Install questions

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Newbyforfun

Install questions

PostWed Aug 04, 2021 3:40 pm

I have used a couple very basic video editing software to create content and would like to improve on my end results with a more competent tool. I am completely new to DaVinci Resolve. I found one on line tutorial showing the installation process for Resolve 17. It seemed very straight forward but when I started to install Resolve the installation procedure varied from the on line tutorial. The intall process was asking for special network permissions and the software wanted to setup a tcpip address and connection to the router.
Could anyone tell me why Resolve needs its own IP address? What type of activity does it do with this address? Why does it need special network permissions? When I cancelled the request for a IP address then the software would not start. When I attempted to run it the executable kept telling me the software was not installed? I have googled for information on this but most info is all about the running of Resolve. I see many of the posting on this forum are for much more advanced topics than I am looking to work with. Any info on my questions or directions to find a resource so I don't need to bother anyone would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Jim Simon

Re: Install questions

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 2:55 pm

Sounds like you're trying to install the Project Sever rather than Resolve.

You've downloaded Resolve from the BMD web site?

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

Charles Bennett

PostThu Aug 05, 2021 4:40 pm

Either one of these is what you should be downloading and installing.
Versions.jpg
Versions.jpg (335.46 KiB) Viewed 951 times

Also to consider, does your computer meet the minimum required specs?
17.2.2 System Requirements.jpg