Resolve 16/17 - RHEL/CentOS 7 specific issues

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

QuickSand

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:35 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Peterson

Resolve 16/17 - RHEL/CentOS 7 specific issues

PostMon Mar 08, 2021 3:57 pm

Dear Blackmagic Support Team,

the Linux version behaves very strange when it comes to UI bugs, GPU scopes and performance.

a) Black timeline: when switching from Color to Edit, we often find various elements of the edit page completely blacked out. This occurs faster on longform content, but pretty much happens instantly on some projects. A reboot of the software is required.

b) Color node labels are often destroyed aswell when switching between workspaces for Color and Edit. This happens pretty much instantly when switching for one single time from Color to Edit and vice versa.
Also the performance coupled together with the use of the GPU scopes is not usable at all. When using GPU scopes, we barely get 10-11 fps, when deactivating GPU scopes we instantely get fluid playback on the color page. The Nvidia driver only shows 25% use of VRAM both with GPU scopes enabled or disabled.

We run Resolve 16.2.8/17 Build 39 on CentOS 7.8 with 3x 2080Tis and 1x K4000 as a GUI card. Nvidia driver version is 460.56. Studio version, Decklink 8K Pro running Desktop Video 11.7. Another machine without a Decklink Card and 3x 1080Tis shows the exact same behaviour. Studio version with Dongle. Both in a shared DB environment and on local databases.

I've attached screenshots of the UI bugs to this thread.
Attachments
77ygCGQxx.jpg
77ygCGQxx.jpg (222.68 KiB) Viewed 230 times
nGkggaxxx.jpg
nGkggaxxx.jpg (524.88 KiB) Viewed 230 times
Last edited by QuickSand on Thu Apr 08, 2021 12:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

QuickSand

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:35 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Peterson

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostWed Mar 10, 2021 10:27 am

Push.
Offline

QuickSand

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:35 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Peterson

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostSun Mar 28, 2021 8:19 am

Anyone?
Offline

smunaut

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 6:15 pm
  • Real Name: Sylvain Munaut

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostWed Apr 07, 2021 7:14 pm

I'm not from BMD, just a linux resolve user ... all I can say is that I've never seen this ... sorry can't really help more.

I'd suggest posting the Debug logs taken just after the problem occured, that might give an indication.
Ryzen 3700X - AMD R570X / NVidia RTX2700Super (switching between the 2) - Linux
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 304
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostWed Apr 07, 2021 7:53 pm

The video / audio track names also disappear.
Offline

Lee Niederkofler

  • Posts: 129
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:42 pm

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostWed Apr 07, 2021 10:03 pm

I get the same errors. Talked to BMD support months ago, but they only told me to update the nvidia driver. I did that but it didn‘t change anything. Didn‘t have time to investigate further.. but tried a complete new install half a year ago, but it didn‘t change anything..

It‘s quite bothersome.

Have similiar specs then you. Centos 7.7
Supermicro
3x1080TI
Lates resolve 16 version
Offline

smunaut

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 6:15 pm
  • Real Name: Sylvain Munaut

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 7:34 am

Did you try with a single GPU ?
Ryzen 3700X - AMD R570X / NVidia RTX2700Super (switching between the 2) - Linux
Offline

QuickSand

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:35 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Peterson

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 8:48 am

Hey Lee,

same happened to me - reinstall Resolve, reinstall Nvidia drivers, after I sent them debug logs etc. I've seen this error across facilities, with multiple machines all running CentOS 7.X It's not that big of an issue anymore, will write more at the bottom of this post.

@Lucios Snow:

Yes, that is correct aswell.

@smunaut:

Testing one GPU is not really an option, since we work at HighRes Feature content every single day and every colorist is pounding the GPUs to a maximum. It's not at all viable to "test" those kind of workarounds since we need all the GPU power we can get.

@all the people above: We lessened the use of those Linux workstations in the last couple of months since we got more and more Mac Pros 7.1 which don't behave like this at all. It's really a shame that the Linux version is disregarded by BM by such an extend where you run completely certified hardware, not Ryzen/AMD GPUs/Ubuntu/Arch/whatever distro, and still run into more problems than people with different inofficial configs. Since we work on SAN storage, we can only use RHEL/CentOS based installations anyway.

