Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

speedmaster

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:20 am
  • Real Name: Ari Hazeghi

Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostWed Apr 07, 2021 6:32 am

Hi, I have been using Davinci resolve for my video editing with my Sony A9 II camera (4K 10Bit 100Mbps files). I recently got the A1 and shot some video that I want to process now. I shot both 8K and 4K (10bit 200Mbps). the footage plays back just fine in widows 10 but as soon as I import into Davinci I see these weird color bands. they appear at the few second start of each clip in timeline and render same in the output. re-installed Davinci few times, same issue.

appreciate any pointers

Ari
Attachments
color-banding.jpg
color-banding.jpg (328.74 KiB) Viewed 382 times
Last edited by speedmaster on Thu Apr 08, 2021 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 15794
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 2

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostWed Apr 07, 2021 4:10 pm

Care you share a problem clip for testing?
Offline

speedmaster

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:20 am
  • Real Name: Ari Hazeghi

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostWed Apr 07, 2021 8:32 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Care you share a problem clip for testing?

File is too large not sure how to share

This is Sony XVAC H type file I believe it is based on HEVC I tried converting to resolve optimal format in media pool but did not help
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9904
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 2:06 am

Simply put it on a cloud service and post the link here.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6
Offline

speedmaster

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:20 am
  • Real Name: Ari Hazeghi

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 6:03 am

doesn't work, the forum doesn't allow my to post URL's
Offline

speedmaster

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:20 am
  • Real Name: Ari Hazeghi

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 6:14 am

I tested a few cases and it seems like the color strips appear only in XAVC HS format. it is kind of random it happens for some clips and not for the rest. in all cases the playback has no problem both on Windows 10, Mac OS Big Sur or the back of the camera.

system spec's Core i9 10 core 128GB DDR4 RAM 4TB NVMe SSD 2 x GTX 1080 GB each. Tower has water cooling and never heats up above 55C.

does the paid version support these files without creating artifacts ?


looks like windows/mac cannot decode the 4:2:2 format, neither does Davinci. does anyone know what kind of codes are required for these files ?
Attachments
table.jpg
table.jpg (220.34 KiB) Viewed 331 times
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 9911
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 6:28 am

We need a sample clip
Place it on Dropbox and put a space in the path u list here
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

speedmaster

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:20 am
  • Real Name: Ari Hazeghi

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostThu Apr 08, 2021 4:28 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:We need a sample clip
Place it on Dropbox and put a space in the path u list here

try this


https://www. dropbox.com/t/CaDsQ2DDfIA7bMoG
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9904
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostFri Apr 09, 2021 3:58 am

Playing fine here in an UHD timeline on my iMac and even on my wife's MB Air M1 (with some stuttering).

I'd assume a GPU hardware or GPU driver issue.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 15794
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 2

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostFri Apr 09, 2021 2:14 pm

I'm also not seeing any issues with the media in Studio 17.1.1 for Windows using an 8Gb GTX 1070 with Gaming driver 465.89.
Offline

speedmaster

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:20 am
  • Real Name: Ari Hazeghi

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostFri Apr 09, 2021 4:43 pm

Jim Simon wrote:I'm also not seeing any issues with the media in Studio 17.1.1 for Windows using an 8Gb GTX 1070 with Gaming driver 465.89.


that is strange indeed I have 461.92 studio driver, perhaps that makes a difference ?
Offline

Mads Johansen

  • Posts: 195
  • Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:51 am

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostFri Apr 09, 2021 5:30 pm

speedmaster wrote:
Jim Simon wrote:I'm also not seeing any issues with the media in Studio 17.1.1 for Windows using an 8Gb GTX 1070 with Gaming driver 465.89.


that is strange indeed I have 461.92 studio driver, perhaps that makes a difference ?

I have the same driver, no issues here. Win 10, Nvidia 1060 6 GB, Studio 17.1.1
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9904
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostSat Apr 10, 2021 7:43 am

I would then consider a faulty GPU.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6
Offline

speedmaster

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:20 am
  • Real Name: Ari Hazeghi

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostTue Apr 13, 2021 4:23 am

I downloaded Adobe Premier pro and was able to open and render the files with no issues, must be something corrupted in Resolve. I tried using one GPU at a time, but no difference.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 15794
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am
  • Warnings: 2

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostTue Apr 13, 2021 3:33 pm

What GPU's are installed?
Offline

speedmaster

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 6:20 am
  • Real Name: Ari Hazeghi

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostWed Apr 14, 2021 4:11 am

Jim Simon wrote:What GPU's are installed?


2x GTX 1080

one thing I haven't tried is to remove one card entirely to disable SLI driver. Is anyone running Resolve with Nvidia SLI setup ?

I was able to find a half-ass workaround, if I use Sony's own catalyst browser to transcode the files to the same format it goes away also! but this program cashes after transcoding a few clips and it's useless as part of a workflow

I also tried on my MBP 16", no issue there but of course very slow to handle the 8K files... so it seems to have to do something with the graphic driver....why just the first 1-2 seconds though :evil:
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 9904
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Davinci resolve and Sony A1 footage

PostWed Apr 14, 2021 4:44 am

Don't remove the card, but disable SLI. Resolve is not compatible with it. 99% it's the culprit.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.1.1 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.14.6

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Evans, Google [Bot], IsraEliteMedia, Joshua_G, Leslie Wand and 104 guests