Page 1 of 1

[Question] Timeline behaviour audio video track

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:57 am
by Fanjan
I don't know how to describe this is an elevator pitch if you will, so I include a screen recording.

When I lock an audio track, and I drag a new clip onto the timeline, why is it, and I ask why assuming it is because "you didn't uncheck {enter function description here} function in settings", why is it that the video track linked numerically is also then "locked" in a sense? A clip without audio seemingly has no issue, however a clip with audio, doesn't respond too well.

This isn't a huge issue, I just find it annoying, and as stated, possibly just due to ignorance either in software behavior, or editing workflow etiquette.

In the screen recording you will see that I try and pull the video track down into V1 however it isn't allowed. I then unlock A1 & A2, this allows me to drag the clip on to V1, however I don't want this to happen this way. I want to keep A1 & A2 locked, than simply drag the clip onto V1 and let the audio fall where it may, in this case it'll fall onto A3.

My workaround for this, and possibly better editing setup will be to put my music tracks onto A6 & A7 for example, and simply pull clips onto V1 through V5, however, IF I do need additional V tracks, I'll likely run into the same issue, only now with V6 and V7 since the locking of A6 & A7 is somehow linked.

Thank you for the advice.

P.S. This is Resolve Studio 16.2.2.012.

Re: [QUESTION] Timeline behaviour audio video track

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:47 pm
by Charles Bennett
When moving V3 down to V1 the audio would go onto A1. With A1 locked that can't happen. Unless you unlink them (the highlighted chain symbol in the tools) then you could move the video to V1 with its audio staying on A3. With them linked the video and its associated audio behave as one.

Re: [QUESTION] Timeline behaviour audio video track

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 3:16 pm
by Jim Simon
Fanjan wrote:possibly just due to ignorance either in software behavior


BMD has given us a way to solve that below. I recommend going through the books/lessons. They're a great learning resource. ;)

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... e/training

Re: [QUESTION] Timeline behaviour audio video track

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 1:55 pm
by Sam Steti
Hey;
Just unlink the clips, which basically means you can move A and V independently... You can do this as Charles wrote or right click any clip and go down below to untick "link clips"