Encoder plugin packs

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9312
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Encoder plugin packs

PostMon Nov 09, 2020 8:59 pm

Hello all, we want to let you know about a new feature in v17 that allows companies to offer a plugin pack for additional and optimized render formats.

The first company to offer this is MainConcept who have a Codec Plugin which offers DaVinci Resolve Studio users the ability to directly export a number of codec types like AS-11 UK DPP SD or HD compliant content, or rendered into HEVC in up to 8K resolution. With the plugin, projects can be rendered into professional broadcast camcorder formats, allowing exported video to remain in the original recording format.

Visit mainconcept.com/bmd-beta to see how it integrates into the Blackmagic Design DaVinci Resolve timeline and sign up for the free beta, available for Windows, macOS, and Linux.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 2040
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostMon Nov 09, 2020 9:20 pm

Is there also a way to allow for decoder plugins? I'd love to use the cut page to cut out all commercials from my DVR recordings, but the format it was recorded in isn't supported. (it's a fringe case, I realize this)
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

puddlepounce

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:59 pm
  • Real Name: rob pearce

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostMon Nov 09, 2020 9:25 pm

is there a roadmap of which plugins might be coming ? Like maybe prores in windows, and AAC audio in linux, too ?
Offline

RikshaDriver

  • Posts: 320
  • Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:08 am
  • Location: Oz, Gizzard of
  • Real Name: Asim Siddiqui

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostMon Nov 09, 2020 9:32 pm

Is there an SDK available for this?
Specs: i386, 16M RAM, 150MB IDE HDD, Sound Blaster 16, Win NT 3.1

My commercial Resolve Looks, Plugins & Transforms: https://xtremestuff.net/store
My Open Source Resolve transforms: https://github.com/xtremestuff
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1361
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostMon Nov 09, 2020 9:52 pm

RikshaDriver wrote:Is there an SDK available for this?


Yes, in help menu, documentation
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline

ambustion

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:36 pm
  • Real Name: Brendon Rathbone

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 2:53 am

This is super cool.
Offline

finnjaeger

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 8:52 pm

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 11:24 am

so thats the soft way of enabling prores on win/linux without striking a deal with apple then? Chapeau!
Lets just hope someone brings a good prores encoder, my hopes are on Drastic/MediaReaktor , ffmpeg and premieres implementation is not that good imho.
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1595
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 11:32 am

But the ProRes encoder in MediaReactor is FFmpeg.

MediaReactor wrote:Write MOV (FFMPEG) ProRes (ProRes, ProRes LT, ProRes HQ, ProRes Proxy)
Offline

finnjaeger

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 8:52 pm

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 4:08 pm

roger.magnusson wrote:But the ProRes encoder in MediaReactor is FFmpeg.

MediaReactor wrote:Write MOV (FFMPEG) ProRes (ProRes, ProRes LT, ProRes HQ, ProRes Proxy)


Yea, If I understand correctly so is Nuke, but in case of nuke and (i hope mediaReaktor) its officiall prores encoder under the hood and they just use ffmpeg to do the Mov wrapping.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 6941
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 7:59 pm

One of the best v17 features. It opens for customised/optimised exporters.
Offline

Jean Paul Sneider

  • Posts: 190
  • Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 5:46 pm

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Nov 10, 2020 10:48 pm

Great great feature for post houses trying to implement a full Resolve pipeline!
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 6941
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 11, 2020 12:24 pm

There is also now a way of execution some script after export finished.
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 652
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 11, 2020 5:51 pm

Just verifying. Do the codec packs only work on the Studio version?
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 17.0b5(Standard)
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 206
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 11, 2020 6:02 pm

Gary Hango wrote:Just verifying. Do the codec packs only work on the Studio version?

Only Studio, yes.
Blackmagic Design Certified Trainer

Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
Windows 10 Pro 2009, i7-7700, 32Gb RAM, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb (460.89 Studio)
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.0.0B.0023
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 206
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 11, 2020 6:03 pm

x264_encoder_plugin, binaries for Windows, macOS, Linux

viewtopic.php?f=36&t=125570
Last edited by Sergey Mirontsev on Fri Dec 11, 2020 8:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Blackmagic Design Certified Trainer

Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
Windows 10 Pro 2009, i7-7700, 32Gb RAM, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb (460.89 Studio)
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.0.0B.0023
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 652
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 11, 2020 6:39 pm

Sergey Mirontsev wrote:
Gary Hango wrote:Just verifying. Do the codec packs only work on the Studio version?

Only Studio, yes.

Bummer.

