Timeline Colour space and controls

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

irfanintekhab

Timeline Colour space and controls

PostSat Apr 10, 2021 1:56 pm

Hello, i am studying about colour management in resolve past 2 weeks and understand a lot of basics. Manual was very helpful as well. I have a little confusion.

Ive seen some Hollywood colourists in courses as well (don't want to name them) using timeline colour space as the log footage itself. Arri Log C in the courses to be precise. And one of them even calls it out saying "you should always have the timeline colour space set as the Log footage you are working on or you are wasting all that information".

From my research I've understood the following (working with BM footage)

Colour science: Davinci YRGB
Timeline colour space: Rec 709 g 2.4
2nd node CST with following settings
input space: BM
Input gamma: BM Film
Output Space: Rec 709
Output gamma: 2.4

And

Colour science: Davinci YRGB
Timeline colour space: BM Film
2nd node CST with following settings
input space: BM
Input gamma: BM Film
Output Space: Rec 709
Output gamma: 2.4

Gives the exact same look (considering no corrections are done)

From my research I understand the difference between them will only be how the controls will work and will feel different. (please correct me if i am wrong in this).
But to me, even the controls feels same! i am so confused! am i doing something wrong here? did i get things wrong? i dont now understand what difference does the timeline colour space make if we have a CST at the very last node.

Please help

irfanintekhab

Re: Timeline Colour space and controls

PostSat Apr 10, 2021 7:15 pm

I just did some more experiments and this is what I noticed.