Gray Nodes and No Preview

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Nina

Gray Nodes and No Preview

PostTue Dec 03, 2013 12:17 pm

Hi All,

I am new at this, so please be patient with me.

I shot some footage on 5D mark 3. In premiere pro CS6, after laying a sequence timeline, I exported an XML sequence.

In resolve 9, I imported the xml sequence. I opened the tab colour and started to do basic level balancing. I am able to preview the first node. BUT, here in the node window, I can't seem to select the node. I can move it, but when i double click on it, left lick, middle click, the node does not appear highlighted. I can move the node and the lines, but it refuses to highlight(no yellow outline box).

I then tried adding a serial node to the first node. It appears as greyed out with a "recycle" logo on it. There is no preview. Again, I can't seem to select it. ( i can move it but can't select)

There must be sumthing that i overlook somewhere but i cant find this simple problem in the forum.

Tutorials don't seem to address this problem. I tried comparing screens with the online tutorials and i think my settings are the same.

System:
RAM: 64gig
Intel Core i7 - 4960x CPU 3.6Ghz
Card: GEFroce GTX770 (latest driver updated)

Can anyone help?

Nina

Elliott Balsley

Re: Gray Nodes and No Preview

PostThu Dec 05, 2013 9:50 am

I think that recycle symbol is what happens when you have a node not connected to anything. I see that you have it connected though, so I don't know what the problem is. Have you tried resetting the grade (shift-Home) or starting a new project?
Elliott C. Balsley
DIT, Colorist, Cinematographer
www.llamafilm.com

Radman

PostThu Dec 05, 2013 10:40 am

Try something simple first.
Copy the node and contents.
Delete the node.
Re-apply a new node then paste contents back.
Take a see!
Radman.

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

PostThu Dec 05, 2013 12:11 pm