Looking at the source code for the x264 encoder plugin, this all looks very simple. It's basically an interface to the encoder dll. So any encoder that is provided as a dll, with it's "include" files so the Resolve plugin can access the dll's functions, can be turned into a Resolve IO plugin.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 17.0b5(Standard)
Offline
User avatar

antoine

  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:20 am
  • Warnings: 1
  • Real Name: Antoine Dornstetter

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 11, 2020 9:14 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:There is also now a way of execution some script after export finished.
Hi Andrew, woul you have more info about this ? Thanks
BRAW Studio for Adobe CC (Premiere Pro, After Effects, Media Encoder)
Offline
User avatar

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 1595
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 11, 2020 9:31 pm

They've added a feature called Workflow Integration where you can create plugins using the Electron framework. Find more info in the DaVinci Resolve/Developer folder of the installed app.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 6941
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostThu Nov 12, 2020 4:11 pm

antoine wrote:
Andrew Kolakowski wrote:There is also now a way of execution some script after export finished.
Hi Andrew, woul you have more info about this ? Thanks


It's in the export GUI. Don't know exact details.
Offline
User avatar

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2555
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostFri Nov 13, 2020 10:56 pm

This is great news.

Any plans for decoder plugins? For file formats we'd like to add support for for input media.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

lost_soul

  • Posts: 124
  • Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:30 am
  • Location: Vancouver
  • Real Name: Shawn Metheny

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 18, 2020 12:29 am

finnjaeger wrote:so thats the soft way of enabling prores on win/linux without striking a deal with apple then? Chapeau!
Lets just hope someone brings a good prores encoder, my hopes are on Drastic/MediaReaktor , ffmpeg and premieres implementation is not that good imho.

It also allows them to dance around those ridiculous rent seeking software patents that only apply to Americans.
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 1964
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 18, 2020 3:25 am

BMD folks, if you get information on 3rd party [commercial] prores encoder plug-in (for Windows), please post and let us know. Thanks!
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm HDD Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 16.2.8
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 1964
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 18, 2020 3:26 am

Sergey Mirontsev wrote:x264_encoder_plugin, binaries for Windows

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=125439


This link does not exist.
MSI Raider X99 MB / Intel i7 5280 6 core CPU / 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb GPU / 32Gb 3200 RAM / Decklink 4K Mini Monitor / 240Gb SSD OS Drive / 4Tb RAID 0 SSD Cache/Scratch Drive / 24Tb 7200rpm HDD Data Drive / Win 10 Pro 64bit / Resolve 16.2.8
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 206
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Nov 18, 2020 10:04 am

Ellory Yu wrote:
Sergey Mirontsev wrote:x264_encoder_plugin, binaries for Windows

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=125439


This link does not exist.

viewtopic.php?f=36&t=125570

Topis was moved to DaVinci Resolve 17 Beta subforum by moderators.
Blackmagic Design Certified Trainer

Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
Windows 10 Pro 2009, i7-7700, 32Gb RAM, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb (460.89 Studio)
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.0.0B.0023
Offline

Mag Asine

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 6:44 pm
  • Real Name: Max Asinov

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostFri Dec 11, 2020 6:40 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Hello all, we want to let you know about a new feature in v17 that allows companies to offer a plugin pack for additional and optimized render formats.

The first company to offer this is MainConcept who have a Codec Plugin which offers DaVinci Resolve Studio users the ability to directly export a number of codec types like AS-11 UK DPP SD or HD compliant content, or rendered into HEVC in up to 8K resolution. With the plugin, projects can be rendered into professional broadcast camcorder formats, allowing exported video to remain in the original recording format.

Visit mainconcept.com/bmd-beta to see how it integrates into the Blackmagic Design DaVinci Resolve timeline and sign up for the free beta, available for Windows, macOS, and Linux.


;) Hello Are you
Webm and VP9 - does not require licenses ;) :ugeek:
Offline

Simon Rabeder

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:42 am
  • Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Dec 29, 2020 3:31 pm

So still no answer on decoder plugins? I was hoping for ProRes RAW in the future.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 6941
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Dec 29, 2020 3:37 pm

There is nothing official about writing input plugins.
I'm bit disappointed that no one written ffmpeg exporter yet.
Offline
User avatar

antoine

  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:20 am
  • Warnings: 1
  • Real Name: Antoine Dornstetter

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Dec 29, 2020 6:59 pm

Decoders plugins would be very cool
BRAW Studio for Adobe CC (Premiere Pro, After Effects, Media Encoder)
Offline

DonTequila

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 9:49 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Kramer

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Dec 30, 2020 1:18 pm

We've just released beta4 of our encoding plugin for Resolve 17. We've added various improvements for DPP AS-11:
1 AS11 metadata optional sidecar XML file
2 Combined DPP template for SD and HD profiles
3 ColorRange (Full/Limited)
4 Fix for DPP Interlace

Please check this out.

If you previously registed for our beta, please download beta4 from our portal.
If you've not registed before, please do so here with the link below.
Product Management
MainConcept

Plugin for DaVinci Resolve 17: https://www.mainconcept.com/bmd
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 206
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostThu Dec 31, 2020 7:53 am

DonTequila wrote:We've just released beta4 of our encoding plugin for Resolve 17. We've added various improvements for DPP AS-11:
1 AS11 metadata optional sidecar XML file
2 Combined DPP template for SD and HD profiles
3 ColorRange (Full/Limited)
4 Fix for DPP Interlace

Please check this out.

