audio dropouts on renders/exports

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

JimCurtis

audio dropouts on renders/exports

PostTue Dec 07, 2021 12:09 am

I have to deliver six videos tomorrow, and on four of my masters (two versions: an MP4 and ProResHQ), there's an audio dropout with in the first two seconds. One video has an audio dropout 14 seconds in.

I tried exporting .WAV only, and am getting the same dropout at the same spots.

Does this sound like a familiar issue with a familiar solution to anybody? This is my first project on Resolve, and I'm almost in a panic.

I have a workaround for the videos where the dropout was in the first second: Add three seconds of black/silence at the beginning, Render out at ProRes 4444 XQ, import into Premiere, trim off the first three seconds, and export using Adobe Media Encoder or Premiere.

I'm still working on fixing the dropout at 14 seconds. This is awful.
MacPro7,1 - 2.7 GHz 24-Core Intel Xeon W - 256G RAM - AMD Radeon Pro Vega II 32 GB • ATTO PCIe SAS SCSI RAID6 (8 drives) • OS 12.7.4 • Resolve Studio 18.6.6

Reynaud Venter

Re: audio dropouts on renders/exports

PostTue Dec 07, 2021 6:54 am

Is the source media local (i.e. internal) or on network volumes?

What are the specs of the storage volumes? Have you run tests with Blackmagic Disk Speed?

Any improvement adjusting the Render Speed on the Deliver page's File tab from its default Maximum setting to a lower value?
⟦ Mac Pro 7,1 Rack ⊕ 16-core 3.2GHz ⊕ 32GB RAM ⊕ Radeon 580X • Resolve Studio 19.0 • macOS 14.4.1 ⟧
⟦ Fairlight Studio Console ⊕ Fairlight Audio Accelerator ⊕ Merging Hapi • Anubis • Ravenna CoreAudio VAD ⟧

JimCurtis

PostTue Dec 07, 2021 6:26 pm