BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8198
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 4:39 am

in the color page I have a timeline with two tracks, V1/V2
in color I disable teh bottom [V1] with the [alt+tap track] and make it red
in edit I mute the v2 track
go in delivery and I cannot export the timeline....
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11137
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 5:21 pm

There's nothing to export when you do that, so...
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8198
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 1:26 am

Jim Simon wrote:There's nothing to export when you do that, so...


i don't think you understand the issue: one thing is to mute a track, the other is simply disable the track from the point of view of the color corrector: in this second case, clips are there (as you can see if you play either in color or edit) because the track is still active (as in not muted), but they are not active in the export and that is a bug.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11137
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 7:01 pm

Maybe I'm still missing something because when I follow the directions in your first post, both actions do exactly the same thing and I end up with no clips to see in the Viewer, and hence nothing to export.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8198
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 9:14 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Maybe I'm still missing something because when I follow the directions in your first post, both actions do exactly the same thing and I end up with no clips to see in the Viewer, and hence nothing to export.


That "is" the bug, in the edit page and color page you can hit play and see ask the clips playing correctly, the "disable clips" in the color page should not be active in the delivery page.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11137
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 9:34 pm

I'm still lost.

With both tracks off, there's nothing to see. On any page. That's the expected behavior.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8198
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 11:57 pm

Jim Simon wrote:I'm still lost.

With both tracks off, there's nothing to see. On any page. That's the expected behavior.


You are mixing turning off a track in the edit page or color page with simply [disabling] it with alt+click on the track where the clips are still visible and playable
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11137
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostTue Nov 24, 2020 5:06 pm

Ahhh, Alt+Click. Somehow I missed that. Thanks, man.

I am seeing the same in Studio 17b2 for Windows.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 8198
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostTue Nov 24, 2020 11:46 pm

Yes, that!. Apology if it was not clear...

I tried to make a simple three clip timeline and [alt click] hide them in color, i can play them in color and edit and do all the edit I want, but in the delivery page I cannot export...
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.5.1)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.2.2.012
nvidia: 441.66 studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11137
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: BUG disable track in color prevent export - 16.2.6

PostWed Nov 25, 2020 4:43 pm

Here's my thinking.

On the Color page, Alt+Click and Click produce the same results. So for now, using just Click will make it really obvious that you forgot to Undo that when it comes time to Deliver.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], cyberphile, henrikjansson, panos_mts, Robert John and 109 guests