Davinci Resolve 17: Working with audio and multicam editing

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

breadman6

Davinci Resolve 17: Working with audio and multicam editing

PostThu Jun 17, 2021 11:39 pm

Hi,
I'm new to this so please excuse any obvious mistakes. I can't hear any audio when editing multicam clip. I have 3 cameras, 2 audio sources. Workflow went like this. Synced up everything in timeline, then timeline > multicam. I then made a new timeline and put that compound clip in. When I change angles I don't hear any sound. I right clicked the multicam in media browser to open it in another timeline to troubleshoot it. I have attached a picture of this, as well as what my angle switching panel looks like.

-I think it has something to do with my audio files creating a complementary video channel.

What's the correct way of going about this?
Thanks!

Screen Shot 2021-06-17 at 6.46.51 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-06-17 at 6.46.51 PM.png (65.88 KiB) Viewed 3956 times

Screen Shot 2021-06-17 at 6.36.44 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-06-17 at 6.36.44 PM.png (93.35 KiB) Viewed 3956 times

atmosfar

Re: Davinci Resolve 17: Working with audio and multicam edit

PostFri Jun 18, 2021 11:15 am

First thing you can do is hold down Alt and select all the audio clips you don't need, to delete them.

I think what is happening is that the multicam cut tool has "audio follows video" turned on (middle button), which means when you cut to Video 1 (V1), it switches to A1 for the audio, which is a track you have muted, or may not exist if the extra tracks have been deleted.

I'm not sure exactly what your setup is, but it looks like it could be an interview with a wide angle, two closeups, and mics on each participant.

For simplicity I would suggest mixing your audio into one track, which you can either do in something like Reaper, or you can combine the two audio tracks into one compound clip inside Resolve.