Preview Edit --- Play Around Current Selection

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

jonlap

Preview Edit --- Play Around Current Selection

PostFri Jul 29, 2022 6:40 pm

Hi Newbie here - struggling to put the pieces together!

I'm trying to do some audio editing on the Fairlight page. I've marked the in and out points on the piece of audio I want to cut out.

However, when I go to Play Around/To - the indicator for Play Around Current Selection is not lit.

I've looked at the same marked section on the Edit Page. There, the indicator for Play Around Current Selection is lit and tells me to use the forward slash / key. However, when I press the key I do not get a preview of the cut.

Is there another way to preview an edit besides using the Play Around Current Selection? Or am I just not marking the section I want to cut out correctly?

thanks!

John Paines

Re: Preview Edit --- Play Around Current Selection

PostFri Jul 29, 2022 6:47 pm

On the Edit page, if you marked the selection with in/out points, then forward slash is not the correct command. You'd want alt-slash. Note that you can't "play around" an in/out selection -- since you've already defined it -- all you can do is play it. You'd "play around" a transition, a clip, etc.

There are other / combinations for other playback ranges. See the manual. I assume you'd want loop playback on as well.

jonlap

PostMon Aug 01, 2022 4:37 pm

Hi John - thanks for getting back.

I guess I didn't really communicate what I wanted to do.

I just want to define a small section to lift/cut out and then preview the edit without that section. In other programs it's called 'edit preview'. Maybe it's called that here as well but I haven't found it in the manual.

Any thoughts?

thanks!

Peter Cave

PostMon Aug 01, 2022 10:34 pm

You need to perform the edit to review the result.
Resolve 18.6.6 Mac OSX 14.4.1 Sonoma
Mac Studio Max 32GB

Steve Alexander