Cache location update required

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

bigjb3

Cache location update required

PostWed Apr 07, 2021 12:26 am

I'm new to DR and just updated to the newest version of 17 Studio. When I opened the program, I got 3 different notices 1) Cache location update required. Please update the Cache files location in project settings as the current location is offline or inaccessible. F:\\Videos\CacheClip. 2) Stills location update required. F:\\Videos\.gallery. 3) Capture location update required. F:\\Videos\Capture. I see in Working Folders in Project Settings where the location of stills and cache can be found, but not Capture. My current videos are stored in my I drive, and these files are in my F drive. How do I change the locations, and where should I put them so DR can find them? Do I drag them to another location? Why can't DR access them where they are? Do I have to create another folder for each of them?

Mark Foster

Re: Cache location update required

PostWed Apr 07, 2021 7:43 am

but why not reading the manual?

Screenshot 2021-04-07 at 09.41.23.jpg
Screenshot 2021-04-07 at 09.41.23.jpg (82.01 KiB) Viewed 7517 times
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB SSD/4x4TB/7101A 4x2TB 970evo+/HP1344/BMD4k/RadeonVII
macOS 12.6.3
BMPCC 6k pro (7.9.1)
meike s35 cine 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 75mm
resolve studio 18.1.4
mini panel
speed editor
desktop video 12.1
intensity pro 4k
atem extreme (8.6.1)

bigjb3

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 1:16 am

I read the manual but still didn't understand. You're a big help.

Jim Simon

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 1:26 pm

F is internal?
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

bigjb3

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 11:03 pm

F is another external drive, which is where I downloaded my videos when I first downloaded the free version. I hope you can help me with this problem.

Uli Plank

PostFri Apr 09, 2021 3:17 am