almost) fine on deb based systems with the AMD proprietary driver

Things I'd suggest to try:
a fresh install of Centos on a separate drive to test the amdgpu-pro on the officially supported platform, so you can send log captures an reports to the dev team

roll back some Resolve version, I remember things for AMD (had a vega56) started being funny from 16.1 and up

as a last resort switch to the green side for the display gpu, if you still want to try a Tesla in your workstation.

Re: Will AMD and Tesla GPUs co-exist in a Linux editing rig?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:45 pm
by Pixelslayer
I actually got this working, but unfortunately could not get DaVinci Resolve to install properly. So I can record with OBS on an AMD GPU and actually select the NVENC encoder. Maybe Resolve doesn't like having two separate vendors in one PC? So I'm forced to use kdenlive on Linux, which isn't bad, just rather basic.

Thanks for your thoughts...