DaVinci Export Linear EXR for VFX w/ LUT Round Trip - Help!-

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

oc1kev

DaVinci Export Linear EXR for VFX w/ LUT Round Trip - Help!-

PostSun Feb 07, 2021 3:14 am

I am a grad student in VFX trying to learn a proper round trip workflow to take graded footage shot on a RED (or any camera, actually) that has an existing grade in Rec709... Write out a Linearized EXR image sequence.

Then take that Liniarized EXR Sequence into NUKE, add a bunch of VFX, add the LUT for viewing/approval renders... then when approved, strip off the LUT, write out a LINEAR EXR Sequence... and take that Linear Sequence (now with VFX) back into Resolve, Reinsert it into the Timeline, and reapply the grade.

What I have MOSTLY works... I am using sample footage from the RED website, one clip of the girl with the Spydercheck Color Chart (Dragon 6K), and one clip of the timelapse of the 110 at night (Gemini 5K)
red (dot) com/sample-r3d-files

I am following this video as my base, since it is exactly what I am trying to do, and I've not found anything so exactly parallel anywhere else. The problem I think is, he is using v15 and I am on v16... so there might be something ... some switch or setting that I need to turn on or off...
vimeo (dot) com/433414213

You see, I'm the VFX lead on another student's GRAD FILM project, and I have to write up this procedure for Editorial and Post Supe (they go into Production next week) so I have to have this procedure worked out before Editorial finishes their cut, or I'll be holding up the pipeline.

Below is my workflow that I have written out.

It all "looks" right up until the very end... when I set my RE-IMPORTED, ROUND-TRIPPED linear footage back into my timeline, in the WORKFLOW, where I set the clip to BYPASS ... the Re-IMported Linear looks perfectly equal.