Page 1 of 1

Help on Scripting (AppendToTimeline)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2021 6:01 pm
by brunocbreis
I'm looking for a way to streamline editing a bunch of clips into a timeline that I'll use to make split screens later on. Basically, it's a music video, but the song is made by cutting the original musicians' performances in Logic Pro, so there won't be a continuous image + sound sync.

What I wish for is a way to, programmatically, edit a specific part of a video into a specific spot on the timeline (into a particular track, too).

With...
Code: Select all
AppendToTimeline([{clipInfo}, ...])
...I believe I can only specify startFrame and endFrame. Is there a way to also specify recordStart and recordEnd (or something?), and possibly also the video track destination? I tried to reimport the EDL I get from exporting a timeline to csv, but couldn't find a way to do it. That would be just fine, too.

Re: Help on Scripting (AppendToTimeline)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2021 9:32 pm
by Igor Riđanović
You can't specify the video track for sure. As far as the three point editing, I don't think you can do that, but then on one of my machines I have a script whose name would suggest it's possible, but I haven't touched it in over two years. I'll take a look at it.

You can conform an EDL using ImportTimelineFromFile().

Re: Help on Scripting (AppendToTimeline)

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2021 3:33 pm
by Jason Conrad
You sure it wouldn’t just be easier to edit it? Append is shift-F12. You’ve got a CSV of cues or something from Logic?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: Help on Scripting (AppendToTimeline)

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2021 12:25 am
by Igor Riđanović
I just looked that up, no you can't specify the record in. it always has to be the end of the timeline.