GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

svxbxda

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 5:57 pm
  • Real Name: Ed Svoboda

GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 7:31 pm

I've recently acquired a GoPro Hero7 Black and have been learning how to color correct in DaVinci Resolve. I've been estimating and setting the white balance color temperature manually and making further adjustments in Resolve as necessary. I see that the camera has an additional white balance setting called "Native" and I wonder if I should be using that instead. The GoPro web site describes this setting as follows:
Native: Industry standardized optimized color. The Native option yields a minimally processed data file directly from the image sensor that allows for more precise adjustments to be made in post-production. Recording with this option takes full advantage of the image sensor’s capabilities.

I've tried searching the web for more information about this setting and I've found very little discussion. It seems to be a setting that few people use on the GoPro.

If you want the best results from a GoPro and are willing to color correct in Resolve, what's the best approach to setting white balance? Is "Native" the best choice under all lighting conditions?

Thanks!
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11137
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 5:31 pm

Yeah, that description doesn't really provide anything useful does it? Kind of like a politician's talking points, you're left thinking "That sounds nice, but what does it mean exactly?"
Offline

Mads Johansen

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:51 am

Re: GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 5:46 pm

It's log format (ref https://community.gopro.com/t5/Cameras/ ... d-p/278410 ) which does make sense with regard to the description.

So to answer your question: Yes* (*: If you want the maximum flexibility and does not mind spending some time in Davinci getting the color exactly right).
No**(**: If you don't want to spend time getting color exactly right)
Offline

Wouter Bouwens

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 7:53 pm
  • Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands

Re: GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 7:48 pm

For me, this native whitebalance sucks. It is very hard to get the image to look natural again. It is much better to set a whitebalance yourself.
I filmed my son with a red shirt, with the Flash on it. Looks completely orange, can't get it to be red :cry:

Ofcourse, this could also be a reflection on how poor my colorgrading skills are.
Medion Erazer X7853 Gaming Notebook
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Intel Core i7 7700HQ @ 2.8 GHZ Kaby Lake 14nm Technology
48GB Dual Channel 1197MGZ (17-17-17-39) (2x8 and 2x16)
Medion P670HSGM (U3E1)
Nvidia GeForce GTX 1070 8GB
476GB SAMSUNG MZVLW512HMJP
Offline

RikshaDriver

  • Posts: 268
  • Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:08 am
  • Location: Oz, Gizzard of
  • Real Name: Asim Siddiqui

Re: GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 12:58 am

the "Native" white balance is actually more to do with the Color Gamut. The other "White Balance" settings use a Rec.709 Color Space whereas Native uses what is "visible" to the sensor and hence covers a wider spectrum.


If you are using ACES, I've developed IDTs that can be used to normalize the GoPro footage:

https://github.com/xtremestuff/protune-transforms
Specs: i386, 16M RAM, 150MB IDE HDD, Sound Blaster 16, Win NT 3.1

My commercial Resolve Looks, Plugins & Transforms: https://xtremestuff.net/store
My Open Source Resolve transforms: https://github.com/xtremestuff
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11137
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 7:05 pm

There's no way for users to add an IDT to Resolve, Riksha, so...what am I missing here.
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 1256
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 7:10 pm

Jim Simon wrote:There's no way for users to add an IDT to Resolve, Riksha, so...what am I missing here.

You can create an IDT equivalent as a DCTL and since v17 it is possible to actually load them as IDTs too.
I do stuff.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 11137
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 1

Re: GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 7:12 pm

How? Couldn't find that.
Offline

RikshaDriver

  • Posts: 268
  • Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:08 am
  • Location: Oz, Gizzard of
  • Real Name: Asim Siddiqui

Re: GoPro "Native" White Balance: should I use it?

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 11:15 pm

To use the DCTL as an IDT:

Input Transform: Bypass/No Input Transform

in v16, Right click on clip(s), DaVinci CTL > Your required dctl

In v17, Right click in clip(s), LUTs > Your required dctl


In v17, you can also load a DCTL for use directly as an IDT (can be loaded via Input Transform), However, the code is very different and the specs appear to be more for Display referred transforms: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=125160
Specs: i386, 16M RAM, 150MB IDE HDD, Sound Blaster 16, Win NT 3.1

My commercial Resolve Looks, Plugins & Transforms: https://xtremestuff.net/store
My Open Source Resolve transforms: https://github.com/xtremestuff

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Mees, dtaddis, Google Feedfetcher, panos_mts and 101 guests