How to work with multifile clips?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Compositor

How to work with multifile clips?

PostWed May 11, 2022 7:48 pm

I am quite new to resolve and I am totally stuck with organizing my footage in Resolve prior to even starting the edit process, any suggestions highly appreciated.

My first step after the media import process is to automatically copy all the EXIF data into clip metadata so I can use their properties in my smartbins, this works really well. But as I am editing documentaries the takes can be quite long and contain multiple angles. The cameras that were used to produce the footage are splitting takes into multiple files due to file system limitations and so I was expecting that I cold simply join the files to a compound clip (preferrably even automatically as it is very easy for editing software to detect split files).

But I realize that according to the documentation I have to create a timeline, insert the split clips/files and then make a compound clip that I can then reuse in the media pool. Theoretically this is ok, but practically this feature is useless for me as the new compound clips have lost all their attributes. There is no metadata so my smartbins don't work and even worse all physical properties (resolution) of the footage are not visible any more as the new compound clips inherit the project settings by default. I tried to copy the metadata back to the compound clips, but it seems that this is not supported by Resolve.

What is the proper way to work with multifile clips in Resolve? This should be a no brainer that is fully automated, but I can't see what I am doing wrong.

Jim Simon

Re: How to work with multifile clips?

PostThu May 12, 2022 3:31 pm

Compositor wrote:it is very easy for editing software to detect split files
That depends on the recording format. QuickTime, for example, can't do this, whereas MP4 can.