What I've found since I posted last time is that moving to CentOS 8 or in our case RHEL 8.2/8.3 seems to fix this problem. Since Red Hat released a "free" version of their distro at the end of February, I tested our config with Resolve 16.2.7 (where the switch to a newer cuda version was introduced, btw nice move from BMD to switch major API versions on the last minor release before force feeding us Resolve 17). If you want to test this out, put a new SSD in and quickly set up a Red Hat installation and opening up a GPU intense setup with many OFX plugins and a high project resolution. Keep in mind I only tested the edit and color page, not the Cut and Fairlight page.
Offline

Lee Niederkofler

  • Posts: 129
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:42 pm

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 10:06 am

Yes it's a shame. Apparently not that enough people run into this problem that BMD fixes it.
Don't get me wrong, I can work with it. It's not that bad, it's just annoying.
Upgrading do CentOS 8 is not working for us, because it's not supported by our SAN and
usually upgrading CentOS versions at all, causes issues with wacom panel and other configs.
So I tend to stay with a CentOS version as long as I can, so there is no unexpected behaviour on
our main workstations.
And so far CentOS 7.7 and 7.8 were the best versions in terms of compatibility with wacom panels etc..
Offline

QuickSand

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:35 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Peterson

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 10:13 am

Hey Lee,

that is perfectly reasonably and I understand that - we only have BMD panels connected and did our StoreNext update last week to incorporate the RHEL 8 support. So it seems that you are stuck on 7.X then; I think it's more annyoing to deal with the problem if external colorists work at your facility and your only solution for them is to reboot Resolve - really breaks the workflow depending in the project and the colorist working on the edit page which happens from time to time. Sad really...
Offline

Lee Niederkofler

  • Posts: 129
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:42 pm

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 10:57 am

yeah thats a problem for sure. It's a bit annoying as we chose the Linux platform specifically for being the
best supported platform for high end work.

I just found, that we usually have little to no problems in the color page, besides node labels that get messed up. But the main issues are happening when doing work in the Edit page. So we do most of our Conform work on Macs now..
Offline

bstaley

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:26 pm
  • Real Name: Bill Staley

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 12:18 pm

I'm on Linux Mint 20.1 and have been noticing strange issues as well. I mainly edit HEVC video from my Fuji X-T3. On the 16.x version of Resolve I could fluidly playback the 4k video, even the 4k60p stuff. Somewhere during the 17 Betas I noticed that the video playback would become choppy. It now is choppy even with 4k30p (29.97) video.

I'm currently running the 460.39 nVidia driver, but I have tried older versions and the behavior is the same. Yes, I'm using the Studio version.
Windows 10
AMD Threadripper 1950x w/ASRock x399 mobo
32GB RAM
nVidia GTX 1080
All SSD
Resolve Studio 16
Offline

QuickSand

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:35 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Peterson

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 12:31 pm

Hey Lee,

yes, that behaviour seems familiar. Node labels are the first thing to go, then some time later it's the edit page. Especially if you open up Resolve in the Color Page and switch to Edit.

@Bill: Sorry, but your issues have nothing to do with our problems and you are running hard- and software which isn't at all what Lee and I use. I should update the thread title to reflect the topic better.
Offline

Lucius Snow

  • Posts: 304
  • Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:19 pm

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 3:04 pm

QuickSand wrote:@Lucius Snow:

Yes, that is correct aswell.

I run only only one GPU on Centos 8.2 and the bug is still here on Resolve 16.2.8. I've just upgraded to Centos 8.3 and very latest nVidia drivers. We'll see if it occurs again but i'm pretty pessimist!

Anoter bug by the way: after loading another projet, the title name remains the old one in the Linux software bar. Pretty confusing.
Offline

QuickSand

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2021 3:35 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Peterson

Re: Resolve 16/17 - Linux specific issues

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 3:47 pm

Lucius Snow wrote:
QuickSand wrote:@Lucius Snow:

Yes, that is correct aswell.

I run only only one GPU on Centos 8.2 and the bug is still here on Resolve 16.2.8. I've just upgraded to Centos 8.3 and very latest nVidia drivers. We'll see if it occurs again but i'm pretty pessimist!

Anoter bug by the way: after loading another projet, the title name remains the old one in the Linux software bar. Pretty confusing.


That is unfortunate to hear; maybe I was lucky with the tests on 8.3 or I didn't test it enough; we start a couple of new projects in the next couple of weeks, so I will do additional testing there and will report back. The problem will of course downscale with every Mac Pro additionally purchased, but I refuse that that should be the final option for a facility imho.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Evans, Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Joshua_G, Pecusx, vipvip242 and 88 guests