Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Scott Leckie

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 7:51 pm
  • Real Name: Scott Leckie

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostTue Feb 02, 2021 6:28 pm

Milk and Coffee wrote:If i download Beta 17, will the software "check for updates" and alert me when the official release is available?

Yes

Milk and Coffee wrote:Is it possible to have Resolve 16 AND 17 on the same machine (macOS Big Sur)?

No (or certainly, not very easily)
Offline

Milk and Coffee

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Devon Stanczyk

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostThu Feb 04, 2021 6:55 pm

Thank you!

Also, does anyone know if "Use Mac Display Color Profiles for Viewers" is/will be compatible with custom calibrated Mac display profiles in Beta 17?
Offline

LQMA777

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 5:02 am
  • Real Name: Lin Que Ayoung

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostFri Feb 05, 2021 4:42 pm

I just preordered/purchased DaVinci Resolve 17 Studio. I am currently using DaVinci Resolve 16 Free Download version.

1. Am I able to upgrade from DaVinci Resolve 16 Free Version to DaVinci Resolve 17 Beta version without having my activation card?
2. If I can upgrade, can I work on a project in the Beta version and then seamlessly work on the same project once DaVinci Resolve 17 Studio Version is released?

Thanks in advance!

LQ
Offline

Scott Leckie

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 7:51 pm
  • Real Name: Scott Leckie

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostSat Feb 06, 2021 9:48 pm

LQMA777 wrote:I just preordered/purchased DaVinci Resolve 17 Studio. I am currently using DaVinci Resolve 16 Free Download version.

1. Am I able to upgrade from DaVinci Resolve 16 Free Version to DaVinci Resolve 17 Beta version without having my activation card?

Not entirely sure I understand the question. You can absolutely upgrade from 16 Free to 17 Beta Free, but you can't install the Studio (paid for) version without the activation key.

There is no beta / free trial of the Studio version so you'll need to stick with the free version (16 or 17) until you get your key.

LQMA777 wrote:2. If I can upgrade, can I work on a project in the Beta version and then seamlessly work on the same project once DaVinci Resolve 17 Studio Version is released?

Thanks in advance!

LQ


Almost certainly, however there are no guarantees with the beta version.
If it's a hobby project (like mine) then I wouldn't be concerned at all - just use the beta, save often, and upgrade when the full version is released.

If it's a professional job, though, you probably should avoid the beta versions.
Offline

LQMA777

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 5:02 am
  • Real Name: Lin Que Ayoung

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostSun Feb 07, 2021 4:47 pm

Thank you so much, Scott!
Online

robwuijster

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 2:37 pm
  • Real Name: Rob Wuijster

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostFri Feb 26, 2021 2:06 pm

Hi,

Still a bit unsure about the upgrading process.....

I have the latest Resolve Studio 16 build running, with a handful of small projects.

- I made a backup of the databases and exported all projects to be safe. That part is clear from the manuals.
- Can I install v17 Studio over the existing installation, or is it better to remove v16 first?
- If the second, what happens to the existing user settings etc. Will they be deleted as well?

Cheers for any answers to make this all clear. ;)

rob
Offline

sophiac

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2021 6:11 pm
  • Real Name: Sophia Carter

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostFri Feb 26, 2021 6:16 pm

Im guessing that if you didn't back up your data base from 16, and then upgrade, you cant revive your old projects?
Offline

sophiac

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2021 6:11 pm
  • Real Name: Sophia Carter

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostFri Feb 26, 2021 6:30 pm

Tom Early wrote:...back up your current database!

Better still, create a new database just for the Resolve 17 Beta, AND backup your old one anyway.

It looks like a great new release, but it's still a beta so anything can happen, and I've certainly seen multiple forum posts in the past about people who either had database corruption or didn't like the stability of the new software but couldn't roll back because they didn't do a backup.

Do yourselves a favour and avoid that this time around.


Im presuming that if you upgraded from 16 to 17 without backing up your database you loose all projects that where on resolve 16?
I use the free version and upgraded to 17 because I got a pop up telling me to, so I did and now when I load Resolve up I get this (see attached). And I don't know what to do.
Attachments
asdfgh.PNG
asdfgh.PNG (32.82 KiB) Viewed 2592 times
Offline
User avatar

robertmanningjr

  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:24 am
  • Location: New York City

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostSat Feb 27, 2021 5:13 am

Back up your database before upgrading. Uninstall Resolve 17 and install 16 again. Backup your database and then upgrade to 17 just in case you have to go back to 16.

Note: I have several backups of my databases and I'm still having problems, so be wary.

sophiac wrote:
Tom Early wrote:...back up your current database!

Better still, create a new database just for the Resolve 17 Beta, AND backup your old one anyway.

