Slow Color Correction - Resolve Studio 17

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

AbbeBusoni

Slow Color Correction - Resolve Studio 17

PostThu Jul 29, 2021 12:49 am

Hello all,

I am relatively new to Davinci Resolve and I am currently doing my first real color correction project on it.

When I first started grading everything was going great, it was fast to respond and fast to play the clips.
After doing about 35% of the 85 clips I have, I realized I was going to need noise reduction so I bought the Studio version and added a bit of noise reduction to every clip. From that point I realized that when I tried to move the color wheel it would take a moment before it would show on the scopes. I am not sure if it is because of Studio or of the Noise Reduction.
I continued working but the more clips I did the worse it got. It is now to a point where any time I change something it takes about one second for the scopes to show any change.

I checked and if I create a new project with the same clips but no grading is done yet then it is super quick as usual.

Usually what I have for each clip is noise reduction, one or more nodes with color wheels adjustments and then a series of layered nodes to change the skin tones of each person on screen (matte, windowed, then tracked and color adjusted). Mostly standard stuff.

I guess my issue could be due to my system but my computer is brand new and pretty strong. My activity monitor also says that my processor is 5% used and memory used is 25/64gb. My database is saved on my external SSD. Here are the details:

27-inch Imac
Processor: 3.3 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i5
Memory: 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
Graphics: AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
External SSD: Samsung T7 - 2T - 1,050mb/s read 1,000mb/s write - USB 3.2 Gen2