Novice User: Help with project settings for Super 8 scans

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

KrisWood

Novice User: Help with project settings for Super 8 scans

PostThu Jan 13, 2022 6:43 am

Hello all,
I’ve recently acquired a Kodak Reelz super 8 film scanner to transfer my grandparents old super 8 home movies (1969-1977) to digital format. I’ve never done video editing before and realize I jumped straight into the deep end with Resolve 17 Studio. I’ve played around with Premiere Elements (not Pro) a bit, but that’s the extent of my knowledge. So, please bear with me. I’m on information overload.

I would like some help setting up the project correctly to get the best quality output from what I have to work with. Some info on the specs of the Kodak Reelz scanner has been difficult to find (like color space??)

It scans each frame of the film (which appears to be color reversal) using a 8.08 MP 1/3” CMOS image sensor and exports the file at a resolution of 1728 x 1296 (specs call it 1296p), a frame rate of 20 fps, square pixel ratio. The only export option is MP4 format which according to resolve is using the H.264 L4.1 codon if that matters.

I’m guessing the raw footage is at 18 fps, but I have no idea what camera was used to record it. When I play it at 20 fps, it seems quite speeded up and I wouldn’t have expected that much visible difference from 18 to 20 fps but I may be just responding to the choppy motion as increased speed.

The raw scan of a 50 foot reel that was fully used got me 3148 frames in 2:37:08 minutes at 20 fps.

I’m struggling to find the best project set up and output format.

I can set the timeline resolution to match the input MP4, but can’t see where I can set the frame rate to 20 fps. I’ve tried 18 and 24 fps.

At 18 fps it appears Resolve is dropping frames and at 24 fps, the software appears to be adding duplicate frames periodically.