It looks like a great new release, but it's still a beta so anything can happen, and I've certainly seen multiple forum posts in the past about people who either had database corruption or didn't like the stability of the new software but couldn't roll back because they didn't do a backup.

Do yourselves a favour and avoid that this time around.


Im presuming that if you upgraded from 16 to 17 without backing up your database you loose all projects that where on resolve 16?
I use the free version and upgraded to 17 because I got a pop up telling me to, so I did and now when I load Resolve up I get this (see attached). And I don't know what to do.
Rob

AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16-Core
128GB DDR4 RAM
NVIDIA GTX 1080 8GB
Windows 10 Pro
Davinci Resolve 17 Studio

MacBook Pro
Apple M1, 2020
Memory 16GB
1TB SSD
Offline
User avatar

robertmanningjr

  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:24 am
  • Location: New York City

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostSat Feb 27, 2021 5:18 am

I need some database help:

I have back ups of all three databases I use. Several backups in different places. Two of the backups show up when I restore them. One does not. The folder is created with all the files and projects on the hard disk, BUT I cannot see those projects in the Davinci Resolve Studio Pane.

Note: The two projects that restored in Davinci Resolve Studio were not password protected. The one that is not being seen in Resolve is password protected.

I have just moved systems from Mac to PC and any help is appreciated.

Rob

Old system is in my signature
New system: Windows 10 Pro, 16 core Ryzen CPU 3950X, 128GB DDR4 RAM, NVIDIA GTX 1080 8GB GPU
Rob

AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16-Core
128GB DDR4 RAM
NVIDIA GTX 1080 8GB
Windows 10 Pro
Davinci Resolve 17 Studio

MacBook Pro
Apple M1, 2020
Memory 16GB
1TB SSD
Offline

cmoore55

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2021 4:06 pm
  • Real Name: Clayton Moore

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostSun Feb 28, 2021 5:01 pm

The issue with my original Dongle and my M1 was finally fixed but with Resolve 17 gold master, final version, its broken again.

I'm thinking it may be time to just get a new retail version with a number or maybe its time to buy a piece of hardware I need for this year that comes with a license.

Sigh...
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 10003
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostMon Mar 01, 2021 2:51 am

cmoore55 wrote:The issue with my original Dongle and my M1 was finally fixed but with Resolve 17 gold master, final version, its broken again.

I'm thinking it may be time to just get a new retail version with a number or maybe its time to buy a piece of hardware I need for this year that comes with a license.

Sigh...


Clayton, 17.1 is needed for M1 and that hasn't GM'ed yet. Just wait a few more days.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

ClaytonMoore

  • Posts: 145
  • Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostMon Mar 01, 2021 3:02 am

Great Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Leslie Wand

  • Posts: 498
  • Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 5:56 am
  • Location: rural nsw, australia

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostTue Mar 02, 2021 1:18 am

sorry if this has already been brought up, but a search revealed nothing...

Pre-Installation Note
For those using DaVinci Resolve or DaVinci Resolve Studio on Windows, we strongly recommend uninstalling previous versions prior to installing 17 Public Beta 5 and higher versions.


coming from 16.

does this mean i will have to reinstall all my plugins, databases, etc.,?

previously simply installing upgrades over existing installations left everything intact. i'm in the middle of a large, though not terribly complex project (and can afford the time) to try 17, but would like to do so without any hassle ;-)

please advise
www.lesliewand.com.au
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1590
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostTue Mar 02, 2021 2:06 am

As always, backing up your databases before upgrding Resolve versions is recommended. There are multiple ways of doing so, but the simplest is from the top toolbar buttons in the project manager's database section. Just as a safety measure if you'd like to go back a version.

Please do take a look at minimum requirements - specifically CUDA support and minimum driver versions - since these have changed between 16 and 17. Make sure you have the appropriate drivers clean-installed (e.g for Nvidia, the installer offers a custom installation option for clean driver installation). For laptops, you may want to upgrade your integrated Intel graphics driver too.

Then just extract the v17 installer from the zip file and install Resolve. Your databaseswill be restored (edit: I meant can be upgraded) and you can continue work.

Plugins and effects need not be reinstalled.

Regards
Shrinivas

(edited)
Last edited by Shrinivas Ramani on Tue Mar 02, 2021 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Leslie Wand

  • Posts: 498
  • Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 5:56 am
  • Location: rural nsw, australia

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostTue Mar 02, 2021 4:52 am

thanks shrinivas, much appreciated.
www.lesliewand.com.au
Offline

Whidog

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 3:16 pm
  • Real Name: Matthew Johnston

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostTue Mar 02, 2021 3:26 pm

Hello all, I'm new to Davinci and I just upgraded to 17 after being prompted to, thinking nothing of it. I had no idea that my current project may have been jeopardized. At first the app wouldn't open at all, just now I was able to get it to open but I can't find my projects. Can anyone help me figure out how to uninstall the update and back up my stuff before redownloading?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7882
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostTue Mar 02, 2021 7:02 pm

Mac or Windows?

