Placing text in a moving shot

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Placing text in a moving shot

PostFri Jun 17, 2022 3:01 am

I want to place the 3d text, "storm Mountain" against the mountain on the right of the video. I also want it to pin it so that when the frames pass the mountain the text stays pinned to the mountain. I can't get the text to show up on the mountain in the red box generated by the planar tracker.

Am I on the right path? Is there a good tutorial that shows how to do this specifically? Thanks.
Attachments
3Dtext merge.jpg
3Dtext merge.jpg (403.16 KiB) Viewed 580 times
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 2654
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostFri Jun 17, 2022 3:43 am

You have your PlanarTracker selected but I don't see any keyframes, have you tracked your footage yet? Also. what does your text look like if you put your Renderer3D in the viewer?
Attachments
2022-06-16 (10).jpg
2022-06-16 (10).jpg (266.76 KiB) Viewed 573 times
2022-06-16 (11).jpg
2022-06-16 (11).jpg (267.73 KiB) Viewed 573 times
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.01 | Fusion Studio 18.01

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostFri Jun 17, 2022 8:18 pm

I'm attaching a the view of the render3d in the viewer. The reason I'm using 3d is that I want it to look like the text is running up the hill. I have run the clip with the red polygon, that I thought I had pinned, but it stays in the position of the frame as the video continues irrespective of what's in the viewer. Where should the keyframes show up?
Attachments
3Dtext merge 2.jpg
3Dtext merge 2.jpg (386.07 KiB) Viewed 516 times
Offline

panos_mts

  • Posts: 708
  • Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:18 pm
  • Real Name: Panagiotis Vellios

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostFri Jun 17, 2022 10:09 pm

If you look closely at your screenshots, MediaIn1 is not connected to the planar tracker, it is connected directly to MediaOut1.

If you are not planing to add 3D extrusion, you don't need a 3D text with perspective, just use a 2D text (corner pin will take care of the perspective)
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostSat Jun 18, 2022 2:44 pm

Thanks. Didn't notice the MediaIn to MediaOut link. I took your recommendation of going to 2d text. How can I pin this text to the mountain's image?
Attachments
3Dtext merge 3.jpg
3Dtext merge 3.jpg (387.04 KiB) Viewed 439 times
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 2654
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostSat Jun 18, 2022 4:26 pm

Y0u have to track your footage. Set the PlanarTracker Operation Mode to Track. Then put your Playhead at the time you want to start tracking the mountain, and hit the Set button. Then hit either the Track ahead one frame or Track To The End button. If the area you are tracking goes out of frame, you can box select the points of your tracking area and move it into frame. You can then continue the track and it should work fine. You then switch the Operation Mode to Corner Pin and set the 4 corners to where you want your text to appear. Then connect your Text+ node into the Tracker and it should be good to go, you might need to tweak the size of the text and some other things, but it should work.
Attachments
2022-06-18.jpg
2022-06-18.jpg (289.72 KiB) Viewed 423 times
2022-06-18 (1).jpg
2022-06-18 (1).jpg (294.62 KiB) Viewed 423 times
2022-06-18 (2).jpg
2022-06-18 (2).jpg (287.52 KiB) Viewed 423 times
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.01 | Fusion Studio 18.01

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostMon Jun 20, 2022 6:30 pm

I appreciate your patience. I went back to a 2d text, not wanting to complicate things. I'm having trouble with the tracking. But first is there a way to focus on the portion of the clip that I want to animate? It is such a small portion of the total clip it's hard to see where the markers are in that short section.

The first frame grab shows where I want to start the animation in Track mode. I click "Set", then jog forward to where I want it to stop, but can't figure out how to set that point. The second frame grab is in Corner Pin mode, where I adjust where the corners pinned. The first problem is because the red trapezoid goes away in Corner Pin Mode, so I don't know if I am in the track frame that I set up. I think this causes it to contort as I drive passed the sign, and additionally, it doesn't stop at the end. The text follows me up the mountain. Probably because I didn't set an end point.

So,
-Focus on the animation area?
-How do I set both beginning and end of the track?
-How do I make sure I'm in the same area as the red trapezoid.
Attachments
2Dtext merge 1.jpg
Track mode
2Dtext merge 1.jpg (336.04 KiB) Viewed 343 times
2Dtext merge 2.jpg
Corner pin mode
2Dtext merge 2.jpg (343 KiB) Viewed 343 times
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 2654
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostMon Jun 20, 2022 8:02 pm

A few questions. How are you creating this Fusion comp? Did you add an Adjustment clip on the Edit Page? Did you place your Playhead over your footage and switch to the Fusion page? Did you right-click a clip and choose Open In Fusion Page?

Your timeline scale is in increments of 1000, so you are zoomed way out on the timeline so your entire comp is only a small section on the left side. You can left-click and drag the right end of the grey slider at the bottom of the Timeline to the left and this will zoom in on the part your are working on.
Attachments
2022-06-20 (8).jpg
2022-06-20 (8).jpg (352.26 KiB) Viewed 330 times
2022-06-20 (9).jpg
2022-06-20 (9).jpg (353.03 KiB) Viewed 330 times
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.01 | Fusion Studio 18.01

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostTue Jun 21, 2022 1:41 am

Thanks for the tip to focus on the part I'm working on.

How are you creating this Fusion comp?
From The Edit Page I selected the Fusion icon at the bottom.
Did you add an Adjustment clip on the Edit Page?
If by an "Adjustment clip" you mean move the In and Out to the area I wanted to work on in the Edit screen, Yes.
Did you place your Playhead over your footage and switch to the Fusion page?
Yes.
Did you right-click a clip and choose Open In Fusion Page?
No.
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostTue Jun 21, 2022 2:09 am

One more thing. Here is the clip, but it doesn't stay pinned in all the corners as I drive by.
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostSat Jun 25, 2022 12:19 am

OK. After checking out a number of videos on line, I was able to get this to track pretty well.

How can I get it to not show in the whole clip and only the part I tracked?
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 2654
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostSat Jun 25, 2022 12:33 am

You can keyframe the Opacity on the Shading tab of the Text+ node from 1 to 0, it will fade out.
Attachments
2022-06-24 (9).jpg
2022-06-24 (9).jpg (313.72 KiB) Viewed 209 times
2022-06-24 (10).jpg
2022-06-24 (10).jpg (316.13 KiB) Viewed 209 times
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.01 | Fusion Studio 18.01

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostSat Jun 25, 2022 1:57 am

Excellent. Got it to pop up, but Resolve keeps crashing. I'm doing this on a laptop, so it may be a resource problem.
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 2654
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostSat Jun 25, 2022 2:03 am

You can maybe try right-clicking under the Timestrip and unchecking Motion Blur and High Quality and also checking Proxy and see if that helps.
Attachments
2022-06-24 (11).png
2022-06-24 (11).png (349.9 KiB) Viewed 189 times
Win 10 Home | Intel i7 - 10700f 64 GB 1 TB GB SSD 2 TB SSD
RTX-3060 12 GB | Resolve Studio 18.01 | Fusion Studio 18.01

Win 10 Home | Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB | Resolve 17.4.6
Offline

derohanes

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2021 3:20 am
  • Real Name: Ed Derohanes

Re: Placing text in a moving shot

PostSun Jun 26, 2022 4:34 pm

Didn't work. I can render the same footage in the original project with no problem. This one dies between 70% and 80%. It must be my memory requirements or processor. Thanks anyway. At least I got it to work in Resolve.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Peter Chamberlain and 43 guests