Advice On How To Accomplish Animating Scrolling Guitar tab?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Sean Weaver

Advice On How To Accomplish Animating Scrolling Guitar tab?

PostSat Sep 04, 2021 6:06 am

I'll keep this short. For the past 4 or 5 months I have been self-training through the BMD Resolve Training courses, so I'm not a video pro but am doing the work and baby stepping with Resolve. I'll try to successfully attach a still photograph to this message.

What I want to have is a rectangular window for guitar notation/TAB as the music/performance plays. But what I really want is for the music to scroll (basically in time with the tempo) to the performance. Obviously I want this to be contained within the area of the white box.

I've been through the Beginning Guide, then did the whole Color Grading book/course, and am now working on the Fusion training. I mocked this up in Fusion so far.

Thanks for any help you can suggest. If I can't get it together myself I suppose I can just keyframe an opacity dissolve at the end of each 4-bars but ideally I'd like something a little edgier/cooler than stationary notation on the screen.

Sean
Attachments
more matched not perfect_1.7.3.jpg
more matched not perfect_1.7.3.jpg (805.52 KiB) Viewed 5531 times
DR 18 Studio
macOS Monterey 12.7.2
MBP 16-Inch, 2019
2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel i9
32GB 2667 MHz DDR4
AMD Radeon Pro 5600M 8GB

Jim Simon

Re: Advice On How To Accomplish Animating Scrolling Guitar T

PostSat Sep 04, 2021 3:48 pm

Bring in the Tab as a graphic, set up keyframes in a Transform node, use a Mask to limit the view.
My Biases:

You NEED training.
You NEED a desktop.
You NEED a calibrated (non-computer) display.

Sean Weaver

PostSat Sep 04, 2021 7:30 pm

Jim Simon wrote:Bring in the Tab as a graphic, set up keyframes in a Transform node, use a Mask to limit the view.

Thanks. This helped, a ton.