After 17 was installed and you launched it the first time, it should have asked if you want to Upgrade the database. Did you do that? Hopefully not. You want to make a backup of the Resolve 16 database before allowing it to be upgraded. Once it's been upgraded to the 17 format, you can't go back to 16 with the existing projects, unless you made a database backup first.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Whidog

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2021 3:16 pm
  • Real Name: Matthew Johnston

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostTue Mar 02, 2021 8:38 pm

I'm on Windows. Yep, I saw the warning and I did not upgrade the database. I saw the option in the top-left corner to create a backup and I did that, so there's now a folder called Resolve Projects on my desktop. I just dug thru some of the files and I saw the name of my project in that folder so I think it's all in there somewhere! I just want to make sure the backup I just made is still with 16 (even though 17 is downloaded, I didn't upgrade the database yet so does that mean I'm still okay?) And then I guess I can just uninstall the update somehow and get back to work...?

Sorry if these are silly questions!
Offline

Barbara Mackenzie

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2021 7:54 pm
  • Real Name: Barbara Mackenzie

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostTue Mar 02, 2021 10:48 pm

I am a noobie (PC/Free version) that messed up I think. I upgraded to 17 just now and deleted 16. Now I go to open it and it's asking me to save the database... have I trashed that now? Have no clue what to do.

I'm getting this alert, "Local Database" database is ungradeable / Incompatable (ungradable) database <16.0.0.009>, application requires <17.0.0.001>" so am afraid to [Upgrade Database] before I can be certain about backing up.

Is the database kept in the program folder? Is it too late?

Scared & Confused lol
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8663
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostWed Mar 03, 2021 2:11 am

Milk and Coffee wrote:If i download Beta 17, will the software "check for updates" and alert me when the official release is available? Is it possible to have Resolve 16 AND 17 on the same machine (macOS Big Sur)?


17 is not beta anymore.

in short, no, you cannot have 16 and 17 in the same machine at the same time. (there are workarounds)
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8663
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostWed Mar 03, 2021 2:12 am

Barbara Mackenzie wrote:I am a noobie (PC/Free version) that messed up I think. I upgraded to 17 just now and deleted 16. Now I go to open it and it's asking me to save the database... have I trashed that now? Have no clue what to do.

I'm getting this alert, "Local Database" database is ungradeable / Incompatable (ungradable) database <16.0.0.009>, application requires <17.0.0.001>" so am afraid to [Upgrade Database] before I can be certain about backing up.

Is the database kept in the program folder? Is it too late?

Scared & Confused lol


if ytou have installed 17 it will ask to upgrade the datrrabese.

BACKUP the database then upgrade it
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7882
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostWed Mar 03, 2021 3:18 am

If you want to be really safe, don't upgrade the existing database (unless you need projects out of it). Just create a new database for Resolve 17.

And if there are any projects you need out of the 16 database, you should have had Project Export .drps of those, for safety. And if you had those, you could import those into a new 17 database.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8663
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostWed Mar 03, 2021 8:42 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:If you want to be really safe, don't upgrade the existing database (unless you need projects out of it). Just create a new database for Resolve 17.

And if there are any projects you need out of the 16 database, you should have had Project Export .drps of those, for safety. And if you had those, you could import those into a new 17 database.


1) open with 16
2) backup the database
3) restore the database back into the resolve and name it [database_name]_17
4) upgrade to 17
5) upgrade the newly created database....
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Peter Müller

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:22 pm

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostFri Mar 05, 2021 12:43 pm

I upgraded to Resolve 17 and my render speed is now only 50% what I used to be.

Anyone else experiencing this?
Offline

benroper

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 2:53 pm
  • Real Name: Ben Roper

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostSat Mar 06, 2021 3:46 pm

I have crippling GPU Memory Full errors on the same projects that worked fine with 16. Any idea when/if this will be fixed?
Offline

JCFP 3000

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:28 am
  • Real Name: Jake Campos

BEWARE! App Store auto upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostFri Mar 19, 2021 7:43 pm

Heads up all- the App Store will show you there's an update to DVR Studio, but not note it as a full version upgrade. I thought it was an incremental version 16 update, but, to my growing horror, it's a one-way update to v17. If v17 opened my most recent project, and everything worked, I'd be only a little bothered by this. Instead, I get the attached error message and the program quits. I've tried every uninstall and reinstall I can think of, CleanMyMac offers, and that BMD support have offered. NO luck. And since I got it from the App Store, and they can blame/send me to BMD support, and BMD support does the same back, I've got no way to go back to version 16. I've sent my purchase receipt to BMD support and asked them if they can give me a v16 activation code, but no response.

