Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Pecusx

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 7:43 pm
  • Location: Poland
  • Real Name: Tomasz Pecko

Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

PostSat Apr 10, 2021 7:07 pm

I have Resolve Studio 17.1.1.

Yesterday it stopped starting!
I can only see the splashscreen and sometimes for 0.5s. the project selection window appears. And it disappears.... :oops:
2 days ago and more Resolve worked fine (except a few crashes while working on the projects ;) ).

I didn't make any changes to my system. No installations, updates etc.
Before this crash, I only switched the Tangent Element Tk from one USB port (USB 3.0 with hub) to another (USB 2.0 onboard).

And what now BlackMagic?

I have PC with:
Intel i9-9900KF CPU
64GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 (latest Studio drivers)
Windows 10 Pro (latest updates)
Resolve 17.1.1 with Speed Editor and Tangent Element-Tk
Intel Core i9-9900KF CPU - 64GB RAM - Windows 10 Pro x64 (Latest Updates)
GigaByte NVIDIA RTX 2070 8 Gig (Latest Studio Driver)
Offline
User avatar

Pecusx

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 7:43 pm
  • Location: Poland
  • Real Name: Tomasz Pecko

Re: Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

PostSun Apr 11, 2021 8:43 am

I'am "to young" on this forum to add links in my post, and my log file is too large to attach it in post.

I'll try again, this time without the BBCode.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vu1gs3nn9ys3q ... 9.zip?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wv7y0lnknhk5f ... s.nfo?dl=0

Yesterday, after many attempts, I was able to run Resolve (after 5-7 click one Great Success!!) and program was slow, playback stuttered - like without optimized media.
But I have generated optimized media for these projects.
Maybe I'll check it out, but - oh no! Thank you BlackMagic! It is now impossible to check if a clip has optimized media.
Thank you again!

Today the program starts after 5-7 tries and runs slowly.
This is very strange to me as it has been working great and without problems for the last week.

Help!
Resolve 17.1.1 with Speed Editor and Tangent Element-Tk
Intel Core i9-9900KF CPU - 64GB RAM - Windows 10 Pro x64 (Latest Updates)
GigaByte NVIDIA RTX 2070 8 Gig (Latest Studio Driver)
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 2935
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

PostSun Apr 11, 2021 11:20 am

Does unplugging the Tangent Element before starting Resolve make any difference?
Resolve 17.2 Build 11
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 4 core, 24GB RAM, GTX1060/6GB (461.40 Studio), Win10 Home Build 19041, 2 Screens
Pro Tools 2018.4
Dell Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX650, Win7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Mackie HUI, 3 Screens
Offline
User avatar

Pecusx

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 7:43 pm
  • Location: Poland
  • Real Name: Tomasz Pecko

Re: Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

PostSun Apr 11, 2021 2:56 pm

Of course - not! It was the first thing I checked.

My Resolve is still unusable!

It's black magic, maybe someone will resolve my problem.

I have used Sony Vegas for years (started at version 12) and has not always been stable, but at least predictable (and never reacted to changes in my system).

Resolve - unstable and unpredictable (and totally crashes after unplug USB cable) . Version 17 (my first approach to this software) works like an alpha version....
Resolve 17.1.1 with Speed Editor and Tangent Element-Tk
Intel Core i9-9900KF CPU - 64GB RAM - Windows 10 Pro x64 (Latest Updates)
GigaByte NVIDIA RTX 2070 8 Gig (Latest Studio Driver)
Offline

OliverZ

  • Posts: 47
  • Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 8:42 am
  • Real Name: Oliver Zoffi

Re: Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

PostSun Apr 11, 2021 5:46 pm

I had the same problem ... while editing while moving clips in EDIT, Resolve Studio 17.1.1 crashed (shut down). After restarting the PC and Resolve, I was able to finish editing the project, but Resolve ended again while creating the video and could not be started again afterwards, even with a new, empty project. Even a new installation of version 17.1.1 did not bring any improvement! It wasn't until I uninstalled all BlackMagic programs and installed version 17.1 that I was able to use Resolve Studio again without any problems. When version 17.1.1 was first installed, .NET was also updated - whatever was updated and why ?! After that, the strange crashes started ... I could always fix them by restarting the PC and then edit the project and create a video from it. It is only interesting that this hardly happened with 17.0 and 17.1 (exactly once for a project). With 17.1.1 meanwhile, whenever I move clips back and forth too quickly for every project, but never before in such a way that I had to reinstall Resolve afterwards.

