Resolve for long-form Documentary

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Darmouthz

Resolve for long-form Documentary

PostThu Dec 16, 2021 9:33 pm

I’ve been using Resolve Studio for online & grading for many years. Recently, I’ve started using it to edit froms tart to finish on smaller projects like corporate work and music videos, web, etc.

I’m now about to start the editing of a feature Doc with about 200-300 hours of footage. Normally, Media Composer would be my go too. The robust management of media and offline workflow, and the 20 years of working with it make it the go too choice for me.

But because my editing will involve dozens of interviews with subtitles (which seems impossible to handle easily in MC), lots of flat-looking footage, and just the overall interface of resolve, I find myself thinking of switching for this project. But I’m a bit scared to make the jump on such a big project.

I would love to hear from people who used to Resolve for bigger projects and hear a bit about your workflow. Did you transcode everything in Pro Res before ingesting it in resolve? (The proxy media seems very flimsy). How did you find working with various timeline, version, the logging system, in resolve over many months?
And more specifically, how did you handle sending your audio to ProTools for the sound editing and mix? Last time I’ve checked, this last part was very problematic to me…

Thanks for your feedback.

Marc Wielage

Re: Resolve for long-form Documentary

PostFri Dec 17, 2021 1:11 am

I think transcoding everything to ProRes (say, 422) prior to working on a big documentary is a good idea, particularly if you're dealing with a lot of GoPro / Zoom / DJI H.264 material. Organizing all the material and breaking the scenes down is challenging. If you keep the timelines relatively light -- like, not dumping 17 hours of material in a single timeline -- it can work effectively.