Just losing time and money here, massively disappointed.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2021-03-16 at 12.53.06 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-03-16 at 12.53.06 PM.png (79.25 KiB) Viewed 1847 times
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7882
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostFri Mar 19, 2021 9:31 pm

Apple App Store updates are one way, as the App Store has no way to revert to earlier versions. Another reason to use the BMD version. Then you have access to all older versions and beta versions, if desired.

Going forward, and for anyone else using App Store Resolve, you CAN make a copy of the DaVinci Resolve or DaVinci Resolve Studio.app file in the Applications folder and name that copy with the version number.

Then when you allow the App Store to update Resolve, you can launch the copy of the previous version if needed.

The error message looks like it's displaying Unicode characters. Is your system set up for English, or some other language?

Another App Store issue is that we have no easy way to get log and config info from Resolve if it doesn't launch. Due to App Store sandbox constraints, we can't have a CaptureLogs app, as we do on non-App Store Resolve.

For App Store Resolve Studio, the log files are in this location:

/Users/xxxx/Library/Containers/com.blackmagic-design.DaVinciResolveAppStore/Data/Library/Application Support/logs where xxxx is your User name.

The config files are in this location:

/Users/xxxx/Library/Containers/com.blackmagic-design.DaVinciResolveAppStore/Data/Library/Preferences where xxxx is your User name.

If you wish, go to each of those folders, and zip all files in each folder, i.e. in the logs folder zip all the files to a logs.zip file, and in the Preferences folder and zip all the files into a preferences.zip file. Then provide the files here and we can take a look and perhaps see what the issue is.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

MarcusWolschon

  • Posts: 758
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostFri Mar 19, 2021 11:07 pm

English would be UTF-8 too.

\U201C is LEFT DOUBLE QUOTATION MARK
Offline

klausgraumann

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2021 12:05 pm
  • Real Name: Klaus Graumann

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 12:10 pm

I tried upgrading from 16 to 17 twice, did backups etc. The projects are imported, but in 17, non of the clips play as video although the metadata are read correctly.
When I reverted to 16, everything is fine again.
What am I missing?
Offline

vansloot

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 2:30 am
  • Real Name: Robert Cass

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 1:09 pm

Hello. I have to admit that I'm new to posting on these forums, but I've been reading them ever since I started using Resolve about a year ago.

If you'll pardon me I'll be brief because I'm frustrated. I apologize that I won't be up to all the normal small talk. :)
Dwaine Maggart wrote:App Store updates are one way, as the App Store has no way to revert to earlier versions. Another reason to use the BMD version. Then you have access to all older versions and beta versions, if desired.
I guess "app store" is Apple or Android or something? I'm on PC so hopefully it doesn't matter as I downloaded my Resolve 16.x from BMR (I think).

Dwaine Maggart said that if one uses the BMR version they"...have access to all older versions and beta versions, if desired." Another poster mentioned I accidentally upgrading to Resolve 17 thinking it was only an incremental Resolve 16.x update. That's what happened to me, too. I'm having trouble with the Resolve 17 interface and GUI. I would like to revert back to the Resolves 16.x* version I was using before.

Could you tell me where I can find the older version download links?



*I'm not sure of the exact version, presumably the last 16.x version or close to it.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7882
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostFri Apr 09, 2021 3:12 am

(Almost) all of the Resolve versions back to 10.1.5 are on the DaVinci Resolve Support page on the BMD web site:

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... and-fusion

Note that both the free versions and Studio versions are there. Make sure you select the proper one to download. The free versions are just labeled DaVinci Resolve. The paid Studio versions are labeled DaVinci Resolve Studio.

App Store version mean the Apple App Store. Not applicable to Windows users.

On Windows, to revert to an older Resolve version, you must first uninstall the current version. Do that in the Windows Control Panel Programs and Features panel. Right click DaVinci Resolve in the Programs and Features control panel, and select Uninstall.

Then you can run the installer for the older version.

Do note that projects created in Resolve 17 can not be used in Resolve 16.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

vansloot

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 2:30 am
  • Real Name: Robert Cass

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostSun Apr 11, 2021 6:59 am

Thanks. I'm on phone so can't type more. Thanks.
Offline

klausgraumann

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2021 12:05 pm
  • Real Name: Klaus Graumann

Re: Before upgrading to Resolve 17...

PostMon Apr 12, 2021 4:49 pm

I read in other forums that other people have the same "no video" problem when upgrading to 17.


klausgraumann wrote:I tried upgrading from 16 to 17 twice, did backups etc. The projects are imported, but in 17, non of the clips play as video although the metadata are read correctly.
When I reverted to 16, everything is fine again.
What am I missing?
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AndrewKeil, Andy Evans, blackfire920, deezid, Dieter Scheel, Google [Bot], robwuijster, saszmidt, Sergey Mirontsev, StudijaLauska and 98 guests