Page 1 of 1

Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 1:42 pm
by smslavin
I'm working on getting more proficient in Resolve after years behind FCPX. For awhile, I hadn't used it for anything but a braw conversion tool but, I shot some interviews last week which I thought would be a good starter project.

I'm having some issues with a multicam edit that I cannot quite figure out. I can create and edit the multicam clip without issue. My problem is that I can't seem to figure out how to turn off the camera audio and use my external recorder audio. In FCPX, I can do this through the audio configuration for the multicam clip by unchecking the cameras.

audio.png
audio.png (72.55 KiB) Viewed 478 times


Does Resolve have a similar configuration hiding somewhere? All of the Resolve multicam references I've dug up do not talk about this. I'm sure it's right in front of me but, I'm just not seeing it.

Any pointers/tips would be appreciated.

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:36 pm
by Ognjen Mihovilić
There is an option only in Media tab to append your external audio tracks to one of your video clips and than you can use it in timeline.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 3:20 pm
by Jim Simon
I think the best work flow is to leave usable audio out of Multicam clips. Much easier to mix in Fairlight down stream.

Add your Multicam to the timline, mute it's audio and manually sync the usable audio clip underneath.

Then vote for the following to make the process easier.

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=96353

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:34 pm
by smslavin
Ognjen Mihovilić wrote:There is an option only in Media tab to append your external audio tracks to one of your video clips and than you can use it in timeline.


Thanks. I'll dig around and see if I can find that.

Jim Simon wrote:I think the best work flow is to leave usable audio out of Multicam clips. Much easier to mix in Fairlight down stream.

Add your Multicam to the timeline, mute it's audio and manually sync the usable audio clip underneath.


That seems to defeat the purpose of having multicam editing. If the cameras and recorder are all using timecode, why would I leave the audio out of the multicam clip?

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:41 pm
by Ognjen Mihovilić
The thing is that you will find it easier to edit audio later if you have it outside of multicam. But you can create mc with appended audio and decompose audio when you place MC clip on timeline before you start cuttingz. You leave the video in mc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:43 pm
by fiveshorts
Yes. Resolve’s multicam is still arcane compared to FCPX, which is quite ironic considering Apple got so much flak for releasing X without it.. (and rightly so).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:47 pm
by Ognjen Mihovilić
It’s getting there. Still missing multicam sequence creation but there are workarounds.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:41 pm
by Jim Simon
smslavin wrote:That seems to defeat the purpose of having multicam editing.

Multicam is a great way to cut picture.

But it's easier to mix sound when it's left out of the Multicam.

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:43 pm
by fiveshorts
Teach us.
Multicam, almost by definition, is based on synced, single sound.
Can you explain what you mean, please?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:47 pm
by Jim Simon
1. Create the Multicam using only camera media.
2. Add the Multicam to a timeline.
3. Add the usable sound under the multicam.
4. Sync manually.
5. Vote for the following to make this easier.

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=96353

6. Mute the Multicam.
7. Cut the Multicam picture.
8. When you get to sound in Fairlight, it's all in the main timeline. No need to go into the Multicam.

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:49 pm
by fiveshorts
Makes sense.
So what we need is a different “class” of sync called something like “multicam group” or “multicam Audio sync”

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:04 pm
by Michael_Andreas
That was "usable audio". Which to me would be the audio delivered in the final product. Timecode is not delivered; it's a tool used to create the delivery.

Camera audio is often not of very good quality, and audio for final delivery is recorded separately. Assuming that's what you did, then edit the video part of your multicam and sync up the good audio separately.

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:02 pm
by smslavin
Thanks for all the input. Much appreciated. I did go back and create a new multicam clip without the externally recorded audio. I synced it manually after cutting the clip. Not something I'm used to so, I definitely need practice. I have another dozen interviews to do over the next few weeks which will give me plenty of practice.

Now, off to learn Fairlight...

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:08 pm
by Jim Simon

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:18 pm
by ChipKng
smslavin wrote:Thanks for all the input. Much appreciated. I did go back and create a new multicam clip without the externally recorded audio. I synced it manually after cutting the clip. Not something I'm used to so, I definitely need practice. I have another dozen interviews to do over the next few weeks which will give me plenty of practice.

Now, off to learn Fairlight...



You don't need to sync manually. Just simply select the audio track on your timeline, open up context menu and use "Switch multicam clip angle" and select the Angle of your audio track. Ta-dam!

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:21 pm
by Jim Simon
Leaving usable audio in the Multicam creates problems later on when mixing in Fairlight Csaba. It's better to work with the usable audio outside of the Multicam.

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:33 pm
by smslavin
Jim Simon wrote:https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/davinciresolve/training


Already there. Thanks.

ChipKng wrote:You don't need to sync manually. Just simply select the audio track on your timeline, open up context menu and use "Switch multicam clip angle" and select the Angle of your audio track. Ta-dam!


I'm assuming that only works if I've put the external audio into the multicam clip. In my current case, I have not done that. I added it to the timeline after creating the multicam clip.

So, now I'm confused on the best practice.

Jim Simon wrote:Leaving usable audio in the Multicam creates problems later on when mixing in Fairlight Csaba. It's better to work with the usable audio outside of the Multicam.


What problems could be created?

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:36 pm
by Jim Simon
For starters, you have to go into the Multicam timeline to get at the original audio. That's...less than ideal.

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:43 pm
by ChipKng
smslavin wrote:I'm assuming that only works if I've put the external audio into the multicam clip. In my current case, I have not done that. I added it to the timeline after creating the multicam clip.


Yes, always add it to the multicam clip, makes your life easier. ;)

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:44 pm
by Jim Simon
It actually makes things more difficult when mixing in Fairlight, Csaba.

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 4:48 pm
by fiveshorts
Once the useable audio is synced to the multicam clip, and the clip is edited, then they can all be linked to keep them as a unit, but still open at the Fairlight stage.

Fairlight is not something us FCPX users are used to...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Multicam audio configuration?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 6:09 pm
by MrHotter
You can still use multicam to sync up your usable audio. Once you have the muticam created you can right click the multicam and 'open in timeline'. Then you can cut the audio you want in your final mix out of the multicam and then when you go back to your multicam timeline you can paste the audio you want to edit in Fairlight under the multicam clip. The audio should already be synced up as long as your first audio is lined up with the first video clip.

By cutting the extra audio clips out of the multicam timeline you end up with fewer angles when viewing your multicam.