VST Delay Compensation

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

JohnDL

VST Delay Compensation

PostTue Aug 03, 2021 4:23 am

I am looking for delay compensation control, to turn it on. Every modern DAW and nonlinear editor that I know of now has full delay compensation in order to keep audio samples accurately aligned and to keep audio and video aligned.

I put some VST's on some clips as specific processing was required for whatever reasons.

I put a few VST effects on Tracks as well for the general processing at the track level.

I also put a few VST effects on some submixes as I needed those on those particular submixes.

I have a mastering hard limiter added on the master bus.

As I view and listen, the audio is more and more out of sync with the video, as in WAY behind the video. I'm floored and surprised at the same time. I cannot yet say for sure the all of the audio is in sync with the rest of the audio at this time, but it sure isn't in sync with the video. I invested in the Studio version as it appeared that Blackmagic were coming up with a comprehensive and alternative solution to other industry players.

I need the VST's I have invested in and use. It is an extensive and purposeful collection.

Have I missed a setup configuration or other configuration to make this work? Or is it that I am simply stuck again with round trips to a dedicated DAW software? I've done that before with over 1500 tracks in a separate DAW to process and mix down to required output tracks, but I don't like the procedure especially if changes are made to video cuts.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Windows 10 Pro · Gigabyte x570 Gaming X · Ryzen 9 3900x · RX 5500 XT 8GB and waiting on RTX3090 · 64GB memory · Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 · Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K · Datacolor SpyderX Pro · DaVinci Resolve Studio 17.2.2

Reynaud Venter

Re: VST Delay Compensation

PostTue Aug 03, 2021 4:59 pm