Page 1 of 1

copy/paste nodes also pastes stabilizer bug

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2021 10:12 am
by Mike Manus
Is anyone else seeing this bug. I have preserve input sizing checked and color selected in keyframes.

I'm using the classic stabilizer to stabilize jumpy film edits, so only the first few frames are stabilized on each shot. Sometimes, if I copy and paste a single node from one shot to another, the stabilizer info carries over as well. But not in place of current stabilizer. In addition to it, so there both active. But the new info isn't graphically shown in any way. Sometimes it works fine. It makes me scared to copy/paste nodes. I can copy a whole grade fine though.

EDIT: After learning the new copy/paste behaviour (thank you Jim Simon), here is my updated description of the bug.

When copy and pasting a shot's grade with only color selected in the keyframe dropdown, the shot's classic stabilizer info is reset. But the stabilizer icon is still on the shot, and the stabilize window still shows the old info. This persists on closing Resolve and re-opening it.

I would think with color selected in the keyframe section, it shouldn't even reset the stabilizer but leave the stabilization as is. Same as how middle clicking a thumbnail in the timeline works. This bug doesn't happen when using the old copy-paste behavior selected from user preferences.

EDIT 2: Now I've discovered that rippling node changes to selected clips is resetting the stabilization as well. At least this time, the icon and graphic representation of stabilizing keyframes is properly disappearing. And again, only color is selected in the keyframe area, and leave input sizing alone is selected in the stills gallery area, and this is the classic stabilizer. JFC, how hard is it to leave the stabilization alone except when I specifically ask to reset it? Why?

Re: copy/paste nodes also pastes stabilizer bug

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2021 10:31 am
by Mike Manus
After some more tests, I'm not quite sure what's going on. It's not exactly using the first shot's stabilizer. It's maybe erasing the paste shot's stabilizer or adjusting it in some way I can't figure out. While the graphic depiction remains the same.

This is on a windows 10 Supermicro 7048gr-tr.

Re: copy/paste nodes also pastes stabilizer bug

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2021 10:51 am
by Mike Manus
So far it looks like the bug doesn't happen if "always perform copy and paste on selected nodes" is selected in user preferences. I can't figure out what this setting is supposed to do other than not cause this bug.

Re: copy/paste nodes also pastes stabilizer bug

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2021 1:11 pm
by Jim Simon
Version 17 added the ability to Copy/Paste an entire grade across clips using the standard shortcuts on the Color page. That messed a lot of people up, so BMD added that setting which controls whether an entire clip is copied (with all nodes), or just the selected node is copied.

Re: copy/paste nodes also pastes stabilizer bug

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2021 11:29 pm
by Mike Manus
So looking at the new copy/paste behaviour, here is my updated description of the bug.

When copy and pasting a shot's grade with only color selected in the keyframe dropdown, the shot's classic stabilizer info is reset. But the stabilizer icon is still on the shot, and the stabilize window still shows the old info. This persists on closing Resolve and re-opening it.

I would think with color selected in the keyframe section, it shouldn't even reset the stabilizer but leave the stabilization as is. Same as how middle clicking a thumbnail in the timeline works. This bug doesn't happen when using the old copy-paste behavior selected from user preferences.

Re: copy/paste nodes also pastes stabilizer bug

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 5:33 am
by Mike Manus
Now I've discovered that rippling node changes to selected clips is resetting the stabilization as well. At least this time, the icon and graphic representation of stabilizing keyframes is properly disappearing. And again, only color is selected in the keyframe area, and leave input sizing alone is selected in the stills gallery area, and this is the classic stabilizer. JFC, how hard is it to leave the stabilization alone except when I specifically ask to reset it? Why?