Addendum: The crashes on 17.1.1 always took place if there was no optimized media and the cache had not yet been created (is configured with "smart"). This does not occur with 17.0 and 17.1.
Regards
Oliver

Win10 64Bit (20H2), i7-5820k, 32GB RAM, GTX1660Ti (6GB), 2x 1TB M.2 NVRAM, 1x 6TB SSD, Resolve Studio 17.1, NVIDIA Studio Driver 462.31
Offline
User avatar

Pecusx

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 7:43 pm
  • Location: Poland
  • Real Name: Tomasz Pecko

Re: Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

PostMon Apr 12, 2021 4:44 pm

A new day - new experiences!

Today Resolve doesn't start at all. I have tried over 20 times.

I remind you. It has been working great and without problems for the last week (I even finished a test project by working on it for over 7 days without any crash! - I was sure Resolve was very fast and stable) .... until I switched Tangent Element-Tk to a different USB port.

Come on BlackMagic!
Resolve 17.1.1 with Speed Editor and Tangent Element-Tk
Intel Core i9-9900KF CPU - 64GB RAM - Windows 10 Pro x64 (Latest Updates)
GigaByte NVIDIA RTX 2070 8 Gig (Latest Studio Driver)
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10164
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

PostTue Apr 13, 2021 1:34 am

Blackmagic doesn't always work. It's the new moon today…
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.15.7
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1602
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

PostTue Apr 13, 2021 5:13 am

Hi Tomasz,

Can you try unplugging any USB audio devices you have and try again?

Please let us know a more complete picture of your USB peripherals - including whether you're connecting your panels and devices using a USB hub or directly into the port.

Regards
Shrinivas
Offline
User avatar

Pecusx

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 7:43 pm
  • Location: Poland
  • Real Name: Tomasz Pecko

Re: Resolve 17.1.1 stopped starting!

PostTue Apr 13, 2021 11:48 am

O Fcuk :) !!!

It's Black Magic!
I disconnected my webcam, and HDMI grabber, and .... Resolve works!!!
Then I reconnected these devices (but by swapping USB ports), and Resolwe still works!
It starts every time I try and works fast and stable (??? I will wait with this statement :) ).

Here is my current USB setup:
-----------
4 USB 3.0 onboard ports:
- DaVinci Resolve licence Dongle
- Optional storage (backup - 99% time off)
- Empty
- 4 ports USB 3.0 HUB
-- Empty (for external disks)
-- Empty
-- Empty
-- Empty
4 USB 2.0 onboard ports:
- Logitech mouse/keyboard dongle (Internal Win10 driver)
- Tangent Element Tk
- Internal 2 ports USB 2.0 hub:
-- Logitech HD Pro Webcam C920
-- Old Wacom tablet
- Internal 2 ports USB 2.0 hub:
-- BlueTootch Dongle (Internal Win10 driver) - for Speed Editor
-- HDMI grabber (via long 10meters USB 2.0 cable - extender) cheep China grabber (Internal Win10 driver)
-----------
All my project or media are always on inernal SSDs.

Today I just swapped my webcam and grabber - but my internal USB 2.0 hubs are idetical.

3 days ago Tangent was connected to my USB 3.0 hub, and then everything worked fine - just like today.

After all, good software shouldn't be sensitive to such trifles.

BlackMagic. Thanks!
Resolve 17.1.1 with Speed Editor and Tangent Element-Tk
Intel Core i9-9900KF CPU - 64GB RAM - Windows 10 Pro x64 (Latest Updates)
GigaByte NVIDIA RTX 2070 8 Gig (Latest Studio Driver)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Dario Caamaño, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Haryanto, Jason P, Peter Chamberlain and 79 guests