Can Resolve replace my use of Premier Pro?(Partially solved)

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Lars Andersson

Can Resolve replace my use of Premier Pro?(Partially solved)

PostFri Oct 15, 2021 12:32 pm

Can Resolve replace my use of Premier Pro?

I'm digitizing mostly 8mm and 16mm films. I have a Adobe subscription and it costs me a lot every year. I only use Premier Pro for one thing and I wonder if Resolve can do the same.

The only time I use Premier Pro is when I have a 8/16mm film with sound. I have to digitize them separately becuase I can't cut them at the same time. If I cut a few frames in the film no one will notice it but if I cut the sound you will hear it directly. So the last step is to synchronize the sound with the film.

If you listen to the sound clip you will hear a short noise when the camera starts and when they turn it off. This is the marker I will use when I synchronize the sound with the film. I search for the corresponding places in the film and cut both the film-clip and the sound file at the same place. Now is the problem that the film clip and the sound file will differ in size. Not much but enough to make the end result poor.

In adobe I check the amount of frames in the sound file and then mark the video clip and resize it to the same amount of frames. The only thing I found in Resolve so far is the "Speed Change" in the Inspector. But here I can only change the fps and the percentage, not the amount of frames. I read in the manual (p661) that it can be changed to key frames but don't know how to do it if possible.