DaVinci Resolve 16 Issue "Looking For Control Surface"

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

clarker

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:47 pm
  • Real Name: Richard Clarke

DaVinci Resolve 16 Issue "Looking For Control Surface"

PostTue Jan 12, 2021 11:21 am

Good Morning,
I am trying to run a copy of DaVinci Resolve V16 I got, but it hangs on the splash screen "Looking For Control Surfaces".
I have exported the log files, before the crash and after the crash plus the Mac System info file, these can be found here:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

I have a few clients who would like Blackmagic Raw files, but I would like to be able to check the files out before sending them off, so need to be able to open Davinci Resolve to see them.

Any help pointers, solutions would be very much appreciated.
Happy New Year BTW
Richard
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 13087
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 Issue "Looking For Control Surface"

PostTue Jan 12, 2021 1:54 pm

Just to get you moving, you can open those files in the Blackmagic RAW player, a separate install.

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... al-cameras
Offline

ITgreybeard

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2020 6:09 pm
  • Real Name: Mel Ivey

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 Issue "Looking For Control Surface"

PostWed Jan 13, 2021 6:19 am

...erroneous post on my part here...
Last edited by ITgreybeard on Fri Jan 15, 2021 5:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

clarker

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:47 pm
  • Real Name: Richard Clarke

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 Issue "Looking For Control Surface"

PostThu Jan 14, 2021 9:26 am

Jim Simon wrote:Just to get you moving, you can open those files in the Blackmagic RAW player, a separate install.

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... al-cameras


Hi,
Thanks for that.
However, I really would love to get DaVinci Resolve working on my MacBook Pro.
I have heard of other users where it took over 10 mins to load, I have waited over 10 mins and nothing happened, clicked on force quit and it had failed to respond.
I then opened "Force Quit" before running Resolve again, and it came up with unresponsive after a few minutes, so something on my MacBook Pro is not letting it run.
Does anyone out in the Blackmagic world of technical expertise have any ideas?
Richard
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9312
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 Issue "Looking For Control Surface"

PostThu Jan 14, 2021 9:54 am

clarker wrote:
Jim Simon wrote:Just to get you moving, you can open those files in the Blackmagic RAW player, a separate install.

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... al-cameras


Hi,
Thanks for that.
However, I really would love to get DaVinci Resolve working on my MacBook Pro.
I have heard of other users where it took over 10 mins to load, I have waited over 10 mins and nothing happened, clicked on force quit and it had failed to respond.
I then opened "Force Quit" before running Resolve again, and it came up with unresponsive after a few minutes, so something on my MacBook Pro is not letting it run.
Does anyone out in the Blackmagic world of technical expertise have any ideas?
Richard


Did you use the Capture logs process as listed in the FAQs?
In Finder, select "Go to Folder..." (⇧⌘G by default), type the path
/Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve/
and hit Enter.
Run the CaptureLogs application.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

clarker

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:47 pm
  • Real Name: Richard Clarke

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 Issue "Looking For Control Surface"

PostThu Jan 14, 2021 12:44 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Did you use the Capture logs process as listed in the FAQs?
In Finder, select "Go to Folder..." (⇧⌘G by default), type the path
/Library/Application Support/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve/
and hit Enter.
Run the CaptureLogs application.


Hi Peter,
I did, I have uploaded them to the following folder:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

Cheers
Richard
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7440
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 Issue "Looking For Control Surface"

PostWed Jan 20, 2021 5:59 pm

You are using a very old version of Resolve. It's not compatible with Big Sur.

Please download and install the current Resolve 16.2.8 release version from here:

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/suppor ... and-fusion

In the Latest Downloads column on the left, scroll down to Nov 25 2020 for the 16.2.8 versions. Make sure you download the Studio version, if you have a Studio activation key or dongle. If you have neither of those, download the free version, which is the one without Studio in the name.

If you are using new BRAW 12K files, you'll need to use the 16.3b3 version of Resolve.

Or, if you are feeling adventurous, you might want to try the Resolve 17.0b7 code. It's pretty stable at this point, and if you are just getting started, might be something to try.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

clarker

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:47 pm
  • Real Name: Richard Clarke

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 Issue "Looking For Control Surface"

PostWed Jan 20, 2021 8:19 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:You are using a very old version of Resolve. It's not compatible with Big Sur.


Hi Dwaine,
Thank you for that, downloaded and running successfully.
Cheers
Richard

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Kolakowski, Craig Sawyer, Kevin Good, Mario Kalogjera, panos_mts, SkierEvans, TotallydubbedHD and 133 guests