17.1.1 Bug: Working with Stills Causes GPU Error

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Matt White

  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:18 am
  • Location: NYC

17.1.1 Bug: Working with Stills Causes GPU Error

PostTue Apr 13, 2021 12:00 pm

Opening imported still images (around 4k in size) in the Source viewer provokes a GPU error suggesting reducing the number of correctors. The stills are freshly imported and have no correctors.

The timeline has almost no correctors, and the ones present are very minimal.
Specs:
Puget Systems Build: Windows 10 Pro, B550 VISION D, AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor, 64.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080, BM MiniMonitor 4k to FSI BM210 and LG UHD, Apogee Symphony Desktop, Resolve 17.1 Studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 16292
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: 17.1.1 Bug: Working with Stills Causes GPU Error

PostTue Apr 13, 2021 2:55 pm

I am of the opinion that the memory issue is a long standing bug in Resolve with nVidia GPU's that will require a fix from BMD to actually solve once and for all.

Unfortunately, I've seen no evidence that BMD agrees with me on that.
Offline
User avatar

Matt White

  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:18 am
  • Location: NYC

Re: 17.1.1 Bug: Working with Stills Causes GPU Error

PostFri Apr 16, 2021 9:53 pm

BM tech support suggested installing 462.31 Studio version of the NVIDIA drivers. It did not fix the issue.
Specs:
Puget Systems Build: Windows 10 Pro, B550 VISION D, AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor, 64.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080, BM MiniMonitor 4k to FSI BM210 and LG UHD, Apogee Symphony Desktop, Resolve 17.1 Studio
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 16292
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: 17.1.1 Bug: Working with Stills Causes GPU Error

PostFri Apr 16, 2021 9:58 pm

That's what I mean. BMD seems to think it's a driver issue.

I believe it's deeper than that. I think it's a bug in Resolve itself.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 7343
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: 17.1.1 Bug: Working with Stills Causes GPU Error

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 1:46 am

I have not seen this in Mac OSX, so I suspect this is a Windows-specific problem. We had a project not long ago with about 40-50 stills per show (TIFF, PNG, JPG, you name it), and they weren't a problem.

What specific still format are you working with?
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

Matt White

  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:18 am
  • Location: NYC

Re: 17.1.1 Bug: Working with Stills Causes GPU Error

PostSat Apr 17, 2021 12:56 pm

Only a handful of png files. You would think Resolve would have no issue with a few still images.
Specs:
Puget Systems Build: Windows 10 Pro, B550 VISION D, AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 16-Core Processor, 64.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080, BM MiniMonitor 4k to FSI BM210 and LG UHD, Apogee Symphony Desktop, Resolve 17.1 Studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Horst Girtew, Robert Niessner, Yngwiee and 74 guests