If you previously registed for our beta, please download beta4 from our portal.
If you've not registed before, please do so here with the link below.
Can you please show this to developers? Probably fixed in beta4?

viewtopic.php?t=128517
Blackmagic Design Certified Trainer

Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
Windows 10 Pro 2009, i7-7700, 32Gb RAM, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb (460.89 Studio)
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.0.0B.0023
Offline

RikshaDriver

  • Posts: 320
  • Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:08 am
  • Location: Oz, Gizzard of
  • Real Name: Asim Siddiqui

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostThu Dec 31, 2020 10:20 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:I'm bit disappointed that no one written ffmpeg exporter yet.


It's on my To-Do list alongside other web codecs :)
Specs: i386, 16M RAM, 150MB IDE HDD, Sound Blaster 16, Win NT 3.1

My commercial Resolve Looks, Plugins & Transforms: https://xtremestuff.net/store
My Open Source Resolve transforms: https://github.com/xtremestuff
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 6941
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostThu Dec 31, 2020 11:11 am

Even simplest version without any GUI, just place to type ffmpeg command would be enough for start.
Creating ffmpeg GUI to cover all its codecs is quite a challenge.
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 652
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostThu Dec 31, 2020 3:08 pm

I wonder if creating a frame server would be a better idea than creating a separate plugin for every codec. This would allow using your favorite encoder.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 17.0b5(Standard)
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 652
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostThu Dec 31, 2020 8:12 pm

I contacted the creator of the Debugmode Frameserver, and he’s going to look into porting it to Resolve.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 17.0b5(Standard)
Offline
User avatar

antoine

  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:20 am
  • Warnings: 1
  • Real Name: Antoine Dornstetter

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostFri Jan 01, 2021 11:36 am

Nice :D
BRAW Studio for Adobe CC (Premiere Pro, After Effects, Media Encoder)
Offline

DonTequila

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 9:49 am
  • Real Name: Thomas Kramer

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostFri Jan 01, 2021 5:23 pm

Sergey Mirontsev wrote:
DonTequila wrote:We've just released beta4 of our encoding plugin for Resolve 17. We've added various improvements for DPP AS-11:
1 AS11 metadata optional sidecar XML file
2 Combined DPP template for SD and HD profiles
3 ColorRange (Full/Limited)
4 Fix for DPP Interlace

Please check this out.

If you previously registed for our beta, please download beta4 from our portal.
If you've not registed before, please do so here with the link below.
Can you please show this to developers? Probably fixed in beta4?

viewtopic.php?t=128517


Yes, this is fixed in Beta4 of our plugin as well. Thank you for pointing me at this again, I forgot to mention it.
Product Management
MainConcept

Plugin for DaVinci Resolve 17: https://www.mainconcept.com/bmd
Offline

satishkumr

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2020 8:11 pm
  • Real Name: Satish Sampath

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostSat Jan 02, 2021 5:09 am

Gary Hango wrote:I contacted the creator of the Debugmode Frameserver, and he’s going to look into porting it to Resolve.


Hi all, I'm the Frameserver creator that Gary mentioned above (thanks Gary for drawing my attention to DaVinci Resolve). I'm just starting to install and check out the SDK. Happy to be here!
https://www.debugmode.com/
Offline
User avatar

Christopher Dobey

  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 5:58 pm
  • Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Jan 05, 2021 7:11 pm

Wow this is great news :D a RAW timeline directly to FFmpeg encoding without an intermediate is as good as it gets 8-)
Nikon Z6 -> Video Assist 12G 5" / Ninja V
Resolve Studio 17.1 PB 6 | macOS 11.1
Apple M1 MacBook Air, 8 core, 16GB memory | Pro Display XDR 6K
Decklink Mini Monitor 4K | LG OLED B7A 65" | Micro Panel
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 6941
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Jan 05, 2021 7:17 pm

Yep, very useful. I assume pipe will be done over at least 16bit format. There should be choice of RGB and YUV as then we really on Resolve's RGB->YUV conversion with proper matrix based on project settings.
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 206
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Jan 05, 2021 7:20 pm

All that remains is to render the sound separately and attach it to the video
Blackmagic Design Certified Trainer

Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
Windows 10 Pro 2009, i7-7700, 32Gb RAM, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb (460.89 Studio)
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.0.0B.0023
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 6941
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am
  • Location: Poland

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostTue Jan 05, 2021 8:42 pm

Why?
Is there no audio piping in Resolve SDK?
Offline
User avatar

Sergey Mirontsev

  • Posts: 206
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 9:18 am
  • Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Encoder plugin packs

PostWed Jan 06, 2021 7:49 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Why?
Is there no audio piping in Resolve SDK?
I thought there was no sound in the Frameserver. I was wrong.
Blackmagic Design Certified Trainer

Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera (Samyang 12mm Cine, 35mm Cine)
Windows 10 Pro 2009, i7-7700, 32Gb RAM, SSD, GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb (460.89 Studio)
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.0.0B.0023

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amoricanseth, Chris Mierzwinski, Christian Lessner, cyberphile, Google [Bot], jmorby, Joe001, pmarcinkiewicz and 138 guests