Page 1 of 1

Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 1:38 pm
by Erunur
Just got my hands on a new MacBook Pro with the M1 chip 16gb ram and 1tb SSD. I have a Fusion studio dongle that I've been using on my PC desktop that I thought I'd try and use on the Mac with a thunderbolt USB adapter. Installed DR17 beta for M1 Macs as well as Fusion 17 Beta. Both programs start up and get to the license activation page that says enter license key or plug in dongle even though the dongle is plugged in. So my question is that a bug or feature?

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:00 pm
by Peter Chamberlain
Currently no dongle support on M1 systems.
We are looking into what can be done.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 6:30 pm
by Erunur
Peter Chamberlain wrote:Currently no dongle support on M1 systems.
We are looking into what can be done.

Thanks for the quick reply and explanation. Hope development goes well and thanks for all you guys do.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 6:44 pm
by John Spirou
So how can we run davinci studio on M1 ?

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:52 pm
by Peter Chamberlain
Activation keys do work.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:57 pm
by mclarenf1
Me too. M1 not working. Can I convert my dongle into a license? Thanks.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 1:07 am
by Steve Golding
Hm, that's not good. I really need it to work on AS unless BM are prepared to convert the license?

Steve

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:23 pm
by Henchman
Peter Chamberlain wrote:Activation keys do work.

If one supplies the serial number printed on the dongle, is there a way to get a temporary license key until the dongle issue is sorted out?

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 1:54 pm
by Marin Goleminov
Same problem (dongle not recognised on M1), same questions: how to exchange the dongle for a serial / key?

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:04 pm
by Glenn Sakatch
In the past I have used VirttualHere to manage Avid and Resolve dongles (2 each) over 3 boxes. This might be a short term solution until BM or Apple come up with a solution.

You need the software running on two machines within a network, or VPN, and one of them runs the dongle, but the dongle can be deactivated on that machine, and activated on the other networked machine.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:15 pm
by Henchman
Glenn Sakatch wrote:In the past I have used VirttualHere to manage Avid and Resolve dongles (2 each) over 3 boxes. This might be a short term solution until BM or Apple come up with a solution.

You need the software running on two machines within a network, or VPN, and one of them runs the dongle, but the dongle can be deactivated on that machine, and activated on the other networked machine.

I'll try that today

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 4:45 pm
by Henchman
Glenn Sakatch wrote:In the past I have used VirttualHere to manage Avid and Resolve dongles (2 each) over 3 boxes. This might be a short term solution until BM or Apple come up with a solution.

You need the software running on two machines within a network, or VPN, and one of them runs the dongle, but the dongle can be deactivated on that machine, and activated on the other networked machine.

VirttualHere won't open on the M1.
I get a "not authorized to run this application" error.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 4:57 pm
by Henchman
Tried to get a license key since I own a dongle. But BM support won't do it.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 6:28 pm
by gradymoore
Same issue here. Dongle not working.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:58 pm
by jchinnie
Wish I knew this before purchasing m1. Didn't even think to research and very surprised by this. I would've thought BM mentioned in the notes when downloading the m1 version of resolve 17 beta.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 4:08 pm
by Mattias Lindberg
No solution yet?

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 6:23 am
by Peter Chamberlain
Watch for update coming

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 7:27 am
by Henchman
Peter Chamberlain wrote:Watch for update coming

You're such a tease.
Hahahaha

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2020 4:15 pm
by Marin Goleminov
Peter Chamberlain wrote:Watch for update coming

Whoop whoop.
And Fusion for M1 is there, too.

Thanks for the updates :D

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 2:42 am
by Erunur
Issue seems to have vanished! Thanks!!

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2021 1:23 am
by Kitarzan
Same problem here. I Just bought the new MB Pro M1 and realized now that I can't use DaVinci for my edits. I need it ASAP!

Can you guys convert my dongle into a license??? :!:

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2021 3:39 pm
by Henchman
Kitarzan wrote:Same problem here. I Just bought the new MB Pro M1 and realized now that I can't use DaVinci for my edits. I need it ASAP!

Can you guys convert my dongle into a license??? :!:

You need to upgrade to the latest version of 17 for silicon M1

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 3:53 pm
by ClaytonMoore
The system see's the dongle with the following information.

* Product ID: 0x0201
* Vendor ID: 0x096e
* Version: 1.0f
* Serial Number: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ( I hid the serial number for this post ) But it
shows up normally.

I guess I assumed since it's actually "visible", this needs to work.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 4:56 pm
by Henchman
You have to upgrade to 17

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 5:31 pm
by ClaytonMoore
I updated two weeks ago........well nothing but version 17 has was ever installed on the new machine.

Re: Apple M1 Dongle Issue

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2021 5:35 pm
by roger.magnusson
It's actually 17.1 you need.