Project Import Question

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

jshakour

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 11:51 pm
  • Real Name: James Shakour

Project Import Question

PostMon Aug 02, 2021 8:39 pm

Can I start a project on my Windows machine and import it to my Mac and finish it?
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 2610
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: Project Import Question

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 1:12 am

jshakour wrote:Can I start a project on my Windows machine and import it to my Mac and finish it?

Yes. Save your project and then export the project. Assuming you can put all your media and the exported project to a drive that works in both Mac and Windows (like ExtFat), take the exported project file and clips on the Mac. You have to do the clip only once on share it somehow.

On the Mac, double click on the project file. It will import and load the project. You will likely have to relink the clips or at least those that are not showing up (in RED and Exclamation Point) on the Media bin and the timeline. Once you've done that, you can finish it on the Mac.

Note: You can only import projects from version of Resolve that are lower (up to some point) or the same version of Resolve you have on the Mac. It cannot be the other way around.
Blackmagic Design URSA Mini Pro 4.6K G2, Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera 6K
PC Workstation Core I7 64Gb, 2 x AMD R9 390X 8Gb, Blackmagic Design DeckLink 4K Mini Monitor, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Blackmagic Design DaVinci Resolve 17.1.4
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 11283
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Project Import Question

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 5:16 am

moved to Resolve forum
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 11673
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am
  • Location: Germany and Indonesia

Re: Project Import Question

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 8:13 am

Seconded.
But don't try to put the database on an exFAT drive, it doesn't work.
Don't approach Resolve with your expectations from other NLEs! They are all different.
Resolve Studio 17.4.2 , macOS 12.0.1
MacBook M1 Pro, 32 GB RAM
Speed Editor

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], chbkoiklp457, Google [Bot], id4alexey, jfykeaucq871, Nick2021, reabov and 85 guests