Studio 17.1.1 M1 — GPU Failed to perform image processing

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

birdoperator

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2020 5:50 pm
  • Real Name: James Carson

Studio 17.1.1 M1 — GPU Failed to perform image processing

PostThu Apr 22, 2021 8:01 pm

I'm using Resolve Studio 17.1.1 Build 9 on an M1 MacBook Air. Everything's going really well, but on 4k-6k clips with multiple power windows, tracking, noise reduction, I routinely get "The GPU failed to perform image processing because of an error." It also sometimes happens on less complicated shots.

After the warning results vary from breaking the viewer entirely, to breaking playback, to only breaking that shot. Sometimes restarting works, sometimes the errors seem to be intrinsic to the particular clip and appear consistently. Sometimes proxy mode helps, sometimes not. I'm aware that the computer I'm using is fundamentally underpowered for the work I'm doing—that said I have the time for things to be working slowly, as long as they are actually working.

I'm using Metal—I tried changing to Open CL, which failed to render images accurately (banding appeared even at full resolution) so I quickly changed back to Metal.

I've attached capture logs. Any thoughts?

EDIT: Reading through troubleshooting I see that crash logs must be generated *immediately* after a crash, I've recreated the issue and replaced the file.
Attachments
DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20210422-145523.tgz
(804.42 KiB) Downloaded 227 times
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 10161
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Studio 17.1.1 M1 — GPU Failed to perform image processin

PostThu Apr 22, 2021 10:00 pm

I'm afraid you are expecting too much from that meagre GPU.
I agree that it is a bug, since there should simply be a message like "GPU memory full".
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.2 and Fusion Studio 17, macOS 10.15.7
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM
2018 Mac mini 16 GB RAM, eGFX Breakway RX 580 MacOS 10.15.7
Offline

birdoperator

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2020 5:50 pm
  • Real Name: James Carson

Re: Studio 17.1.1 M1 — GPU Failed to perform image processin

PostWed Apr 28, 2021 5:41 am

Yup.

The biggest thing I've figured out is that in Resolve 17 (vs 15 where I am coming from) you need to wait until the GPU is done caching / processing whatever it is you've just clicked on before trying to do anything else.

With that approach I now mostly avoid the above mentioned errors, although it takes some intuitive guessing / feel for the software to know what to look for to know if there is processing going on (Ex. thumbnail not refreshed, scopes not updated, etc.). All in all this is astonishingly good for a... (what???) MacBook Air with no fan.
Offline
User avatar

Frank Glencairn

  • Posts: 1696
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:07 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Studio 17.1.1 M1 — GPU Failed to perform image processin

PostWed Apr 28, 2021 7:16 am

birdoperator wrote:Yup.

All in all this is astonishingly good for a... (what???) MacBook Air with no fan.


It actually is astonishingly good for what it is, but on the other hand, it also is a bit like bringing a knife to a gun fight. Don't expect wonders - there are limitations, and it doesn't replace a proper workstation.
Maybe in a few years it will though.
http://frankglencairn.wordpress.com/

I told you so :-)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], John Palaganas, Majestic-12 [Bot], Postfade and 116 guests